We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
348
125
19
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
125
19
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squareswimming poolhuge bedan oasisbusy cityair confew blocksbreakfast is servedmexican breakfastsmall hotelloved meridavisiting meridawithin easy walking distancebeautiful hotelluxury hoteltown squaresanta lucia
Filter
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2008

My husband and I went to the hotel Hacienda Merida for our honeymoon... One word: AMAZING!!!!

Liked:
- Beautiful hotel. Colonial but with a mix of modern furniture and amazing art. The rooms are so cosy and very well decorated, we just loved them. Very clean, and spacious bathrooms. Loved the natural products (srub, shampoo, soap... all natural).
- Great location. Just a few blocks away from really restaurants and the main square, where there are activities all day and night (music, dancing, food...).
- Excellent service. Everyone made sure our stay was great, we even got a courtesy bottle of champagne for us to celebrate our honeymoon. We even met the owners of the hotel, who invited us for a drink in their beautiful home.
- Very affordable price!!! We really thought staying in such a hotel would have been overly expensive, considering the quality of the service, but it turns out this hotel is one of the best priced in Merida!

Disliked:
- Leaving!!!

We are now in Playa del Carmen, if only they could open a branch here!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Travel_All_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

A great place to stay. Quiet, comfortable, convenient, with an owner (Alex) that is truly involved in the day to day operation....not an absentee as you see so ofter. Alex has put together an exceptional staff, all are equally charming, courteous, and warm. Great people...all of them.

The suite we had was very large, a huge bathroom and a walk-in closet....imagine, a storage area in a hotel...what a concept!

Attractive grounds and a very nice pool.

The only minor issue I have is with the chairs...the metal backs are very uncomfortable.

Thank you Alex.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zaxmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

We stayed at the Hacienda Merida for three nights, at the end of September.

It was fantastic. We travel a lot for work, in big chain hotels, so on holiday, we look for something small, unique and stylish. We found all of these things here.

It was extremely sylish, minimalist in a way, with all the modern conveniences (eg wifi free), and yet had definite local flavour.

The pool, bar, breakfast area is lovely, so relaxing, and peaceful, but so close to the centre of town.

Breakfast was superb, not included, but very cheap, and a meal in iteslf - excellent hot or cold choices (only slight suggestion for improvement would be stronger/espresso-machine coffee as opposed to the cafetiere - but that's all we could fault in the whole stay!)

The room was stunning. Massive, with a balcony, two hammocks, view of the pool, large four poster bed, beautiful bathroom with toiletries. Just excellent.

The staff were very friendly and helpful - spot on.

Parking was dead easy. We were slightly worried that it wasn't hotel owned/right next door, but it was literally 50m walk away, had reserved (and covered) spaces for hotel guests - no hassle at all.

Merida is a very nice colonial town. Perhaps Oaxaca is more stunning, but we really liked the architecture and atmosphere here, great for a few days break. We loved Uxmal and Izamal as excursions too.

A great hotel, we hope to be back.

PS We thought the website looked too good to be true - not at all, it is EXACTLY as it looks.....

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

The hotel is well presented and decorated, looks cool but was much smaller than expected and the room seemed in need of a good clean. The staff were friendly enough and helpfull and location was good for exploring Merida, definitely providing a handy retreat from the noise and heat.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N7tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Great place and very quiet inside the hotel. Free parking located about a block from the hotel. Near lots of restaurants and the square. My husband was ill during our trip and the employees were great.. mostly all speaking English very well.. They directed me to the pharmacia and asked if we needed a doctor. Very nice place. Pool looks and feels great! Hotel is close to the festival so we could hear the music (it wasn't too loud). We stayed in the room on the 2nd floor that overlooked the pool. Sweet room!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sachia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews