We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like we were staying with friends!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de dos Tortugas Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 82 Merida B&B and Inns
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Felt like we were staying with friends!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Violet and Stuart are the perfect hosts. Their home is one of the loveliest bed and breakasts in which Iwe have ever stayed. They were so helpful in guiding us in what was happening in the city, where to eat, directions, etc.
The home itself is beautiful- high ceilings, lovely breezy outdoor areas, two pools and great outdoor seating areas andt hammock for relaxing in the afternoon. Our room was very large and comfortable and extremely clean with a private balcony, A/C and television. Breakfasts were so bountiful, we never had to eat lunch- fruit, cereal, yogurt and hot breakfasts were provided every morning. One morning we had the best huevos rancheros ever complete with fresh salsa.
The city square and historic district is an easy walk and there is oarking available nearby.
We would stay again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadedosTortugas, Owner at Casa de dos Tortugas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you Kim and Vaughn for choosing to stay with us and for your very kind review. We did feel like we were with friends in your company and really enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Best Regards. S & V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This beautiful Casa and BnB proved to be an absolute gem of a find in the narrow cobblestone streets of Merida. As soon as you enter, majestic beautifully furnished rooms open up and flow through to the tropical courtyard and gardens, where your delicious breakfasts will be served. It is centrally located to everything and an easy walk to the historic square. Although the hosts, Vi and Stuart stem from Australia, they are passionate about this city, Yucatan and the friendly Mayan people and will provide you with helpful information to explore and discover everything it has to offer.
The rooms at the Casa are wonderfully clean and spacious and located upstairs at the rear of the casa. It is extremely safe. I stayed in the height of the summer temperatures and it was wonderful to not need the aircon but leave the balcony doors open with beautiful breezes caressing me into peaceful slumber.
As a host of a BnB in Brisbane Australia, I am a harsh critic, but Casa de dos Tortugas ticks all the boxes and attention has been paid to every detail.

Room Tip: Both guests rooms are spacious, quiet and comfortable....one has king bed and other twin double beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creamgables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadedosTortugas, Owner at Casa de dos Tortugas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you Anne for reviewing your time with us so favourably. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us - never a dull moment - hope to see you again sometime in the future. Stuart and Violet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This B&B is absolutely gorgeous! We had some difficulty finding it, but once we arrived it was a very pleasant stay. Violet and Stuart are great hosts. They gave us tips on things to do and sites to see. We would definitely book here again for any future Merida vacations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CrystalB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadedosTortugas, Owner at Casa de dos Tortugas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you Crystal and Phillip for your kind review following your stay with us. It would be our pleasure to host you again, should you revisit Merida. Regards, Stuart and Violet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Merida is a beautiful colonial city with much to see and do, but the accommodations at Casa de dos Tortugas made our stay that much more perfect. After a day of exploring, we relaxed into our beautiful upstairs apartment or sat by the pool with a cocktail. My favorite time of day was early morning watching the sun rise from our balcony. Evenings were delightful with breezes naturally cooling our room. Violet and Stuart were delightful and charming hosts with all kinds of ideas and suggestions for making our stay in Merida memorable. BTW . . . breakfast was sumptuous and delicious.

Thank you both so much for your kind and gracious hospitality. We will return to Merida and definitely reserve with Casa de dos Tortugas!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobLucy-Sayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadedosTortugas, Owner at Casa de dos Tortugas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Bob and Lucy, it was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you very much for your kind words. We greatly look forward to meeting you again some time in the future. Stuart and Violet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Casa de dos Tortugas during our two week visit to the lively city of Mérida. We had an unforgettable time during our adventure, and the owners of this B&B, Violet and Stuart, completed our perfect getaway. The casa is beautiful and very spacious. The two guest rooms are located on the second level, and separate from the main house. We stayed in the Sarah Suite which is large, comfortable, and very clean, as is the connected bathroom. The balcony opens up to a manicured, lush backyard and swimming pool below. In the mornings, we woke to chirping birds and church bells heard from the nearby city square.

A beautiful garden fills the courtyard of the house, where we enjoyed daily breakfasts of fruit, yogurt, breads, juices, coffee and even huevos rancheros. All very delicious. The entire home is beautifully decorated, and shows off many aspects from its original, colonial construction.

The casa is in a perfect location, and is only a brief walk to the middle of the historic city square. Violet and Stuart were great resources during our stay and provided us with many helpful tips and suggestions. They really made us feel at home.

Mérida is a beautiful city with a pulse and is close to many of the incredible sites the Yucatan has to offer. We could not recommend Casa de dos Tortugas highly enough and will definitely be return guests.

Thanks again for our wonderful stay, Vi and Stu!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikemtglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadedosTortugas, Owner at Casa de dos Tortugas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much Mike and Ria for your very kind words. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Mexico. We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in Merida. Stuart and Violet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

It was my first time in Merida and I wanted to stay in a local home to get the feel for the city. This home was completely beautiful. Spectacular in every room.

The hosts were friendly and eager to please. Providing me with maps, directions, and advice on what is the main attractions to see for each day.

I loved the house & my stay. ***** 5 stars in my book!

-Cheryl Yvonne Wright

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherylwrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadedosTortugas, Owner at Casa de dos Tortugas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you Cheryl for your kind Review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and Stuart and I hope that you are enjoying the rest of your holiday. Please visit us again if you are in Merida. Stuart and Violet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicxulub Municipality, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a great place to stay. We have been there twice now, in September 2013 when it was pretty recently opened and just a few weeks ago. We liked it before and we liked it more this time. There has been some work done on the pool area which makes it a cool place to hang out. The main pool has been expanded and the addition of the shallow pool which is supposed to be for kids is great to just laze in away from the heat even for adults. The rooms are light, private and very well appointed. I like the one overlooking the pool area myself. The house is a Spanish Colonial style with high ceilings and beautiful ambiance. One of the best things about Casa de las Tortugas is its location, which is about ten or fifteen interesting minutes walking to the heart of Merida where all manner of cafes, craft stalls and restaurants abound, depending on your taste and the time of day. Merida is a jewel of a city and if you are going to stay a short while, it is essential you are within walking distance of everything. Thanks to Vi and Stuart for making our visits special. We hope to catch up again one day and splash about by the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the pool. It is not over the main house and has the benefit of balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_Sombreros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#38 of 103 in Merida
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#28 of 103 in Merida
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Boutique bytheMuseo
Boutique bytheMuseo
#24 of 103 in Merida
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
0.8 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 82 in Merida
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de dos Tortugas Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de dos Tortugas Bed and Breakfast

Property: Casa de dos Tortugas Bed and Breakfast
Address: Calle 70 Number 510 x 65 y 67, Merida 75000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Dos Tortugas is a Bed and Breakfast property and not a vacation rental. The owners will share with you a beautiful Colonial home built in 1840 with the main house still with the original hand made and hand painted amazing pasta tiled floors, very high ceilings and beautiful antique furniture. It is ideally located within a short walk from the Plaza Grande, Santiago Square and the bus station. This means you have access to all the restaurants, theatres, museums and shopping within a 10 minute walk. There is always something exciting to walk to such as free folkloric concerts in the parks, dancing in the streets on the weekends and big band music and dancing on Sundays in the Plaza Grande.We have two totally separate and self-contained bedroom suites to offer our guests. Both are very spacious and have wardrobes, air conditioning, ceiling fans, nice linens and towels and large bathrooms. The Violeta suite has two double beds and the Sarah suite has a king bed. The Sarah suite also has internet TV, a large balcony with a hammock and outdoor seating and a small juliet balcony overlooking the pool area and garden. Both rooms are light and have large windows, high ceilings and good air ventilation. Both suites are on the first floor so there is a wide stairway to climb. There is free WiFi available in both bedrooms. There is a refrigerator on the suite level for use of both suites. The room rate for the Sarah suite is US$95 per night and the Violeta Suite is US$85 per night based on an occupancy of 1 or 2 people. The Violeta Suite could accommodate a small family. The Casa has beautiful tropical gardens and a very inviting pool area and relaxing deck. This area contains sun loungers, tables and chairs and a bar. The gardens also have a breakfast patio area. There is a TV room in the main house as well as a more casual room for relaxing or reading. The TV is live from the East Coast of America and Canada.We are an Australian couple who fell in love with Merida and want to share our Aussie hospitality with you. Stuart enjoys cooking and is looking forward to preparing your breakfast. You will have fresh fruit, juice and yoghurt before your hot breakfast of the day. Freshly ground coffee beans will be used to prepare your coffee. A complimentary drink will be offered at Happy Hour by the pool between 5-6pm each Tuesday and Thursday. So, what are you waiting for? Come and visit us and enjoy your stay in Merida.If you are arriving by air we can meet you at the airport ($US10) charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa de dos Tortugas Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing