We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful choice in Merida”
Review of Hotel Julamis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Julamis
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Alex was a wonderful, thorough host. He started off by giving me maps, (homemade) of the city, and another great one that was very thorough. He listed anything/everything that you could want on it! The breakfast, yes, gourmet, and always entertaining with his banter and jokes. It's amazing that he runs the place himself. Yes, he has a fascinating life history, and his quite humble about his hand that touches most of the Yucatan/Quintana Roo tourist industry! It's quite amazing that he even has time to run the hotel.

The room and bed were super comfortable and ultra clean. I felt so comfortable there, and would love to lay on the rooftop and read and just daydream. It was in the perfect locale, a quiet street, but still easy walking distance to everything you need.

He went out of his way to book things for me and bargain as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

OK, you can check into one of those big box places and you won't know whether you are in Merida or Minneapolis. Instead, stay at Hotel Julamis. It's in the wonderful historic area of Merida. It has such a great sense of the city. Our room (Corazon) was spotless and the terrace a bonus.

Alex Rudin is a most gracious and competent host, so helpful and thoughtful. I'm sure our experience was better by far because we were wise enough to listen to his advice. And eat his fabulous breakfasts! Yumm.

BTW, just one tiny cautionary note, if you're sensitive to insect bites, do remember to bring along some spray. It's the tropics, people, the insects rule!

When we return to Merida you can take it to the bank that we'll be staying at Hotel Julamis.

Room Tip: Loved Corazon, but I'm sure the others were equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cachevalley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel was a highlight in a vacation full of highlights. Can only agree with the other 5 star reviews. Alex Rudin is funny, entertaining, fabulous chef, and the most congenial of hosts. The hotel was lovely, rooms pleasant, comfortable, and very quiet. The breakfasts in the central courtyard spoiled us for all other hotel experiences. Fresh croissants, home made jams, etc.
We split our trip so that we stayed 2 nights, toured out from Merida, and then returned for 5 more nights. Stayed in 2 different rooms because of that...Room Tekit and Room Corazon. Our friends stayed in The Colonial Suite. Be sure to check out the rooms on the hotel web site...they are each lovely and offer different features. We would go back to Merida in a heart beat, but ONLY if we can stay in Alex's lovely hotel.

Room Tip: We especially liked Room Corazon with its large private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara2129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I just wanted to add my voice to those praising Hotel Julamis. We spent 4 nights with charming and entertaining master hosteler Alex Rudin at his 9 room hotel about 6 blocks from the center of the city. He would personally prepare a lovely multi-course breakfast each morning where we could visit with the other guests we had met at the (included) nightly rooftop tequila tasting. Then he would ask our plans and tell us how to get there and what to see. When we checked in he gave us his card and cell phone number and instructed us to call him FIRST if we had any problems while traveling in the area (which we did not - very safe and easy to use city).
As you will find when you chat with Alex he has an incredible life story, a warm personality, a great sense of humor, and can speak with you in impeccable Spanish, English, German, Swiss (and I'm sure several other languages I don't possess). All of this for $60 USD!!!
I will always consider Hotel Julamis my home in Merida!

Room Tip: Check the website or E-Mail Alex to discuss your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lap_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

...that hasn't already been said in hundreds of other reviews of Hotel Julamis? It's charming, comfortable and clean, and Alex is a gem of a host. The amenities, from the organic toiletries to the free tequila to the wonderful gourmet breakfasts, are unparalleled. Add my voice to the chorus of other Trip Advisors who say this is the BEST hotel in Merida!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiVi0547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We went to Merida as part of our road trip through Yucatan and stayed at the Hotel Julamis for only two nights. Alex, the Swiss owner of that place, made this the best stay of our entire trip. He's always there, always helpful with recommendations of what to see, where to go for dinner and even left us his number to call him any time should we encounter some problem on our trip. Each night he's offering free tequilas on the roof top terrace - a great chance to share experiences with the other guests. We met great people and always stayed longer up there than initially planned, thus being quite late for dinner every night.
The highlight each day though was the gourmet breakfast: Alex prepared it individually each morning and served three courses you won't find anywhere else for breakfast.
The hotel is in walking distance to all the sights, bars and restaurants of lovely Merida. Our room was nice and comfortable, very clean with a big and bright window overlooking the courtyard.
If we return to Merida, we'll surely book again at the Hotel Julamis.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Tigre_con_Puntos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

If you desire a quiet, personal and unique boutique hotel in a great Merida location, this is where you should stay. Alex is the chef/owner who embodies the personality and soul of the place. Accommodations are comfortable, affordable, great atmosphere and a gourmet breakfast that changes daily cooked by him.
Each evening Alex offers free drinks on the rooftop which affords travelers an opportunity to share experiences with others in addition to a great sunset. We had the best time talking to fellow travelers up there. In fact, that was one of the highlights of our trip.
Alex makes himself available for his clientele and a traveler couldn’t ask for more. If we return to Merida we’ll book here.

Room Tip: The Colonial Room had a bright, large sitting room with a kitchenette, in addition to a large bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gooddimsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 105 in Merida
1,034 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merida Santiago Hotel Boutique
1.1 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.5 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#12 of 105 in Merida
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julamis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julamis

Address: Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#10 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range: £28 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julamis is an urban affordable retreat located within Merida’s Historic District where its personalized service will meet up your expectations and guide your daring explorations throughout Yucatan’s Mayan world, ecological reserves and tranquil beaches. The hotel is composed of two floors accommodating one master suite and 6 standard guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, A/C and mini bars. There is a central courtyard with a lush garden where a complementary… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Julamis Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing