We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have stayed longer - it will have to be next time”
Review of Casa Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Santiago
Ranked #31 of 82 Merida B&B and Inns
KC MO
1 review
“Would have stayed longer - it will have to be next time”
Reviewed 28 July 2009

It is a lovely place. This is an extremely well keep place that just invites you to come in, sit down, relax, have a beer, sit by the pool, whatever you wish. There is plenty to do around town and in the area. It is close to the town's center and easy to walk to. Since we did not stay as long as we would have liked I will have to return and bring others. From Merida you can take a car on a day trip within 80-100 KM to the Mayan pyramids in Uxmal, Sayil, and Kabah. The roads are easy to drive. Other nearby day trips included the beach and flamingos at Celestun, and another included Izamal. All are worth visiting. Do not expect to take in all the other sites in the same trip because you will want to kick back and relax at Casa Santiago.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissouriHeartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    18
    2
    2
    7
See reviews for
22
68
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2009

My fiance and i stayed 7 nights, and wow what a great time, We used the pick up service from the airport, i do recommend this as this city is quite large and a bit confusing to get around in at first. Dante was there to greet us and show us around, he is so much fun and very helpful, he joined us on our car rental day to help us communicate in spanish.... then we all loaded up in the car and went to Costco and Wal Mart to do some shopping (Dante loves to shop!!) Dante was also present for our official engagement on the pool stage! On our 5th night there we were very lucky that Frank the owner was able to fly in and meet us (this is right in the middle of the flu scare and he was not sure if he could get a flight into Mexico) what an awesome, informative,relaxed person he is!! And i am regretting not taking Frank's advice to fake a fever to stay longer! I could ramble on for many paragraphs, but i am sure that people can tell from all the other rave reviews that this place it top notch. I want to thank the entire staff (family) of the Casa Santiago for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanucksonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved every minute of it. Upon arrival, we were given a full tour of the B&B and made to feel completely at home. This B&B is adjacent to another B&B owned and operated by the same wonderful people and so you get to have the use of 2 gardens and pools! It is the most relaxing time we had in all of Mexico (having first visited Mexico City and Oaxaca) and the best sleep! The B&B is an easy walk to the town centre (approx. 10-15 minutes) and most other areas in town. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the bus station which makes trips to most of the ruins an easy task. The staff are terribly helpful and always around to assist with any request or query you have. We left feeling like we had stayed 5 days with family!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mils_londres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2009

Casa Santiago is wonderful, they arranged our pick up at the airport, Frank greeted us with wine and beer as soon as we arrived, and from the moment we walked in the door, Dante and Estaben did everything possible to make our stay wonderful. Vince and the dogs had breakfast with us daily, and gave great advice for places to see. Dante is a great source of information, and brings details and directions to many sites. Dante did a wonderful job of arranging day trips with Roberto. Roberto is worth the price, as he personalized the trips to places we wanted to see. He is a delight and his english is wonderful.
Being vegetarians we were able to eat very well, and the food was always fresh. (Just know that vegetarian in Merida means you do not eat red meat. They do not consider fish, seafood or chicken meat!) Dante and Vince are both able to help with places to eat, but do not miss las vigas, and the Italian restaurant that Vince will recommend.
We walked all over Merida (you do not need to rent a car) and at every moment felt safe. The police presence is very noticeable but not overbearing. If you are there on a Sunday do not miss the music and festivities at the Zocolo.
The beds are very comfy, the air conditioning works great. Our rooms were always clean and fresh.
We will be back sooner than later.
Trish & Michele

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleteddySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

We stayed at Casa Santiago for several days and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Animal lovers will be charmed by presence of the owners' small Boston Terrier, Felix, who seems a low-key host himself. Though we were in the area to work, we were made to feel comfortable and "at home". We never had trouble connecting to WiFi on our laptops and there was no extra charge for its use. It was also accessible in the main sitting room / dining room of the house, so we were able to work at any hour if necessary. Casa Santiago's location in Centro is an easy walk to the main plaza as well as local restaurants, ATM, convenience stores, etc. The Casa is a lovely colonial house with high ceilings, marble floors, clean, warmly decorated rooms and a pretty garden with swimming pool. Breakfasts are thoughtful arrangements of coffee, fresh croissants, toast, cream cheese, yogurt, cereals etc., We were even told to go to the kitchen to help ourselves to fresh bananas from their garden. A refrigerator in same kitchen was accessible to guests at anytime. The welcoming innkeepers are English speakers (helpful to those of us with rudimentary Spanish), and provided helpful info about the area we didn't already know. The owner present at the time of our stay, Vince, let us use the private pool of his residence next door when the B&B pool was temporarily unavailable for upkeep. But most incredible of all was the fact that, when we suddenly lost a rented facility we had arranged at another location in order to conduct a series of meetings, Vince allowed us to meet with people at his private home and garden next door. We were amazed and delighted at his incredibly generous offer at the 11th hour, and he saved us a great deal of trouble by doing so. In all, a great experience and we will definitely return in the future, whether in the area for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArdentPics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Our family of four (two teenagers) had high expectations for this place given the rave reviews we read on tripadvisor prior to our trip to Merida. Our one week stay at Casa Santiago exceeded our high expectations. Vince is the consummate host, effortlessly catering to his guests' needs without being intrusive or overbearing. He arranged our tours and recommended excellent places to eat and shop. He made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. He went out of his way to have breakfast prepared for our early morning departure and saw us off personally. We could not have asked for more from a host.

The rooms at Casa Santiago are spacious and first-class. The beds are extremely plush and comfortable. We loved starting our mornings with a fresh cup of coffee, sitting on the comfortable couches in the common area and enjoying a good book or conversation. The breakfasts were delicious and filling: fresh fruits from the market, croissants, juice, cereal and granola. The service at Casa Santiago was excellent. Vince's assistant Esteban was a pleasure: he greeted us every morning with a smile and was eager to help in any way. The pool area was small, but so peaceful and inviting. It was the prefect place to spend a couple of hours after a day of touring and before hitting the town again for music and dinner.

The city of Merida is a little-known gem. The people are friendly, the food is excellent, and every night there is free music and dancing in one of the main squares. We walked around at night freely and never once felt unsafe. Sunday in Merida is not to be missed. A big portion of the downtown is closed to traffic and people ride bikes throughout the city. There is a great market, music and dancing until late in the evening.

We went on a fantastic day trip to the ruins of Mayapan with Roberto, saw the flamingos at Celestun, and the Hacienda Sotuta de Peon, all trips arranged by Vince. For restuarants, be sure to visit La Iguana Blanca (great Italian food and the owner/chef Luca is an added attraction) and Las Vigas (great food in an informal atmosphere and low prices).

This review would not be complete without a mention of Vince's boston terrier, Felix. Felix came to greet us every morning and to cuddle with my daughter on the couch. Not only is he a cute dog, but he added to the very special nature of this place.

There is no question we will return to Merida within the next year and we will, of course, stay at Casa Santiago.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vermontmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Behind the simple door a wonderful oasis awaits at Casa Santiago. The gardens and pool are lush and quiet. Every detail is perfect, including luxurious bedding, great mattresses and pillows, thick towels, and lots of hot water when you want it. Vince and Frank have created a wonderful retreat....one of the best we encountered on a month's visit to the Yucatan. You can't go wrong here, and the rates are way less than you would expect for the experience.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefKMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#32 of 103 in Merida
273 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
440 reviews
3.5 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
62 St. Guest House
62 St. Guest House
#14 of 82 in Merida
152 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Medio Mundo
Hotel Medio Mundo
#4 of 82 in Merida
349 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Del Maya
Casa Del Maya
#1 of 82 in Merida
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santiago

Property: Casa Santiago
Address: Calle 72 # 562 | #517 Calle 70 x 63 y 65, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Santiago is a home and a bed and breakfast in Merida, the capital city of the Yucatan which was founded in 1542 on an ancient Mayan site. It is charming. There are 8 spacious air conditioned suites and all have ceiling fans, private baths, work desks, and original pasta tile floors. There are two pools and beautiful gardens. We are just three blocks from the main square and everything is in walking distance. We offer great tours. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing