We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not your average B&B!”
Review of Cascadas de Merida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cascadas de Merida
Ranked #4 of 84 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not your average B&B!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were in Merida for 2 nights at the end of our honeymoon, and after seeing so many great reviews, decided to stay at Cascadas de Merida. The pictures online don't do it justice - this place is a hidden oasis in the heart of historic Merida. The hosts are friendly and extremely helpful, the rooms are clean and lovely, the waterfalls and other water features are soothing, and the breakfasts are amazing! Lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, and also different hot options every day. At Cascadas de Merida, you feel welcomed and cared for.

Room Tip: Ask for the king room at the back if you want a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    18
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
88
342
41
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Loved the location about six blocks from Plaza Grande in Santiago. Wonderful, extensive, family style breakfast including lots of fresh fruit, delicious bakery choices, great omelets, and good conversation around the communal table. Very nice, clean rooms with interesting décor and airy shower with waterfalls (Private Cascadas!) Ellyne and Chucho are superb hosts - extremely welcoming, they have extensive knowledge of Merida which they are never too busy to share. I heartily recommend Las Cascadas and hope to stay here again and again.

Room Tip: All four rooms are well off the street and quiet. Choose any one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishJan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Wonderful B&B with excellent full breakfast, refreshing pool, clean, nicely decorated rooms and very knowledgeable owners willing to share so much information about Merida from living in this city to history to plants to restaurants, beaches and yoga! We really enjoyed our too brief stay.We met some other interesting travelers and would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a poolside room that we enjoyed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Many factors go into deciding where to stay on a trip. What level of comfort do we need or want? What level of "ground support" do we need on this journey? As an independent traveler, my decisions on that score vary with the destination. If I'm in a familiar place, I'll go with an apartment. But if I'm traveling to a new destination where I might require some help in understanding or navigation, I go for a smaller hotel or B & B where the hosts can offer some guidance without, I always hope, being too intrusive!

In our first trip to Merida, my sons (ages 9 and 12) and I found the perfect place. The Cascadas de Merida is a 4-room B & B located a few blocks from the historical centro, and just a couple of blocks from another smaller, lively square. The rooms are comfortable and impeccable. The level of comfort of bedding is really the highest, the bathroom facilities were great, including an awesome glassed-in (but still private) shower, the pool was a very good size, and the food was lovely and filling.

What brings this B & B up to an even higher level is quality of the staff, beginning and ending with the owners, Ellyne and Chucho. What delightful, helpful folks. Ellyne's design and hospitality instincts are right on target and both gave excellent advice on how best to spend our time in Merida. As I indicated in the title of my review, not only was this the perfect choice for Merida, anyone wanting to learn how to run a successful, comfortable and accommodating B & B would do well to take lessons here!

Room Tip: They are all great, opening right to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaFlannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honesdale, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had a wonderful 4 day stay at Cascadas and would definitely return. Ellyne and Chucho were extremely welcoming and helpful - plus great breakfasts surrounded by wonderful folk art and furnishings. Imagine a pool right outside your room, waterfalls cascading down the walls with a hammock and lounge chairs! The room was clean and airy, glass shower with waterfall just outside (!), comfortable beds. Location worked fine for walking to town and local market area, quiet for sleeping, parking available, easy to drive to museums. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Quiet, safe location, has everything you need! Pretty rooms, super clean, comfortable beds, tv, great wifi, good water pressure, a/c. Only 4 bedrooms but separated well enough around the pool for privacy. Ellyne serves a great breakfast daily and goes out of her way to help you negotiate Merida. She will let you know, in advance of any special events (and there always are) happening during your stay. She will recommend restaurants and shops, etc. Invaluable attention to you so you enjoy your stay in Merida.
We would definitely stay with she and Chucho again!

Room Tip: Choose from one bed or two beds. We had a large king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We recently had the joy of being guests at Cascadas de Merida for several nights. We could not have been more comfortable or more welcome. Ellyne went out of her way to ensure everyone enjoyed a bountiful and very delicious and varied breakfast each day, that we had all the information necessary to have another wonderful day in Merida, and that each suite was so well appointed you were never in want of anything. She could not have done enough for you at any time. The entire place is beautifully decorated and Ellyne so well informed about all the art, the knowledge of which she imparted to all. The linens were the best of our entire stay in Mexico and the suites the cleanest of any place we stayed. The staff were friendly and courteous at all times as well. What more could you ask? Thank you to Ellyne and Chucho for easing us into the wonderful life in Merida. And the location is tops!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deerpathok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 104 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 104 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 104 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 84 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascadas de Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascadas de Merida

Property: Cascadas de Merida
Address: Calle 57 # 593-C , x 74A y 76, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and comfortable bed and breakfast is located in the historic district of Merida Yucatan. Each casita has remote-controlled air conditioning, cable TV and internet access. Casitas are designed for maximum comfort and are surrounded by the soothing sights and sounds of waterfalls. A cool retreat from the tropical heat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing