We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Bed and Breakfast Ever!”
Review of Cascadas de Merida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cascadas de Merida
Ranked #6 of 82 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mahopac, New York
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the Best Bed and Breakfast Ever!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My Husband and I just returned from our trip to Merida and we are already making plans on returning, and we will be staying in this lovely, peaceful charming B/B again. What a gem! The Bed and breakfast is located near Centro Merida, making its location easily a walking distance to Centro Merida. Our room was ample in size, comfy
restful bed, and most important to us was the quiet air condition unit and over head ceiling fan. Breakfast was served with such a tasteful assortment of fresh fruits, pastries, frijoles, fresh homemade yogurt to die for, fresh squeeze juice and choice of omelet or chilaquiles a Mexican specialty breakfast dish. The Cascadas had a wonderful pool with plenty of lazy chairs for relaxation. What my husband and I admired and loved so much was the greatest hospitality we received. My husband and I love the way the owners care for their guest. We where so happy to received their help in guiding us with the many activities and interesting places in Merida. Of the many B/B we have visited over the years, we rate The Cascadas the Merida as our very favorite. Loved it!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    18
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
90
343
41
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Cascadas is an oasis of calm in a busy city! Located several blocks from the heart and bustle of the Plaza Grande in the White City of Merida, capital of the state of Yucatan. Even so , Cascadas is an easy walk to to the major tourist attractions of Merida Centro. The hospitality is first class! Guest are offered a welcome beverage in the common living area! The four guest rooms, located at the back of the property, away fron the noise of the street, are in each corner of the yard, pool in the centre, and a lounging area on one side. The waterfalls along the wall are relaxing as you enjoy the pool or resting on a chaise lounge with you drink at your side.
The decor and the water course, including glass walls in your shower, so you can enjoy the cascading waterfalls as you shower, are very unique and impressive.
Equally impressive is the wonderful array of fruit, bread, rolls, etc, including eggs served at breakfast. Ellyne, who runs this gem along with her husband, are a wealth of info and what to do and see in Merida. Warm, friendly, cheerful, they really make you feel at home, not at all like a hotel or hostel ! We had a wonderful weekend stay. Clean, very comfortable and totally charming! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegD1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Wonderful B&B with excellent breakfast, refreshing pool, relaxing hammock, clean and nicely decorated rooms and owners, Ellyne and Chucho willing to share so much information.
Staying at Cascades de Merida was one of the highlights of our trip. So many laughs were had at breakfast time it was truely a great way to start and end the day.

The rooms are impeccable and beds are very comfortable. Bathrooms are great with an awesome glassed-in shower which are still very private.

They staff here are top quailty, friendly and helpful. Perfect position, away from the busy streets with only a short walk to the plaza.

I would definately recommend Cascadas de Merida to anyone looking for accommodation in Merida.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

With Ellyne's wide scope of useful information, great breakfast and tranquility off the busy city, we couldn't expect a better place to stay! Ellyne is for me a " walking traveler's guide book", very useful and reliable which she gladly imparts to her guests. The room with the waterfalls, a pool, and a hammock outside one's door complete the scene of relaxation. It is such a great B&B!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Cascadas de Merida and had a great time.

There are 4 rooms that overlook a lovely swimming pool. I agree with other reviews that the website doesn't do the place justice - for example, there is an amazing use of water throughout the property, thanks to the skill of Ellyne's husband, which makes the place unique and special.

We liked the room arrangement because it enabled each guest(s) to have privacy along with all the benefits of a proper b&b:
- breakfast is included (there are some b&bs in Merida that do not provide this basic facility!). It is freshly prepared, varied and plentiful;
- a great, friendly, generous host. Ellyne couldn't do more to help her guests. Our onward travel was on Good Friday and we were worried that bus tickets would not be available last minute - Ellyne kindly drove us to an out of town ticket office to ensure we got them. I also understand she went out of her way to help other guests that were staying the same time as us;
- all guests can take the advantage of a couple of free drinks each day (beer, fizzy drinks, water). A really nice touch;
- the team (cleaner/cooks) that works with Ellyne also provide a great service, really friendly and helpful;
- opportunities to chat to other guests either at the pool or over breakfast.

We have no criticisms. It is a good 10 minute walk to the city centre, which we enjoyed and used as an opportunity to explore different parts of the city. If this is too much for some, taxis are easy to get and cheap. We personally preferred staying away from the congested centre and associated traffic pollution/noise.

We highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We understand that all the four rooms are very similar- all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were in Merida for 2 nights at the end of our honeymoon, and after seeing so many great reviews, decided to stay at Cascadas de Merida. The pictures online don't do it justice - this place is a hidden oasis in the heart of historic Merida. The hosts are friendly and extremely helpful, the rooms are clean and lovely, the waterfalls and other water features are soothing, and the breakfasts are amazing! Lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, and also different hot options every day. At Cascadas de Merida, you feel welcomed and cared for.

Room Tip: Ask for the king room at the back if you want a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Loved the location about six blocks from Plaza Grande in Santiago. Wonderful, extensive, family style breakfast including lots of fresh fruit, delicious bakery choices, great omelets, and good conversation around the communal table. Very nice, clean rooms with interesting décor and airy shower with waterfalls (Private Cascadas!) Ellyne and Chucho are superb hosts - extremely welcoming, they have extensive knowledge of Merida which they are never too busy to share. I heartily recommend Las Cascadas and hope to stay here again and again.

Room Tip: All four rooms are well off the street and quiet. Choose any one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishJan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
1,000 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#8 of 103 in Merida
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 82 in Merida
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascadas de Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascadas de Merida

Property: Cascadas de Merida
Address: Calle 57 # 593-C , x 74A y 76, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and comfortable bed and breakfast is located in the historic district of Merida Yucatan. Each casita has remote-controlled air conditioning, cable TV and internet access. Casitas are designed for maximum comfort and are surrounded by the soothing sights and sounds of waterfalls. A cool retreat from the tropical heat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing