We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience - Intimate and charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience - Intimate and charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel for the good reviews, location and beautiful design. My husband and I were very impressed upon arrival as the place was exactly as described!

I had requested room 3 since it was recommended by other guests and the hotel accommodated. There was also an issue with our flight and the fee was better through Travelocity than Expedia, causing me to change my reservation. The hotel was extremely accommodating and made certain that my reservation was accurate.

The street view is not impressive, but when you enter you realize the hotel is an oasis. Beautifully and carefully restored. All details are thoughtfully considered. We lounged in the pool during the day and in the evening we had a wonderful time chatting with the charming staff.

I would certainly return! Thank you for a quality experience!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank louryne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    106
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
74
277
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is like a cool oasis near the Zocalo in Merida. The room was large, with a large bathroom, and was a cool refuge in the middle of a hot Merida afternoon. Best of all, it's near the middle of the old, historic part of Merida, which means that you can park your car and leave it in the protected, free lot and just walk to wherever in town you want to go. There are a lot of interesting restaurants within walking distance, so you don't have to get the car out to go to eat. The information on the hotel says that there are no restaurants at the hotel (true), but they serve a wonderful breakfast in the morning (at extra cost) that enables you to eat on site. There was ample space in the room to spread out two large suitcases and a carry-on. (Not enough room to do that is one of my big travel gripes.) The air conditioner worked very well and the room was pretty and cheerful.

Room Tip: Ask for the room behind the pool if you are interested in using the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeepleWatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I had a fantastic 2 days at the Hacienda Merida. The staff were extremely helpful in advising me the area and also arranging taxis to specific locations I needed to get to. The room was fantastic & the location is really perfect, all the Merida essentials are within walking distance. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

For our Honeymoon, on June 2013, we spent two nights in this wonderful hotel in Merida. It was magical, like a little paradise. The rooms are so beautiful and the atmosphere is quiet with this amazing swimming pool and all the hamacs around.
All the team is really helpful and so kind and the owner is really nice too, he gave us good advices for visiting the city. The location of the hotel is great because it's a quiet place, next to the center of the city (5 min walk).
We keep a really good souvenir of this trip.
Thanks a lot
Emmanuel & Nathalie

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our favourite hotel on our trip to Mexico. The building is beautiful and we loved our room that was situated behind the pool - we even had two hammocks at the front! The room was a really good size, including a large robe and bathroom. There was even an English magazine in the room which was a really nice touch. The pool was lovely. We really enjoyed the breakfast and drinks before dinner. There is no restaurant at the hotel but it is close to several excellent restaurants, including Appoala and La Tratta at Santa Lucia Parque. The location is very good and the area very safe. There aren't many rooms at the hotel which is nice. It's also important to note that the staff here were excellent, very helpful and friendly. Its the type of place you just want to go back to, time and time again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The outside of this hotel does not do justice to the interior. It is located on a side street near the centre of Merida, so it is easy to walk to the cathedral, etc. The staff were all helpful and efficient and the property clean and well maintained.

Our room was a suite, so plenty of space with a separate dressing area, and a large balcony with chairs and hammocks. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom modern and spacious. The pool was small but welcoming with good sun beds and towels provided. Breakfast was good but not outstanding; it is served in the covered area to the side of the pool and garden. They do not serve any other meals, but I understand that the VIP sister hotel also serves dinner.
Several restaurants are within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Go for the suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Oregon
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This property was one of the highlights of our stay in Mexico. The accommodations in this restored hacienda were great. We stayed in the newer room in the rear. This was right next to their garden and next to the pool. In the midst of the city, this was remarkably quiet and had easy access to old buildings and walkable to many places. The proprietors were very knowledgeable, helpful, and gracious. The breakfasts were gourmet and adapted to a special diet. The happy hour was great... a free beer/wine/soda and some great conversation with other guests. The pool was a nice place to take a dip to cool off... but not a lap pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.5 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Merida

Property: Hotel Hacienda Merida
Address: Calle 62 No. 439 Por 51 Y 53 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hacienda Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the charming center of the city, Hotel Hacienda Merida is the ultimate high class boutique hotel and self-contained destination. It is an amazing haven of relaxation in the middle of one of Mexico's most vibrant cities. Discover exceptional history, great entertainment, rich culture, while enjoying the peacefulness of this colonial historical monument dating back to 1840. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing