We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Loved this hotel!”
Review of The Villa Merida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Villa Merida
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Merida
London UK
1 review
“Wow! Loved this hotel!”
Reviewed 10 March 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed there for a couple of nights when we went to chgeck out the carnival in Merida.
Totally awesome hotel, great, great pool and gardens - you'll wonder why you would ever leave.
They wait on you hand and foot! Luis and his crew are the best.
I have friends that are going to stay there in a couple of months when they go to see Elton John at the pyramids in Chichen Itza (no accounting for taste I guess!)

We wish we could have stayed forever!!!!

Love this.

Lizzy

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyBLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    16
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
54
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We were recomended to The Villa by the concierge at the hotel we stayed at in Tulum. My wife, two teenage daughters and I wanted to spend a couple of days exploring the Mayan ruins of the interior and to stay in one of the haciendas we had heard so much about.

What a great find, The Villa is this glorious boutique hotel in the middle of Merida. Gorgeous property, the gardens and courtyard are extraordinary. The service and staff were delightful. They set up a guide for us on our second day who took us to Uxmal and some haciendas. Rudolfo, lovely young man.

Service and staff were examplary, property was superb, ambiance was welcoming. And, the place is very secure (which when travelling with a young family is a concern.)

The manager, Luis, could not have been more gracious and accomodating.

First class!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsayleslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our recent exploration of the Yucatan region of Mexico. We thought this 7 room hotel was wonderful, a hidden gem behind its dark red ochre facade. Luis and his team run it in a most graceful manner - even preparing a delicious dinner for us in the tropical garden on our last night. The pool is a dream - surrounded by exquisite gardens, and the rooms are deep and cool and situated around an inner courtyard, with huge comfortable beds. It might not be to everyone's taste, as it is not remotely modern, but if you are looking for a characterful, authentic and gracious experience it could be just the place to base yourself in Merida.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sookay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

We reviewed this hotel before booking it and now that we have had the experience of 3 nights there, we nearly wonder if everyone else was at the same hotel. Or perhaps, we have a different view of what a 5 star experience is suppose to be like. Our biggest complaint would be the price for value. It is way out of proportion. $337 per night for Merida !?! We stayed at two other hotels during our 7 nights in the Yucatan and Merida, so we had fair comparisons. Our other hotels were nearly half the price, more of a 5 star experience and we would return to them in a minute, but not this one.

To be fair, the photos of gardens and courtyard settings are correct, but you are not hearing the noise of the school next door (weekdays) or high traffic street noise in front (everyday). Further, one should keep in mind it is not located near anything walkable - like the Centro with its museums and restaurants.

Our room's A/C failed the first night and was stuck ON all night and not adjustable which meant we were extremely cold and uncomfortable. We had to move into the adjacent room for the 2nd night. The bathrooms are as shown, but they are very tight and not for two people at the same time. Other major problem for us was there are NO windows in the courtyard rooms (we were in 3 of them). Only an upper wooden portion of the entry door which opens (screened) letting in some natural light, but eliminating any privacy from the courtyard/staff or other guests passing by, much less any circulation of air. For our 3rd night the water heaters for all rooms were broken (we were told) except a room which was like a basement room (4 steps down into it). We were moved into it, but it felt like being in a dungeon with a king bed.

Bed linens are nice and clean, but overall the room lamps and lighting is at best very minimal making them seem dark and dingy. Breakfasts were included in the costly room rate, but did not compare to those we had elsewhere. There was no freshly baked bread nor were the jams the own hotels as claimed, but all pre-packaged from Heinz, like in a 2 star hotel.

Basically, this is a 3 star hotel attempting to charge 5 star rates and we were unfortunately misled by the clever website description The staff were quite cordial, helpful and friendly and it is not their fault the owner of this hotel needs to make some investment in overdue improvements and maintenance.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexofsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Had to go to Cancun on business, got to take a long weekend side trip. Decided on Merida (we've been to the Yucatan before, never been to Merida.) Found The Villa Merida on the internet, looked great, made a reservation, and we were certainly not dissapointed.

Beautiful hotel, fantastic staff, great location.

Everyone went out of their way to make us feel at home. The service was extraordinarily attentive, while not being intrusive.

Luis, the manager, was so helpful. Recomended a couple of fantastic restaurants, sent us to all the right places at the right times. Friendly and knowledgeable.

Would recomend to one and all. We'll be going back.

Wish we could make it for carnival!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredSchlingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We were recomended to the Villa by some friends who had stayed there. We stayed over New Years, what a fantastic place.

Incredible property, fantastic staff. We had a wonderful stay.

It's an amazing property, like an old hacienda - but in the historical center of Merida.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobsantorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Thanks heavens we found this little gem

We arrived in Merida on Boxing Day (26th December) and checked into a "boutique Hotel" (NOT The Villa Merida) we had found on the internet, just off the main square. The photos looked great, the photos lied. It was like staying in a train station, so noisy, unbearable! We changed rooms twice that night, and decided to check out first thing in the morning! Ghastly!

So first thing next morning we went to an internet cafe, found several "boutique" hotels and went to find a place to stay. We visited four hotels, they were all the same as our first hotel, great photos - but all very misleading!

Our fifth visit took us to The Villa Merida, where we were greeted by Luis - the manager. As soon as we walked through the door we fell in love with the place. The interior courtyard gardens are stunning, and then we were shown through to the gardens and pool at the rear of the property. Sensational!

Luis was very accomodating and we were able to get the "last room at the inn."

The hotel is magnificent and the staff is so accomodating. It's as though you have a personal concierge and chef service. You choose when you want to eat, where you want to eat (in the gardens, in the dining room, in your room) nothing is too much trouble.

Luis made all the arrangements for everything we wanted to do, we had a local guide (Rudolfo) for two days of private guided tours of the ruins ans cenotes that were incredible.

We cannot recomend this hotel enough, if you're going to Merida - this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janesmithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
1.3 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Merida
0.6 mi away
Hotel Plaza Mirador
Hotel Plaza Mirador
#69 of 103 in Merida
172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Merida

Property: The Villa Merida
Address: Calle 59 #615A x 80 y 82 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored and exquisitely appointed eight-room, 19th-century nobleman's mansion is located five blocks from Barrio de Santiago, one of the most historic sites in the colonial sector of Merida. The principal objective of the owners and personnel of The Villa Merida Hotel is an amiable and personalized service, which affords a feeling of being in your own home in a relaxed atmosphere. Nestled in the heart of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula, the urban oasis that is The Villa Merida Hotel offers the discerning traveler a luxury, unique and memorable experience in the heart of Merida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Villa Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing