We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Ranked #10 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This property was one of the highlights of our stay in Mexico. The accommodations in this restored hacienda were great. We stayed in the newer room in the rear. This was right next to their garden and next to the pool. In the midst of the city, this was remarkably quiet and had easy access to old buildings and walkable to many places. The proprietors were very knowledgeable, helpful, and gracious. The breakfasts were gourmet and adapted to a special diet. The happy hour was great... a free beer/wine/soda and some great conversation with other guests. The pool was a nice place to take a dip to cool off... but not a lap pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

A lovely little hotel 3 blocks from Merida’s main square. The name is not exactly accurate as this was never an hacienda nor does it have the size that comes with the implication of an hacienda. However, its construction style and lay out by the pool create a hacienda like atmosphere. The rooms are ample, well equipped and very clean. The personnel is very friendly and helpful.
Unless your breakfast is included, I’d suggest to take all your meals elsewhere, particularly if you’re interested in authentic Mexican cuisine (i.e. the tortillas are made of flour rather than corn and are bought in a bag in the supermarket rather than hand made). There is a wonderful restaurant just 2 blocks away called La Chaya, where the food, including breakfast, is excellent and authentic.
If you can, stay in Merida over the weekend as some streets are closed off and a nice fiesta ambiente lies in the air.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zoltan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

From welcome to farewell, this boutique hotel meets all the criteria for gaining more stars than it currently holds. It is situated very centrally in Merida, within easy walking distance of the tourist attractions and many restaurants and bars. The hotel itself is simply eight rooms set close to a pool with a loggia and garden which is also where breakfast is served. Two of the rooms overlook the pool and are well worth any premium but the other six overlook a rather dark courtyard. Whilst the rooms are well furnished with excellent bathrooms, some of the cushions and bed coverings could to with replacement. Sleep quality was excellent. Breakfast was very good indeed with freshly cooked a la carte food. There was also a small bar which was opened when you needed it. Sun loungers were provided around the pool. The young staff were excellent, both friendly and efficient. l would not hesitate to recomend this hotel to anybody staying in Merida.

Room Tip: Try to overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed for 5 days. Very very nice. Located in the older part of the city 5 blocks from the Main Plaza and cathedral. Many good restaurants within easy walk. We two had a large double room with 2 large comfortable beds, large modern bath (no tub), ample closet space, safe, A/C and Mexican TV. Quiet and peaceful setting. Wonderful staff, especially Franco who offered lots of info regarding sights, restaurants, markets, and city tours. Generous breakfasts are offered for an extra $5-8 USD depending on your choice of the Continental, Mexican or American menu. A refreshing pool is available and drinks from the bar are yummy. The very comfortable 4 hour bus trip from Cancun cost $17 USD each one way, dropping you at the main station, about a 10-minute cab ride (50 pesos/$4.10 USD) to the Hacienda. A wonderful choice for your Merida visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and nicely furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

After a few times round the one way system on carnival day we found the car park and entered the calm of the interior courtyard with a small pool and loungers. Our room on the first floor at the back of the hotel was simple and a bit dark but very acceptable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very well situated close to the historic centre and we very much enjoyed our two nights there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Hacienda Merida is just two or three blocks from city center. They have a few colorful rooms with en suite bathroom and aircon, a quiet patio with a garden and a pool, a lounge area and a bar. There is even a car park just 50 m away. The excellent breakfast, served in the patio, was not included in room rate, but very reasonably priced. Lovely drinks at the bar. Good service! Deserves a 100% recommendation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Only 8 rooms and the street and frontage belies this small hotel's rustic charm. The property is in the historic colonial heart of Merida, about ten minutes walk from the main square. We had Room 1 for 2 nights from which we could step onto our own patio with hammocks and then a few paces further to the small pool with seating and 4 sunbeds, a lovely place to cool off after a day's sightseeing. Run by a small number of staff and sometimes one has to wait for attention but they are obliging and friendly. Our room was spacious with a huge comfy bed, air con, ceiling fan, a walk in wardrobe and strong free wi-fi throughout. The bathroom is spacious with double sinks and a huge shower space. No evening dining which is no bad thing but a good either continental, American or Mexican breakfast is available. We left at 03,00 and they provided juice and croissants for us. There is a well stocked bar and the barman produces a mean Bloody Mary at a very reasonable price. Very enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.6 mi away
Merida Santiago hotel boutique
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 105 in Merida
1,024 reviews
1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
0.7 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Merida

Address: Calle 62, No. 439 Por 51 y 53 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £95 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hacienda Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the charming center of the city, Hotel Hacienda Merida is the ultimate high class boutique hotel and self-contained destination. It is an amazing haven of relaxation in the middle of one of Mexico's most vibrant cities. Discover exceptional history, great entertainment, rich culture, while enjoying the peacefulness of this colonial historical monument dating back to 1840. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing