We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I go back every time”
Review of Hotel Casa Lucia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Lucia
Ranked #12 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I have spent many months in Merida, and whenever I have visitors I always send them here. The staff is great, the food is great and its located downtown Merida. This is a quiet hotel with lots of mexican character. The pool is beautiful and the beds are amazing. I believe the owner has sold it and it isn't as kept up as usual, but I believe they are working on it. Food is so great too !!! You dont go to mexico to connect to the internet, or to work out.... you explore....

Room Tip: because of the heat the rooms are all musty at first, crack a window and it will be fine in minutes...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnCorrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa Lucia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

except for it location and a friendly staff there is nothing positive to say about the hotel. the room was in need of serious upgrade specially the bathroom,the pool and it surroundings and the main lobby.Certainly it looks old like from the 70's not what a modern"boutique hotel" should look and offer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cjh7659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We spent three nights over the Easter weekend. The staff was extremely pleasant and we had a large room overlooking the courtyard and the pool. We also had a small fridge that was very usefull for pop and water. The temperature on Saturday was nearly 40 degrees. The hotel is only about 3 minutes from the main square and there are abundant restaurants in very close proximity.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pepeone111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Definitely not my idea of a boutique hotel and overpriced for what you get. My room smelled musty and the windows didn't open. The Internet didn't work in my room which was a drag especially because there were so many mosquitoes by the pool and in the lobby. I'm glad I only booked for one night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anasaskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Positive : location in center Merida, walking distance from Plaza Grande, convenient parking lot, pool area is nice.

Negative : I was ripped off 100 USD for laundry. This was a very unpleasant experience and I felt just like I have been manipulated by an untrustful staff. The day we arrived we asked for the price for laundry, and the manager at the front desk told us they will take care for a moderate cost. I asked twice about the price but the guy kept telling me not to worry... I discovered the 100 USD charge on the bill at the check out... 100 USD for less than 10 lbs of shirts and polos. Nothing but robbery.

Else, this hotel is OK but clearly not worth the money. The room smelt moist and the air conditioner was way too noisy. There were bugs in the room (my young daughter was scared to death by a monster cockroach that found its way under her bed... And ants running all over the bathroom). I am personally OK with the idea of facing bugs in tropical countries but I would have not expected this in a 5 star boutique hotel. The breakfast is absolutely not what you would expect for the price (bread, butter and jam, and orange juice right from the box). Nothing more than the regular breakfast you would get from the cheapest US motel. I must confess I don't really understand how this hotel got so many positive reviews and ranked in the top ten in Merida. It also looked strange to me that an hotel with such a good fame on the web ran almost empty of guests in this season.

My advice: stay away from Casia Lucia, or revise down your expectactions. You can have much better for your money in Merida.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manustar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is a charming hotel. Unfortunately we did not stay here but had the pleasure of eating here twice. Of all the places we have visited, this bistro stands out as having one of the most extraordinary dishes I have ever eaten. I would like to preface this with saying that I am accomplished in the kitchen and cook a great deal.
I have eaten in well known places in the US and in Europe BUT this bistro had a chicken dish made with a blood orange sauce that I had both nights I ate here and it was wonderful! A "stand out" meal. Service was excellent, surroundings charming, couldn't ask for anything more!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellin' More
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

After only two nights we were calling this hotel "home". When our stay ended after seven nights, we hated to return to America. Hotel Casa Lucia is a small (15 rooms) boutique hotel in a renovated private home. It has a prime location only five blocks from the central square and directly across from St. Lucia park, where weekly festivals of song and dance occur on Thursday nights. The rooms are sequestered in a courtyard behind the streetfront, though, so street noise generally does not penetrate. The staff was exceptionally helpful and cheerful. The included breakfast is only bread, butter, jam, and beverages and some of the room appointments could be improved (better bathroom lighting, improved mirrors, and grounding the light fixtures). The rooms were otherwise spacious, scrupulously clean, and comfortable. The courtyard fronts a lovely tile-lined swimming pool. It was our great luck to find this superb hotel on our first visit to Merida; we will return with joy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.0 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#2 of 106 in Merida
1,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#8 of 106 in Merida
457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#3 of 106 in Merida
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 106 in Merida
529 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#22 of 106 in Merida
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Lucia

Address: Calle 60 No.474-a entre 53 y 55 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#21 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range: £57 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Lucia 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lucia Hotel Boutique is a great place to rest with the elegance of Old Mexico transporting our guest to another time. We are located in a prime location, at the historic center of Merida across from Santa Lucia's Park, where the traditional Serenata Yucateca has been taking place every Thursday night for more than 50 years. The hotel has private parking, swimming pool area, hammocks, Wi-Fi internet connection, restaurant and 24 hour concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Lucia Boutique Hotel
Casa Lucia Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing