We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, large room, mildew on the ceiling” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Lucia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casa Lucia
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Forks
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice location, large room, mildew on the ceiling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location near the center of Merida. Across the street is a little plaza where there is a fiesta every Thursday. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was large and, for the most part clean. We stayed on the second floor and there was water damage to the ceiling, with mildew visible. Not enough to ruin the stay, but certainly not something you would expect to see.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    78
    32
    17
    8
See reviews for
83
123
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. Very helpful staff, good sized room, pool, colonial atmosphere all close to the centre. Breakfast very un exciting so we went round the corner to the Club Cafe (turn left out of the hotel and left again - by the church - and the Club Cafe is about 50 metres down on the other side of the road - lots of choice for breakfast and a nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Didn't see any other rooms but No 5 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarita555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vught
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Lovely quiet small scale hotel near the centre of Merida. The standard breakfast is basic, but good quality supplements are availalble at fair prices. Absolutely recommended when you prefer an intimate hotel with a colonial atmospehere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vuppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is a lovely well situated hotel, with excellent helpful staff at a very affordable price. It is an excellent distance only two blocks to the main centre of town. Where you can relax and not be hassled by street salesman. There was also a lovely dance display in the plaza across the road the first night we arrived with women in traditional dress.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndaann1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

This is just the best small hotel in Merida. It's walking distance to shopping, restaurants and sightseeing. The rooms are spacious, clean (special bed linens) and have all you need. Lovely pool and patio area, lovely little dining room, good food and great service. I spent 5 nights there and could not have been happier. A special "shout out" to Alejandro, the night manager. He was able to teach even me (a digital immigrant) how to work the TV! The hotel is truly charming.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms a really special, but the whole place is quiet. Due to my friend's mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kfrutchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of the old part of the city, and there are great shopping and dinning options in close proximity.

It is the best of both worlds, in the sense that despite its central location, the rooms are located in the backyard, away from the busy street, so you are not disturbed by noise. The backyard also has a small pool, which is nice as the temperature can get quite high.

Finally, the personnel is very friendly and really makes an effort in order for you to feel comfortable and have a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peleus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We entered the hotel to be welcomed by beautiful lighting mixed with amazing art and tasteful decor. The staff taking care of the reception desk are amazing people we asked for an upgrade and we received one for the grand suite with a giant bathroom king sized bed that was amazingly soft with a canopy accompanying it. It is also wonderfully located only three blocks from the town square which is near all the good restaurants. The restaurant in the hotel is fair the food is great but there chicken salad sandwiches are not the best but are still good. The pool is a good size and has a beautiful shape and its very clean. You can order food and the servers will bring you your food. And it's good to occupy you and your family while the maid cleans your room. I highly recommend this hotel for couples and family's it's a great stay I will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcritic100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#6 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#21 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#18 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Lucia

Property: Hotel Casa Lucia
Address: Calle 60 No.474-a entre 53 y 55 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#21 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Lucia 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lucia Hotel Boutique is a great place to rest with the elegance of Old Mexico transporting our guest to another time. We are located in a prime location, at the historic center of Merida across from Santa Lucia's Park, where the traditional Serenata Yucateca has been taking place every Thursday night for more than 50 years. The hotel has private parking, swimming pool area, hammocks, Wi-Fi internet connection, restaurant and 24 hour concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casa Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Lucia Boutique Hotel
Casa Lucia Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing