We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, fantastic service.”
Review of Cascadas de Merida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cascadas de Merida
Ranked #5 of 86 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I went to Merida and Cascadas in February 2013 with my mom, and stayed for four nights. The house and rooms were beautiful and elegant,, with a lovely pool in the centre. The breakfasts were amazing, and the hosts offered us drinks and liquados in the daytime.
Unfortunatly, I got really sick and had to stay in bed for a few days. Fortunatly, we were in the right place. Ellwyn gave me clean sheats, a special herbal tea for my throught, and best of all, she drove me to a hospital and helped translate to a doctor to make sure I got the best care and help. I got some strong medicine which made me better and we managed to get on with our vacation. Thank you so much!
I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarafromStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

We discovered this Bed and Breakfast through Trip Advisor and once again found the recommendations to be accurate and reliable. Cascadas was a just perfect in so many ways-peaceful, beautiful, great beds, even greater breakfasts and it was centrally located for lots of walking. Staying in Merida is a perfect base for exploring the surrounding area either by car (recommended-driving is easy and gives you so much freedom) or organized small tours. Last and best is Ellyne's enthusiasm and wealth of knowledge for the area which she shares generously. We cannot recommend this highly enough.

Room Tip: All rooms looked equally lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Even tho we live in Mexico, it was my 1st trip to the Yucatan area. Shortly before we left, I had an MRI and the Dr advised limited walking due to a couple herniated disc's but taxis were cheaper than Mazatlan. Ellyne and her husband were a wealth of information and made it easier for me to enjoy what I could. I am not a breakfast eater but ate I did and they were great (of course Ellyne's arm twisting helped). The rooms were wonderful, layed out around the pool. Hammocks and chaises were also available with relaxing waterfalls both outside and inside. The rooms were nice and I was missing the waterfalls when we returned to Mazatlan. Ellyne hooked us up with Dennis, a licensed driver, who was extremely nice and knowledgeable for a couple of day trips that we really enjoyed. I feel fortunate to have stayed there and to spend time with owners at their beautiful accommodations.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This was our fourth trip to Merida. If you want to be in the centro historico, Cascades has everything you need: fabulously comfortable beds, cleanliness and quiet, hospitable and generous hosts who really make an effort to help wherever possible, delicious breakfast 'feast,' snacks and drinks, and proximity to the main square and lots of restaurants, or a quick taxi to the Paseo. Ellen also directed us to an excellent place to buy fine silver jewellry - not cheap but great quality and selection...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naramatian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time at Cascada. The breakfasts are the best you will get anywhere. Ellyne is one of the owners, and she runs the day to day business. As much as I enjoyed the accommodations, and they were everything advertized, I enjoyed the time spent with the owners. You know how some times you feel like you did not get your money's worth? Well, here, it seemed like you get more than you pay for. Very nice people and clean cozy rooms with more privacy than B&B's are normally associated with. Four cabins around a pretty court yard/pool. You can come and go without feeling you are invading anyone's space, the way the entrance is set up. The employees are treated as family. The hosts are excellent at giving you as much help as you want or as much space as you want.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmymacIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My wife and I went to Merida for a long weekend. I usually shy away from B&Bs (creepy hosts, no privacy). LOCATION: excellent, same street as some of the must eat restaurants. short walk into the main square & all rooms very quiet. AESTHETIC/COMFORT: Funky (waterwalls/pools everywhere) but very well built. All the cascadas are very soothing and well thought out. Pool is deliciously fresh. Room is very comfortable AC works well, fastidiously clean, etc. FOOD: Excellent breakfast spread. Lots of food & lots of choice. Excellent egg dishes every morning (chilaquiles, huevos motuleños) + well as good fresh coffee, lots of fresh fruit (papaya, mango, black/raspberries), baked goods, juices, yogurts, etc. streets ahead of expectations. HOSPITALITY: Host is the the genuine article. Never have I felt so at home and at ease with a B&B host. Very good recs, had our best interests in mind, generous beyond belief. Incredibly generous with the bar.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdlgto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This was a first trip to Mexico for my husband and I, and although I did a lot of research there's no making up for being a neophyte and non-Spanish speaker. Cascadas was a perfect choice for us, it's comfortable without being pretentious, centrally located but not overly so because Merida is a busy city. It's a small B & B, just a few rooms, so you have an opportunity to get to know other guests. Breakfasts are wonderful, and enough to keep you going until dinner. We enjoyed talking with other visitors and our hosts, Ellyne & Chucho (a nickname, not sure of spelling). For us, they were the best part of our stay, enriching our appreciation of Merida far beyond what we would have picked up on our own during our short stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.7 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 105 in Merida
1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merida Santiago hotel boutique
0.5 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 86 in Merida
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ochenta Y Dos [an urban bed & breakfast]
0.4 mi away
Hotel Medio Mundo
Hotel Medio Mundo
#4 of 86 in Merida
355 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel La Piazzetta
Hotel La Piazzetta
#3 of 86 in Merida
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascadas de Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascadas de Merida

Address: Calle 57 # 593-C , x 74A y 76, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range: £67 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and comfortable bed and breakfast is located in the historic district of Merida Yucatan. Each casita has remote-controlled air conditioning, cable TV and internet access. Casitas are designed for maximum comfort and are surrounded by the soothing sights and sounds of waterfalls. A cool retreat from the tropical heat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing