We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful home base!”
other travellers have booked this property
The courtyard with pool and Chac-Mool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The courtyard with pool and Chac-Mool
Casa Lola at night The Spanish bedroom, with hand wrought Queen iron bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The courtyard with pool and Chac-Mool
Casa Lola at night
The Spanish bedroom, with hand wrought Queen iron bed
Perfect for reading, or napping.  Ikat lounge chair
Refreshing private pool -  5 feet deep, ledge for sitting
Fabulous Moroccan bed and lights.
Interesting old wall
Fully equipped kitchen with gas range
lovely antiques....who knows what history they can tell
Paseo de Montejo
The entryway looking down the arched walls through the house
Amazing light in the Moroccan room.
View from patio over looking pool
Dining outside anyone?  Comfy cushions on the chairs.....room for 8
Dining and lounging outdoor area
Lovely Indigo and white living room, complete with entertainment systems
Lovely hand made console
Spanish room en-suite bathroom with door to patio
Moroccan room en-suite bathroom
Large showers....big enough for 2
Relax in the living area
Dining room looking back towards the kitchen & patio
Lovely dining room for four to dine, with antique armoire in background
Lovely spot to have your morning coffee?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Merida, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Karen S
Windham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful home base!”
Reviewed 30 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying at Casa Lola for a week! It was perfectly situated close to the historic center of Merida where we spent most of our time. We also used it as a base to rent a car and go to Chichen Itza, Uxmal, Valladolid and several cenotes. The home couldn't be more beautiful and comfortable. Everything we needed plus interesting art in every nook. And of course, we loved to cool off in the pool every afternoon. We hope to return!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thanks Kari for your lovely review. We would love to have you stay again any time. We love it when guests enjoy our home, and glad you enjoyed your trip to Merida. Janis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire R
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, calm, relaxing...and near everything!”
Reviewed 18 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Casa Lola for our honeymoon, visiting all the way from London, UK.

After lots of research, we settled on Casa Lola for its central location in the old town and how beautiful it looked in the pictures: we were not disappointed! The whole place is beautifully decorated, with something interesting to catch your eye in every corner. The owners have great taste and a real eye for interiors.

Yesenia and her partner were very kind, meeting us early to let us in and at the end of the phone if we ever needed anything. Even lateish at night when there was a short power cut! (it was only ten minutes by the way, no big deal at all, and only happened once in two weeks). They gave us some nice recommendations, maps, and there was even a mobile phone to use.

We went during a cooler season, so didn't really use the aircon, the fans were plenty to keep us comfortable. We relaxed by the pool in the afternoon, and enjoyed coffee and breakfast each morning in the lovely back terrace, which is completely private. There is a school next door, so you can hear children playing out, but that was actually quite atmospheric. If you wanted to drown it out, you could turn on the fountains in the pool. There are usually jets and lights apparently too, but they were due to be fixed right after we left I think.

The kitchen was really well equipped, you could easily have made a pretty elaborate meal in it. Good knives, pots, pans etc, plus little things like a big pestle and mortar, colanders, peelers etc. You can tell it actually gets used by all the kit they have.

The beds were so so incredibly comfy, we slept amazingly well. We were in the back bedroom near the pool, which was very quiet, but you get more noise in the other bedroom. You are in the centre of town, so a bit of street noise is to be expected.

We really enjoyed the hammock, on the terrace and the traditional twin wooden rocking/deck chairs for snoozing and reading. There are lots of mosquitoes though, so make sure you pack a good repellent. They had incense you could burn, which was quite effective, but difficult to keep going. Maybe some citronella candles would be nice as well?

The bathrooms were really luxurious, with huge walk in showers and an ample supply of big soft towels. I had to figure out the pump system, and the boiler had to be on a little while with the water running for a few minutes, but once you did that, you could have a top notch hot shower.

We did laundry there a couple of times and hung it out on the retractable line. The washing machine was really handy, even if it was a little nerve wracking not quite understanding the settings in Spanish. Nothing shrank though, and a cold wash was fine to freshen everything up.

The only real frustration we had was the wifi, which was quite patchy. They have a big TV with Netflix all set up, so it was disappointing to not be able to get reliable streaming, and the cable tv didn't seem to work for us. On the odd evenings we wanted to snuggle up and watch a film this was a bit of a shame.The wifi worked fine about 60% of the time though, and I guess if you are coming to Casa Lola to browse facebook you might be missing the point!

Location was amazing, everything we wanted to do in Merida itself was within walking distance, and beyond that we were always able to get an uber. We took several day trips with Lawson's tours, who we'd also highly recommend. In Merida we particularly loved the restaurants on Santa Lucia square, which was a few minutes walk away. You're also not far from the grand Paseo Montejo with all its colonial houses and lovely little bars and cafes. Lots of little places for breakfast and lunch nearby too, as well as markets and craft shops.

Loved the cantinas nearby as well, particularly El Cardenal, for drinks and snacks. We also loved Estado Seco and Pancho's, which we avoided at first as we thought it would be a bit touristy, but had such a great terrace and lovely service.

We stocked up with a big food shop at Walmart on the first day (very exotic for us Brits!), but we topped up for things like milk, coffee and bread with the local smaller grocery stores easily throughout our stay.

But back to Casa Lola: It was always so wonderful to come back to after whatever adventures we had had during the day, and was a real oasis of calm and luxury. I am so grateful to have been able to call it home for a couple of weeks, it was absolutely enchanting. I would recommend it to anyone, and it's perfect for either a solo couple or two couples travelling together. Thanks so much for having us in your home!

Claire & Sean

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2018
Thank you Claire and Sean. We were so happy that you stayed at our home, and enjoyed it for your honeymoon. It sounds like you had a wonderful and relaxing time.
Since your stay, we have put in a timed pool pump which takes care of the pool, and pool jets, and added some new plants for the back garden, and a few more antique items.
We find the wifi extender helps with the wifi in the back bedroom, and outside sitting area, and wifi is not a problem there now, and also great in the kitchen and front bedroom.
CItronella candles are a great idea for those pesky mosquitos. We usually provide some spray, and coils which can help too. We are always trying to think of how to make it easier and convenient for our guests so your comments are very helpful.
Thank you for your wonderful review - we would love to have you stay anytime. Janis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
206djl
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous !!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I stayed with family for 10 days. This is my second visit here and it was even more lovely than i remembered. Close to the center of town and many restaurants. The owners have provided menus and maps to many that they have enjoyed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L
1 review
“Beautiful Hot Box”
Reviewed 18 November 2017 for a stay in July 2015

House was clean and well-kept with a beautiful yard. Management was great. We went during a very hot period and AC was marginal at best. House has no airflow through it. It was easily 90 degrees F with the air conditioning on.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2017
Thank you John for your review. It was a very hot summer, and it seems that during your stay,in July, our air conditioners were in need of some repair as they were in constant use. We have since done that, and our property managers will be checking them regularly. The house has glass doors at the front to keep the noise down, but we have decided to open up the tops of the doors and windows to increase air flow in the house. The gorgeous back doors as you know can be completely opened so that should address that issue. Thank you for your comments on the house's beauty and the back courtyard - it is truly lovely and we take pride in its decor. Janis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
periodont...
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Merida jewel”
Reviewed 11 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A very well appointed, beautiful and particularly well located restored colonial home. The 2 bedrooms are completely separate with very lovely master bath off each - perfect for couples traveling together. The pool in the beautiful garden was perfect on those stifling hot afternoons with the waterfall adding an extra special ambiance. The kitchen has everything you will need to eat in, although the restaurants within easy walking distance are wonderful. The street is busy but the house is amazingly quiet with 2 foot thick Spanish colonial walls easily buffering the hub bub. The foot traffic is busy during the day but always friendly and cheery. Safety was never a concern. Cultural events or Fiestas in the main plazas every night are wonderful and fun for the whole family. Merida is a fabulous Mexican immersion experience with Casa Lola providing the sugar on the churro. Light sleepers take the inside bedroom if the lovely sound of children congregating in the early morning bothers you but we enjoyed it. The Wifi was a bit challenging on the pool side of the back patio and poolside bedroom but perfect in the house. Aaron and Yesenia were so kind and helpful and how nice to have makings for breakfast in the fridge after a late arrival . A real gem!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2017
Thank you Dorothy for your kind words. We are so happy you loved our home in Merida. We do have a WIfi extender to improve the signal in the back bedroom but I do understand that it was hidden behind a chair so difficult to find when you arrived. I'm happy you enjoyed the back garden and pool, and were so happy with Merida. It is a gem for sure. Kindest regards, Janis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MexChilan...
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Lovely home!!”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Lola. It's a 2 bedroom home (bedrooms are separated, one accessible from the outdoor oasis). It was a lovely stay and they left us a bottle of wine and basics in the fridge for our stay (milk, sugar, etc.). The house is spacious and the pool was perfect after a long hot day in the sun. Walking distance to everything.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimberlyl...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect sanctuary set in a historical paradise. 6 stars!!”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We can not say enough positive things about Casa Lola. Our mouths literally dropped open in amazement at first peek through the door. After a day long journey we were blown away by this beautiful Casa . Amazingly decorated , spotlessly clean, charming beyond belief. You can tell the owners love their home away from home. You won't be dissaponted, we guarantee it.Honestly it was truly hard to leave. Merida is a gem , full of culture, art, music, great food and the best of all, the people. We had an unforgettable time there. Imagine floating around in the lovely pool at night just staring at the stars. Words can't describe it. Just go, trust us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location is great, beautiful and clean.
Liked least: Nothing bad at all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing