We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Oasis, Thanks to Alex and Hotel Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
1 review
“Awesome Oasis, Thanks to Alex and Hotel Staff”
Reviewed 2 April 2009

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights and everything from the beginning to the end was fantastic. Simply put, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the location was close to all major restaurants and tourist areas without the extravagant tourist prices that usually go along with location. Parking was easy location from hotel. Very clean rooms, great pool area, bar onsite for daytime/nightime pina coladas. The courtyard with the pool and lawn area was an Oasis in a busy city. Steve Hughes, Denver, Colorado, USA

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans64Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    110
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
76
284
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Hacienda Merida 1/17-21/09. The rooms were large, well appointed, comfortable and surprisingly quiet given its location on busy Calle 62. It is an excellent location, just a few blocks from the main zocalo and easy walking distance to interesting sites and some fantastic restaurants. They include free parking at a lot just down the street from the hotel, and also had decent wifi service.

Staff were very attentive and helpful, and the courtyard and hammocks on the terraces/balconies were great for chilling out after a day of exploring Merida. They also have a masseuse on site during the week and the courtyard massage was very relaxing (and very inexpensive).

An earlier review mentioned problems with hot water during their January visit. This was an issue on the first night that we arrived. Management made us aware of the situation - it had to do with construction in the area and HMM was not the only location affected. They assured us they were working to correct it ASAP and by the next afternoon, we had plenty of hot water and temp/water pressure was not an issue during the rest of our stay.

We would definitely stay here again and would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Merida!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnIslandTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norddeutschland
Level Contributor
797 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

The Hotel is located a little bit (3 blocks) north of the city center and from the outside it looks nothing special. Once in two things happened. The extremely friendly staff made us feel at home and it suddenly became very quiet. Luggage was taken care of, we were shown the place to the parking area and everybody did all he could to make us feel good. There is a small indoor area with reception and bar (good service, low prices) and a big patio with a nice swimming pool. Along the patio breakfast was served for a relativelly small amount and good quality (special wishes were no problem). We had a room in the second building and even though in the middle of Merida, the Hotel was quiet all the time. The room was spacious and clean and the bath was something to write home about. Amenities were freely given.
The best feature of this hotel was the staff. We had some problems with our rental car and the staff did take great care of this. Also they are pretty good in giving you advice what to do, where to eat...., all those things a traveller is thankful for. Merida is a good place to start a Yucatan roundtrip and I strongly recommend driving the 1-1.5 hours over to the Flaminos. Be careful, night driving in the small towns can be adventurous.
And after a long day on hot and dry roads the hotel was perfect to lie a bit in the patio, enjoy the pool and a cold beer.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

A really nice hide-away in the middle of Merida. A quiet hotel with only 8 rooms. It has a nice communal area with a pool, different chairs and a bar. The staff was really friendly. The room was nice, with a very big rain-shower.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilde79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Great small boutique hotel. We stayed for 7 days and wish we had more time in Merida and at the Hotel Hacienda Merida. The hotel is only 8 rooms but all the conveniences, on site massages even! All rooms are at the back of a beautifully landscaped hacienda garden and pool so they are quiet. Many small hotels in Merida have rooms on the street and can be noisy. No problem here. Even with all rooms full you feel like you are in your own personal villa and not a hotel. Coming in after a day of sightseeing was like entering a private oasis. Location is very good, between the central square and the activities up on Paseo de Montejo and Parque de Santa Lucia. Good breakfasts poolside, bar and snacks in evening. Owner or his sister are on premises most all time and very informative and friendly. Very romantic....

  • Liked — Private oasis and location
  • Disliked — needs clothing drawers or shelves in rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDanzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Very Nice Hotel
Sorry to hear about the previous persons experience.
We had no problems at all.
The room was great, plenty of hot water, breakfast was OK
The staff were great, at breakfast the owners daughter who worked the front, made a point of asking each guest how there stay was and offered to help with almost anything.
I would not hesitate to return.

  • Liked — Very relaxing
  • Disliked — The pipes(?) rattled when other guests had showers
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kurt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Our stay here was horrible. This stay ruined our family (wife, baby, in-laws) vacation. There was no hot water while staying there, my mother in-law’s bracelet disappeared, and the rooms I reserved and confirmed on-line where changed (room facing the pool) when I checked in. Not having hot water during our entire stay there was related to a part according to the manager. Each day that went by was the same excuse and the same promise that it was going to be fixed. Due to these daily promises we had no other choice but to tolerate not taking showers at times or taking cold showers (especially when all five of us got sick with food poising). The day I had enough was when my baby got sick with diarrhea which got her very dirty, I had no choice but to give her a cold shower which broke our heart due to her tears and cry that where related to the cold water. I asked the front desk to speak to the owner which she called him on the phone. When I spoke to him about the problem he told me it was a city problem and that all of the hotels had the same problem. I told him that was hard to believe and that I was going to look into the truth of his statement. I then told him that I shouldn’t have to pay the full price of staying here after having so many issues with my stay. He offered to discount 20% off my stay. My question to you is this, are you willing to go through what we went through for 20% off your bill?

  • Liked — style
  • Disliked — owner
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank LongBeach_CATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda_Merida, Manager at Hotel Hacienda Merida, responded to this review, 31 January 2009
Dear costumer,

We are sincerely sorry that your stay in our establishment has not fulfilled your expectations. Indeed, due to a water supply problem of the city, we were in the impossibility to deliver hot water to our clients during a period of approximately 12 hours. We tried to compensate this incommodity by granting you a 20% rebate on your stay, which represents practically one free night on the four spent.

We are also sorry that certain family members of yours were sick during your stay. We have communicated with the restaurant you had been to, and informed them that a few of our guests had been sick after eating in their establishment.

As for the bracelet, you did tell us that the object may have been forgotten in our hotel, for which reason we mobilized all of our personal in order to researched this item.

The satisfaction of our costumers is our priority. Once again, we are sincerely sorry that your stay has not leved to your expectations.

Warmest Regards,

The Direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
433 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
997 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#22 of 103 in Merida
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Merida

Property: Hotel Hacienda Merida
Address: Calle 62, No. 439 Por 51 y 53 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hacienda Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the charming center of the city, Hotel Hacienda Merida is the ultimate high class boutique hotel and self-contained destination. It is an amazing haven of relaxation in the middle of one of Mexico's most vibrant cities. Discover exceptional history, great entertainment, rich culture, while enjoying the peacefulness of this colonial historical monument dating back to 1840. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing