We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Santiago - The BEST place to stay in Merida MX”
Review of Casa Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Santiago
Ranked #23 of 79 Merida B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Casa Santiago - The BEST place to stay in Merida MX”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My family and I just had our best vacation ever. Casa Santiago truly has "Old World" Charm. We had an entire house to ourselves, with each bedroom having a private bathroom. The manager of the property, Sergio, was essentially our own private concierge - - making suggestions for things to see and places to eat. There are 2 separate swimming pools! The house is easily over 100 years old yet has been completely renovated without loosing the original feel of the property.

Casa Santiago is located in the heart of Merida and we could easily walk to everything we wanted to see in Merida. The "Adventure Guide", Roberto, has encyclopedic knowledge of the area and took us to see the ruins, the ocean, and even took us on a private tour of many of the small towns surrounding Merida.

Everything about Merida in general and Casa Santiago in particular is charming and worth experiencing again and again. My highest compliments to Casa Santiago.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BYoung2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    18
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
22
68
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Casa Santiago is a lovely home located near the church Santiago. It's location is one of the best. It is a short walk to the main square, the zoo and other places of interest. My favorite room is the Garden room because of the window but all rooms are beautiful. It is easy to feel at home here and with a refrigerator provided in the kitchen, having snacks available is a treat. The garden is wonderful with the pool, sitting area and lush vegetation. I love being in the garden sipping my wine or having a fresh salad. The staff is wonderful and Sergio is fluent in Spanish and English and can answer a host of questions. Roberto is available for day trips and has a wonderful knowledge of the Yucatan. I feel very much at home in this casa.

Room Tip: If you like a window then select the Garden Room. I have also stayed in the patio room with the pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The entire staff was very friendly and helpful.

Sergio was like having our own concierge to help us plan our days.

We also used the services of Roberto for several of our day trips. It was so nice to have local, knowledgable guide pick us up at our front door and take us to and through the best Yucatan monuments and attractions.

The little dog tried to steal my sock! I caught him, though.

If the world were small, we'd be coming back to Merida and Casa Santiago.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

If you want the bland sameness of a modern chain hotel, this is not the place for you! If you want to feel the classic elegance of an 18th century colonial residence with 20' ceilings, interior gardens and cool dimly lit interiors, you will love this residence. It is close to the central square along well lighted streets in the safest city in Mexico. Sergio , the manager, is extremely helpful and the owner is thoroughly engaging! I can't wait to return!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alaskaspruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

After the crowded beaches of the Yucatan, my family and I were craving some culture, history and peace and quiet. This was our third visit to Merida, and Casa Santiago is our favourite place to stay. You would never know from the unassuming entrance in a quiet neighbourhood in Merida that there were too beautiful old houses behind the walls, with lovely gardens and two pools. The houses were quiet and spacious. Our three rooms had very high ceilings, cool tiled floors and big beautiful bathrooms. There were several kitchens and rooms for relaxing, and an excellent little library which we took advantage of. The breakfasts were delicious- fresh fruit, eggs, bacon and fresh pastries purchased from the market that morning. Sergio, the young, laid back manager, gave us excellent suggestions for restaurants and museums. We also met the owner Frank, who knows a great deal about the local history. we loved the laid back atmosphere. Casa Santiago was a great base for exploring Merida by foot, and we walked everywhere. We absolutely adored staying there, and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our favourite room was the Buddha room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahfortna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Six of us spent two weeks in the Yucatan. We treated ourselves to a luxurious New Year stay in Merida at Casa Santiago. We enjoyed it so much, we stayed an extra 3 days. It is very convenient to the main square activities but also gave us seclusion in a beautiful refuge when we wanted to rest. The owners were wonderful hosts and very interesting to talk with.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill-Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Springs, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in the Budda Room for 13 days and it was very nice. The Kitchen in the main home and outdoor lanai is very nice. The Mgr Sergio was very gracious and showed us around town to local places that we most likely would have never found. The breakfast's were a little lacking , but there are plenty of places to eat close by. The owner , Frank , was not there, but we did talk with him and emailed often . But if we needed anything, Sergio was glad to ablige. It took us a few days, but everything was within walking distance and Sergio was glad to take us or give us help , if we needed directions. Very close to resturants and attractions. Roberto, was very nice and took us anywhere we wanted. He knows everyone and speaks English and Spanish, he also knows the best resturants. He gave us a wonderful history of the area and is not for a loss of words. He is very funny and I would recommend having him take you around.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in the main house, as it is very nice and the kitchen is very nice, as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#31 of 103 in Merida
270 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
437 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 79 in Merida
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#19 of 103 in Merida
525 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
3.2 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#35 of 103 in Merida
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santiago

Property: Casa Santiago
Address: Calle 72 # 562 | #517 Calle 70 x 63 y 65, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Santiago is a home and a bed and breakfast in Merida, the capital city of the Yucatan which was founded in 1542 on an ancient Mayan site. It is charming. There are 8 spacious air conditioned suites and all have ceiling fans, private baths, work desks, and original pasta tile floors. There are two pools and beautiful gardens. We are just three blocks from the main square and everything is in walking distance. We offer great tours. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing