We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and Comfort in Merida”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Ranked #11 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was fortunate to have stayed at the beautiful Hotel Hacienda last week while on a business trip in Merida. The hotel is elegant and charming with a friendly staff that was quite accommodating (providing a very early breakfast on departure day).
I found the room to be comfortable (decent bed, good AC and working WiFi) and the bathroom had a large shower head.
The 19th century architecture, artwork on the walls and welcoming swimming pool providing a relaxing ambiance. I even had time for a massage which the staff arranged and it was great!
The Hotel was within walking distance of the Plaza, shopping and restaurants.
My one suggestion would be to add one English language news channel to the cable system but that is a minor quibble to what was an outstanding stay. All in all, a great experience!

Room Tip: I noticed the room near the pool had a hammock. That might be a nice choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irv R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is a great place to stay. Location is perfect, rigth between the Plaza Grande and Paseo Montejo. Much better location than all the big brand hotels. Moreover this hancienda is cute. There is a nice small pool, and bar (breakfast service). Garden is great to relax in. Rooms are somewhat dark, which keeps the heat out and nicely decorated. Bathroom is basic.
Service was great! They even offered to drive our car to the parking lot. We stopped in front of the hotel, and they took care of the rest. Parking was totally for free, just ask the front desk. Massages are offered for a really good price. Certainly a recommendation!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dirk_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel IS uniquely beautiful and a blissful refuge when the day grows too hot. But what made this my favorite hotel of any was the treatment we received from the staff. Julio, the concierge, showed us 4 or 5 available rooms, allowing us to pick our favorite. He made sure we knew about every amenity--even coming out to where we were swimming in the pool late at night to ask if we would like to have our complimentary cocktails that we had forgotten (which were delicious). He had great recommendations for where to eat and what to see. Our stay at Hacienda Merida was a high point of our trip, and I would go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a small hotel with a small pool in an attractive central courtyard. Breakfast is served in this protected courtyard, over looking a small walled garden and the pool. It is about a 5 min walk to the central square in Merida where the cathedral sits. We felt perfectly safe walking from the hotel to the centre. Our room was number 1, which is ground floor level, about 20 metres from the pool, which worked out nicely as the hotel was quiet, and we had our own little lawn and 2 hammocks. Since the small no of guests staying were quiet, we were not disturbed by people swimming at night.
The room was a decent size with a big double bed, bathroom and shower -there was even a walk in cupboard to put your clothes in, with a safe. The hotel offers very reasonably priced massages. There is no restaurant. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The only criticism i have is the pool, which is not particularly clean, the water had that slightly milky green colour, which pool water has when not perfectly clean. There was no pump working to filter the water except for a v short time in the morning and were told the pool man nly came twice a week-they either need a robot working on the pool or a pump/filter working more. The levels of chlorine used seemed v high and we had very red eyes when swimming.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celiaann196700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

wonderful place in Merida. perfect to go in acouple, the romance is guarantee. our casita was beautiful ans soooo quite!. A/C is available in all the accomodation. you forget your are in the middle of the town, as if the place it was magic. we stayed there just to sleep becouse the area has too much to see, but going back after a day of excursion in such nice, confortable place was great

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

So confident, I am happy to right the review while still staying here! A gem of a hotel in a great city.

After a day touring thus bustling and full on town/city and the various treasures within , in 35-40C heat, the sanctuary of this hotel and second to none. Our room, whilst not one of the VIP rooms nor one on the upper floors overlooking the pool is spot-on. More than enough room, facilities a plenty and a great rain shower as well as the necessary air-con, which is welcome after a day out exploring. Add to that the serenity of the pool and garden, it is a winner.

Whilst many have mentioned it, the contrast between the hotel and the road outside is amazing. You do forget you are in the middle of town and only a short walk from the main square. So much so, that on leaving the hotel it is hard not to walk out in to the traffic!

Breakfast was great - continental, American or Mexican options available. and if yo rather eat out that are recommendations available (highly recommend the Café Chocolate fo an emergency fruit smoothie).

Would we come back...er, yes; without a doubt.

The only slight hiccup was the inability t find the car parking which involved about three trips around the one way system before we stopped, sprinted into reception and they pointed us in the right direction. It's just up on Calle 62 before the Hotel (just after the blue and white building).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Munchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

First of all let me say the owners Alex and Phillip are warm and charming. We did not feel as if we were paying guests, we felt like family. Our casita was more than comfortable , and I will say as gringos in the Merida afternoon heat we really appreciated our air conditioner. Each morning was started with a yummy breakfast served by Francisco. Our every need was met. In the evening Isaac always had a dinner recommendation that was always spot on. Calle 62 is quite a busy street, however behind the beautiful doors of Hacienda Merida you forget they are even there. My husband and I look forward to returning later this year.

Room Tip: We choose the VIP and we were completely happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.6 mi away
Merida Santiago Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 105 in Merida
1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.7 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Merida

Address: Calle 62, No. 439 Por 51 y 53 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £87 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hacienda Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the charming center of the city, Hotel Hacienda Merida is the ultimate high class boutique hotel and self-contained destination. It is an amazing haven of relaxation in the middle of one of Mexico's most vibrant cities. Discover exceptional history, great entertainment, rich culture, while enjoying the peacefulness of this colonial historical monument dating back to 1840. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing