We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Lucia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casa Lucia
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night and had a great experience. Our room was huge, with a bathroom the size of my bedroom in London! My sis/bro-in-law had a smaller room (don't know why), but it was nice as well. The hotel is very conveniently located, near the main attractions in Merida. There is also a street market on Thursday evenings, which starts right outside the hotel. We ate some yummy "crepes" with nutella there! Definitely recommend staying at this hotel and eating at restaurants called Amaro and Freida.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smurfette17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    78
    32
    17
    8
See reviews for
83
123
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

I returned last week to find things falling down, the waiters were trying to sell me tings which was very new, the menu had been cut down to just pizza and sandwiches..before they had amazing pastas. Although it had a beautiful pool and so much character...it isnt what it used to be :(

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnCorrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a night for a wedding we went to near Merida. We decided on this place because it was on the list of hotels the wedding party listed, and it looked nice in the photos.

It was a quaint place, but by no means a "boutique" hotel worth what they charge. The room was a bit musty, but it cleared up after the A/C ran for a bit. The amenities in the room were ok, and there was no hot water. I wasn't too bothered by the later due to the heat at 3pm.

None of the above would have warranted a post had the following situation not occurred.

Shortly after we arrived, the guy in charge started talking to us about the area and the crafts etc. We decided to freshen up and go check out the city, the same man offered to walk us to the zocalo, so we accepted and as we walked he told us about this area where the indigenous population comes to sell their products. We agreed to check it out and he brought us to this little store, walked us in and disappeared. There was no trip to the Zocalo, or sites, just this little store selling local wares. Long story short we ended up getting ripped at the store, paying too much for what turned out to shabby material. Afterward we walked around, without our "guide" and headed back.

Yes, no one forced me to buy anything, and yes I may have trusted everyone more than I should have but I assumed if a hotel employee takes me somewhere it is not to take advantage of me.

We ordered some food back at the hotel and again, paid too much for a cruddy sandwich and salad.

I felt as if I were being taken advantage of at every opportunity, this is coming from a couple that has lived in Mexico City for four years and is fluent in Spanish.

The hotel itself wasn't terrible, and the rest of the staff was very friendly, but this experience almost ruined the entire trip (Thank goodness for the beautiful wedding).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Daveizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I have spent many months in Merida, and whenever I have visitors I always send them here. The staff is great, the food is great and its located downtown Merida. This is a quiet hotel with lots of mexican character. The pool is beautiful and the beds are amazing. I believe the owner has sold it and it isn't as kept up as usual, but I believe they are working on it. Food is so great too !!! You dont go to mexico to connect to the internet, or to work out.... you explore....

Room Tip: because of the heat the rooms are all musty at first, crack a window and it will be fine in minutes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnCorrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

except for it location and a friendly staff there is nothing positive to say about the hotel. the room was in need of serious upgrade specially the bathroom,the pool and it surroundings and the main lobby.Certainly it looks old like from the 70's not what a modern"boutique hotel" should look and offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjh7659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We spent three nights over the Easter weekend. The staff was extremely pleasant and we had a large room overlooking the courtyard and the pool. We also had a small fridge that was very usefull for pop and water. The temperature on Saturday was nearly 40 degrees. The hotel is only about 3 minutes from the main square and there are abundant restaurants in very close proximity.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepeone111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Definitely not my idea of a boutique hotel and overpriced for what you get. My room smelled musty and the windows didn't open. The Internet didn't work in my room which was a drag especially because there were so many mosquitoes by the pool and in the lobby. I'm glad I only booked for one night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anasaskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#21 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#18 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Lucia

Property: Hotel Casa Lucia
Address: Calle 60 No.474-a entre 53 y 55 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#21 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Lucia 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lucia Hotel Boutique is a great place to rest with the elegance of Old Mexico transporting our guest to another time. We are located in a prime location, at the historic center of Merida across from Santa Lucia's Park, where the traditional Serenata Yucateca has been taking place every Thursday night for more than 50 years. The hotel has private parking, swimming pool area, hammocks, Wi-Fi internet connection, restaurant and 24 hour concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casa Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Lucia Boutique Hotel
Casa Lucia Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing