We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience a real colonial home in a relaxed environment!”
Review of Casa Santiago

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Santiago
Ranked #38 of 86 Merida B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 February 2014

If you want the bland sameness of a modern chain hotel, this is not the place for you! If you want to feel the classic elegance of an 18th century colonial residence with 20' ceilings, interior gardens and cool dimly lit interiors, you will love this residence. It is close to the central square along well lighted streets in the safest city in Mexico. Sergio , the manager, is extremely helpful and the owner is thoroughly engaging! I can't wait to return!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alaskaspruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

After the crowded beaches of the Yucatan, my family and I were craving some culture, history and peace and quiet. This was our third visit to Merida, and Casa Santiago is our favourite place to stay. You would never know from the unassuming entrance in a quiet neighbourhood in Merida that there were too beautiful old houses behind the walls, with lovely gardens and two pools. The houses were quiet and spacious. Our three rooms had very high ceilings, cool tiled floors and big beautiful bathrooms. There were several kitchens and rooms for relaxing, and an excellent little library which we took advantage of. The breakfasts were delicious- fresh fruit, eggs, bacon and fresh pastries purchased from the market that morning. Sergio, the young, laid back manager, gave us excellent suggestions for restaurants and museums. We also met the owner Frank, who knows a great deal about the local history. we loved the laid back atmosphere. Casa Santiago was a great base for exploring Merida by foot, and we walked everywhere. We absolutely adored staying there, and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our favourite room was the Buddha room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahfortna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Six of us spent two weeks in the Yucatan. We treated ourselves to a luxurious New Year stay in Merida at Casa Santiago. We enjoyed it so much, we stayed an extra 3 days. It is very convenient to the main square activities but also gave us seclusion in a beautiful refuge when we wanted to rest. The owners were wonderful hosts and very interesting to talk with.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill-Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in the Budda Room for 13 days and it was very nice. The Kitchen in the main home and outdoor lanai is very nice. The Mgr Sergio was very gracious and showed us around town to local places that we most likely would have never found. The breakfast's were a little lacking , but there are plenty of places to eat close by. The owner , Frank , was not there, but we did talk with him and emailed often . But if we needed anything, Sergio was glad to ablige. It took us a few days, but everything was within walking distance and Sergio was glad to take us or give us help , if we needed directions. Very close to resturants and attractions. Roberto, was very nice and took us anywhere we wanted. He knows everyone and speaks English and Spanish, he also knows the best resturants. He gave us a wonderful history of the area and is not for a loss of words. He is very funny and I would recommend having him take you around.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in the main house, as it is very nice and the kitchen is very nice, as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The bed sheets were dirty when we arrived, the previous occupants used oil and smeared all over the sheets. When bringing it to the managers attention, they denied that the sheets dirty. We had to request the sheet be changed, they weren't going to volunteer clean sheets. The room was gloomy, & dark, probably so you wouldn't notice how dirty it was!

Breakfast was the same low quality pastery assortment put out day-after-day, cereal & granola was stale and not eatable. The only good thing was the coffee. We asked for pan dulce, the on site manager said knew where we could go and buy them ourselves, and did not offer to pull a peso from his pocket to purchase for our party of 4, renting 2 rooms for 3 nights.

Bath soap was a joke, it was sample size extremely small soap, tissue was packs of 8 tissues the type that women put in their handbags. Very low quality bath soap, it fell part after 1 shower, kept having to ask for more bottled water to brush our teeth. Shower had very low water pressure and could not get very hot water.
The room safe was a cash box with a handle, no larger than a file box that could be carried out of the room easily.

We asked for extra towels for a visit to the underground rivers, the manager said that I should charge us extra for the use of "his towels" that were thin, shreaded towels, he was very arrogant. We had to pull information out of him on the area attractions. He not generous with information and very moody.

No TV in the rooms, or DVD's to watch.

I don't understand how this property has been rated so high by so many people. Could it be the friends & family writing rave reviews for a dump?

Room Tip: Looked at all the rooms on the property, they are ALL dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We had a very nice stay at Casa Santiago.The place is nicely renovated, the pool and patio are lovely to hang out at and having access to a kitchen all day was definitely a plus. I am not sure why some of the previous reviewers found the location wanting. It is a few blocks away from the main square but in easy walking distance. Nothing scary, even at night. The breakfast however is nothing to write home about but then again, there is so much great food all around Merida, it didn't matter much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We are an elderly couple who stayed at Casa Santiago for three nights. Previously we were at a small boutique hotel in the city center. It was a very nice hotel, but Merida is very noisy, and staying at Casa Santiago, in the Buddah room, was more relaxing and quiet.
The B and B is truly a paradise in the center of the city. True - it is about 6 blocks from the central square, but being in a residential community makes it more authentic.
If you want a 4 star hotel experience, this is not the place for you. This is a Casa not a hotel,
and because you may not be the only people there, it probably is a good idea that you enjoy the company of others.
Frank (the owner, who sometimes lives there) and his manager Sergio, were very gracious and informative about the surroundings and the Maya culture.
Frank is very gregarious, and even garrulous, so if you are prone to not enjoy being around such types, make sure Frank is not there!
The city of Merida is quite safe, and we did not feel uncomfortable walking anywhere in the evening, or anyplace in the Yucatan for that matter.
I recommend Casa Santiago to anyone traveling to Merida. All of the rooms are very comfortable, and the water is softened, so your shower is extremely enjoyable.
Step out of the ordinary, and enjoy the experience of Frank, Sergio and the rest of the staff!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#35 of 106 in Merida
282 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 106 in Merida
441 reviews
3.5 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 106 in Merida
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 86 in Merida
500 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#22 of 106 in Merida
544 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santiago

Address: Calle 72 # 562 | #517 Calle 70 x 63 y 65, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range: £45 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Santiago is a home and a bed and breakfast in Merida, the capital city of the Yucatan which was founded in 1542 on an ancient Mayan site. It is charming. There are 8 spacious air conditioned suites and all have ceiling fans, private baths, work desks, and original pasta tile floors. There are two pools and beautiful gardens. We are just three blocks from the main square and everything is in walking distance. We offer great tours. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing