We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of service and peace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2009

The Hotel is located a little bit (3 blocks) north of the city center and from the outside it looks nothing special. Once in two things happened. The extremely friendly staff made us feel at home and it suddenly became very quiet. Luggage was taken care of, we were shown the place to the parking area and everybody did all he could to make us feel good. There is a small indoor area with reception and bar (good service, low prices) and a big patio with a nice swimming pool. Along the patio breakfast was served for a relativelly small amount and good quality (special wishes were no problem). We had a room in the second building and even though in the middle of Merida, the Hotel was quiet all the time. The room was spacious and clean and the bath was something to write home about. Amenities were freely given.
The best feature of this hotel was the staff. We had some problems with our rental car and the staff did take great care of this. Also they are pretty good in giving you advice what to do, where to eat...., all those things a traveller is thankful for. Merida is a good place to start a Yucatan roundtrip and I strongly recommend driving the 1-1.5 hours over to the Flaminos. Be careful, night driving in the small towns can be adventurous.
And after a long day on hot and dry roads the hotel was perfect to lie a bit in the patio, enjoy the pool and a cold beer.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2009

A really nice hide-away in the middle of Merida. A quiet hotel with only 8 rooms. It has a nice communal area with a pool, different chairs and a bar. The staff was really friendly. The room was nice, with a very big rain-shower.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilde79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Great small boutique hotel. We stayed for 7 days and wish we had more time in Merida and at the Hotel Hacienda Merida. The hotel is only 8 rooms but all the conveniences, on site massages even! All rooms are at the back of a beautifully landscaped hacienda garden and pool so they are quiet. Many small hotels in Merida have rooms on the street and can be noisy. No problem here. Even with all rooms full you feel like you are in your own personal villa and not a hotel. Coming in after a day of sightseeing was like entering a private oasis. Location is very good, between the central square and the activities up on Paseo de Montejo and Parque de Santa Lucia. Good breakfasts poolside, bar and snacks in evening. Owner or his sister are on premises most all time and very informative and friendly. Very romantic....

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DrDanzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Very Nice Hotel
Sorry to hear about the previous persons experience.
We had no problems at all.
The room was great, plenty of hot water, breakfast was OK
The staff were great, at breakfast the owners daughter who worked the front, made a point of asking each guest how there stay was and offered to help with almost anything.
I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kurt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Our stay here was horrible. This stay ruined our family (wife, baby, in-laws) vacation. There was no hot water while staying there, my mother in-law’s bracelet disappeared, and the rooms I reserved and confirmed on-line where changed (room facing the pool) when I checked in. Not having hot water during our entire stay there was related to a part according to the manager. Each day that went by was the same excuse and the same promise that it was going to be fixed. Due to these daily promises we had no other choice but to tolerate not taking showers at times or taking cold showers (especially when all five of us got sick with food poising). The day I had enough was when my baby got sick with diarrhea which got her very dirty, I had no choice but to give her a cold shower which broke our heart due to her tears and cry that where related to the cold water. I asked the front desk to speak to the owner which she called him on the phone. When I spoke to him about the problem he told me it was a city problem and that all of the hotels had the same problem. I told him that was hard to believe and that I was going to look into the truth of his statement. I then told him that I shouldn’t have to pay the full price of staying here after having so many issues with my stay. He offered to discount 20% off my stay. My question to you is this, are you willing to go through what we went through for 20% off your bill?

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank LongBeach_CATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Merida, Manager at Hotel Hacienda Merida, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2009

Dear costumer,

We are sincerely sorry that your stay in our establishment has not fulfilled your expectations. Indeed, due to a water supply problem of the city, we were in the impossibility to deliver hot water to our clients during a period of approximately 12 hours. We tried to compensate this incommodity by granting you a 20% rebate on your stay, which represents practically one free night on the four spent.

We are also sorry that certain family members of yours were sick during your stay. We have communicated with the restaurant you had been to, and informed them that a few of our guests had been sick after eating in their establishment.

As for the bracelet, you did tell us that the object may have been forgotten in our hotel, for which reason we mobilized all of our personal in order to researched this item.

The satisfaction of our costumers is our priority. Once again, we are sincerely sorry that your stay has not leved to your expectations.

Warmest Regards,

The Direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2008

My husband and I went to the hotel Hacienda Merida for our honeymoon... One word: AMAZING!!!!

Liked:
- Beautiful hotel. Colonial but with a mix of modern furniture and amazing art. The rooms are so cosy and very well decorated, we just loved them. Very clean, and spacious bathrooms. Loved the natural products (srub, shampoo, soap... all natural).
- Great location. Just a few blocks away from really restaurants and the main square, where there are activities all day and night (music, dancing, food...).
- Excellent service. Everyone made sure our stay was great, we even got a courtesy bottle of champagne for us to celebrate our honeymoon. We even met the owners of the hotel, who invited us for a drink in their beautiful home.
- Very affordable price!!! We really thought staying in such a hotel would have been overly expensive, considering the quality of the service, but it turns out this hotel is one of the best priced in Merida!

Disliked:
- Leaving!!!

We are now in Playa del Carmen, if only they could open a branch here!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Travel_All_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

A great place to stay. Quiet, comfortable, convenient, with an owner (Alex) that is truly involved in the day to day operation....not an absentee as you see so ofter. Alex has put together an exceptional staff, all are equally charming, courteous, and warm. Great people...all of them.

The suite we had was very large, a huge bathroom and a walk-in closet....imagine, a storage area in a hotel...what a concept!

Attractive grounds and a very nice pool.

The only minor issue I have is with the chairs...the metal backs are very uncomfortable.

Thank you Alex.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zaxmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 105 in Merida
1,014 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 105 in Merida
446 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#20 of 105 in Merida
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Merida

Address: Calle 62, No. 439 Por 51 y 53 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £96 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hacienda Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the charming center of the city, Hotel Hacienda Merida is the ultimate high class boutique hotel and self-contained destination. It is an amazing haven of relaxation in the middle of one of Mexico's most vibrant cities. Discover exceptional history, great entertainment, rich culture, while enjoying the peacefulness of this colonial historical monument dating back to 1840. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing