We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic little gem right next to main plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Merida
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic little gem right next to main plaza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Lovely hotel, with colonial grandeur at affordable price. Rooms are opulent and comfortable, the outdoor area has a small pool and hammocks for hanging out in. Lovely lit up at night. Inner courtyard perfect for breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful. Loved everything about my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorelei504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedradeagua, Propietario at Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias por hospedarse con nosotros para todo el personal es un placer atenderlos y que aprecien los detalles del servicio que tratamos de dar , solo su opinión es la valiosa y nos motiva para hacer cada dia mejor las cosas hemos implementados varias cosas nuevas que nos gustaría que lñas vean por lo que les invitamos a regresar

LOs esperamos pronto

Carlos Fernández R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    97
    56
    33
    37
See reviews for
71
158
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

A very good 3 night stay -- great value-helpful staff-be careful of the very small single with the balcony-it is tiny but staff was great about changing out- I had a great stay and definitely recommend it-

Room Tip: get the larger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedradeagua, Propietario at Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Google Translation
Les agradecemos sus comentarios , el edificio data de 1845 y tiene restricción en tamaño en algunos balcones y 2 baños de habitaciones sin embargo esto hace que la estancia sea mas boutique ya que hace de la experiencia una estancia única con nosotros y nuestra atención y decoración y ubicación hacen espectacular la estancia

los invitamos a que regresen pronto y vean los cambios que hemos hecho

Saludos

Carlosd <Fernández R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Piedra Del Aqua hotel in Merida is a great getaway in the center of this beautiful colonial city. We recently hosted our daughters wedding here and hit a homerun by staying with many of our guests and hosting the reception in this charming spot.
The hotel is in the center of the old colonial city across from the central zocalo, next to the governor’s palace and a few steps to the grand cathedral. It is a classic style Spanish three-floor structure with interior pillars and a shaded central courtyard. The handsome Carlos, owner and his beautiful prometida Lyndia continue to restore and bring this building back to its original character and beauty. They have outfitted the hotel so that it has a warmth, beauty and special cache.
The courtyard pool was scheduled for a size increase and other improvements after our visit and you’ll love it if you visit when its hot and the hammocks are hung for you when you hop out. The staff is a highpoint and treated us like family for our stay. My special thanks to Gabriel bartender extraordinaire, our daily friends Nicholas, Daniel, Alahandro who made our everyday wishes complete and Sheila at the front desk who solved our problems with a smile and sense of urgency.
I didn’t get to meet the kitchen staff but all I can say is the food was just great and the staff was always on hand. Our hotel made a wedding cake that was to die for. Don’t miss the Lima de sopa!
In the evening you will be enchanted when you walk through the hotel and out to the garden patio. The candles are lit, the outdoor courtyard bar is aglow and the stone oven is fired up for artisan pizzas. Great drinks and food await you and there is live music several nights a week.
This is a destination spot in the evening for Merida locals and visitors who know looking for a romantic evening and some dancing. Look up over the walls and see the Grand Cathedral lit up at night. Stroll out the front door and sip a coffee siting on the cobblestone street, or dance the salsa down the curb to the music of and open-air restaurant.
I love this city and its people and have been coming for many years. I’ve stayed at other hotels, the Intercontinental, Hyatt and some smaller locations here. This is not a fancy business vacation hotel so don’t come with that kind of expectation. Think of a romantic slow pace, great food, relaxed comfort and gracious service and in the heart of the old city.

Room Tip: The rooms are nice and there several that have balconies that overlook the street scene. There are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesv913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedradeagua, Propietario at Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Google Translation
Mil disculpas por el atraso de nuestra respuesta , pero mil gracias por hospedarse con nosotros y hacer su evento de Boda con nosotros fue un placer concoerlos y atender a ustedes y a su familia que resultaros al final nuestros amigos ya que nos hicieron senrir su cariño y que estaban muy contentos con el servicio y con el hotel y con el equipo de colaboradores
nos encanto de verdad conocerlos y tenerlos en casa
fue una experiencia de vida que todos guardamos con mucho cariño y esperamos que regresen en su aniversario
les agradecemos sus comentarios

y esperamos vernos pronto

Saludos

Carlos Fernández R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at different hotel the first night which was just ok. We live in Playa Del Carmen and one day just said let's go. After our first night we stumbled upon this wonderful, authentic boutique hotel. It was in a perfect location and we lived it so much stayed four more days.
It has a lively small pool surrounded by a beautiful courtyard. The service is impeccable and we will be going back very soon. For the price it was probably the best value in a hotel I have had in years. Thank you to the staff and management of this Perfect boutique hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Howardto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedradeagua, Gerente at Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Google Translation
Gracias , por sus comentarios y por hospedarse con nosotros aquí en Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique estamos muy preocupados por dar excelente servicio y entrenar a la gente a hacer sentir a los huéspedes como en casa es por eso que tratamos de sorprender con los detalles en cada momento

por favor vuelvan pronto si viven en playa del Carmen esta es su Casa en Mérida

atentemante

Carlos Fernández R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

To the reviewers who complained about the small bathroom? Don't choose that room if you want a bigger bathroom. We looked at both and chose the junior suite with a big beautiful bathroom. It's your own fault if you fail to do the research. The staff was wonderful the hotel is charming and authentic and the location is perfect. For the money it's a steal. I was looking for the authorities on the way out thinking I just stole the room. Seriously folks, you are gonna love this lovely boutique hotel. We are traveling the country and this is really a great place to land!

Room Tip: Ask to see your suite first! They will oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedradeagua, Propietario at Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias por sus comentarios , en verdad las necesitamos
así es siempre hay opción de hospedarse en habitaciones con baño mas grande a veces la decisión es por el precio pero siempre confirmamos una vez que el huésped llego a la habitación si le pareció bien el tamaño del baño si no le pareció adecuado se le cambia de habitación .

Nuevamente Muchas Gracias y los esperamos Pronto

Carlos Fernández R
Propietario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We live in Tulum, needed to escape paradise and enjoy the colonial beauty of Merida. It is a very magical place not to be missed. We did not want to pre book a hotel, as we preferred to check a few places out. We stumbled upon Piedra de Agua while shopping at Minerali a gemstone shop just around the corner from the center. I walked in and instantly felt drawn to stay there as, it felt ALIVE. There was nice ambient music playing in the lobby, along with a very attentive reception staff, there to answer any questions you may have. As beautiful as some of the other hotels are, I found they lacked atmosphere, or felt a bit stiff, or stale.

We decided to stay there, in one of their standard rooms, and we LOVED it. We had a beautiful balcony that over looked the street, air conditioning of course, but you did not really need to use it if the balcony was open as it let in a lot of fresh air. The bed was uber comfortable with large fluffy pillows, on a king sized bed, with a lovely duvet. The decor was modern and very tasteful and the interior of the hotel was beautiful.

Do not miss out on the beautiful restaurant set in the back with a small pool to cool off in set in an area that is completely green walled. The restaurant has great service and nice drinks, The food is also great, the guacamole is served with freshly made tortillas chips which do not taste as if they were just fried from commercial tortillas but they are actually handmade tortillas then fried to perfection with a good sized serving of Guacamole food.

The only downside which did not bother me, but others may notice, was that the bathrooms were very small, although impeccably clean. The shower was great, with nice pressure and hot water, but the space between the toilet and the wall, was very small. My partner and I are not so tall, but I could only imagine if you were tall, it may be tricky. Keep in mind that could just be in the standard room.

I cannot wait for my next escape from paradise, I will definitely be staying in Piedra de Agua!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room that has a balcony that opens up to the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarleneMonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedradeagua, Propietario at Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por sus comentarios , sabemos que al estar en Tulum pueden regresar varias veces al año y nos encantara atenderlos y enseñarles los muchos cambios que hemos hecho con la finalidad de asegurar la calidad de servicio

les agradecemos mucho sus comentarios

atentamente

Carlos Fernández R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel provided a decent beginning to our trip through the Yucatan. Our initial impression of the hotel was really good based on the charming interior courtyard/dining area and we were excited to see how our room would look. The person who greeted us (I never got his name) when we checked in was so welcoming and helpful even throughout our entire stay. We stayed in a superior king room on the second level facing the street and we had no problems with noise since we kept the balcony shut and the loud AC running. When we opened the door to the room it was somewhat of a disappointment as it was pretty small and basic. As other reviewers have mentioned, the bathroom proved to be a nuisance due to it's unusually small size even for me (I'm 5'0). In fact, it was so small my knees would hit the wall in front of me when I was on the toilet. I really wish I took a photo so everyone can see what I mean. It would definitely be a huge problem for anyone taller than my small self. I also have to mention that the sheets and pillow cases, although laundered, were pretty stained. It grossed me out at first but then I decided to suck it up and be grateful for the moment and know that they are at least clean. After all, there could've been bigger problems like the AC not working or endless noise.

Based on location, price, service, and the room, I would say this hotel deserves a little more than an average rating. And, despite their minor shortcomings, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is pretty low maintenance yet wants a decent place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jenilynp08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedradeagua, Propietario at Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Google Translation
Le agradecemos sus comentarios y le pedimos mil disculpas por que en su estancia le asignaron una de las dos habitaciones de todo el hotel en donde los baños de estas habitaciones si son muy pequeñas ; nuestro edificio es un edificio de 1845 protegido por el INHA ( autoridades ) y no nos dejan mover muros ni espacios . sin embargo esto hace que uno se trasporte a esa época de la conquista de los españoles en Yucatán . lo invitamos a que regresen pronto y vean los cambios que hemos realizado y el entrenamiento de nuestro personal para asegurar que todos nuestros huéspedes salgan felices de hospedarse con nosotros .

los esperamos pronto

Carlos Fernández R
Propietarios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#28 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#44 of 103 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique

Property: Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle 60 # 498 61 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only boutique hotel in Merida's downtown. We have 20 suites with king size beds, queen size beds or twin beds. We offer all the boutique hotel services such as free parking, free WIFI in all the rooms, fitness center, restaurant and bar open from 7 am to 2 am, lounge and pool area, laundry service, tours and transportation service to all touristic attraction in the state. Besides we have a romantic underground wine cellar where we offer romantic gourmet dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing