We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Just Can't Find Better Lodging in Merida”
Review of Hotel Julamis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Julamis
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“You Just Can't Find Better Lodging in Merida”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

It is often difficult to live up to rave reviews, but this place does just that. There are new owners, and Alex (and Mary) are attentive to every detail of your stay. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable, and the frig stocked with water, soft drinks, and beer every day was an unexpected luxury. Alex is a trained Swiss chef, and delights in serving gourmet breakfasts...different every day. He makes his own croissants, and you've never tasted a more delicious version. The croissants and sweet breads are accompanied with fresh fruits (often blueberries, raspberries and strawberries!), juice and delicious brewed organic coffee, served in the patio of hanging vines and flowers and a floor of hand-painted tiles a hundred or more years old. The second course is an egg dish or similar. One day we had omlettes with Alex's homemade sausages. Another day we had Duck filled crepes and, on a third day, his version of Mexican Moussaka . We kept getting surprised by his creative morning delights. Every evening Alex serves a variety of Tequilas on the uppermost rooftop deck where you can meet the many interesting guests, watch the sunset and hear the squawking parrots settle down in the nearby trees. At night, the hallways are lighted with sparkling candles and lamps....all very romantic. Alex is on hand all the time to book tours, answer questions, direct you to his, and then your, favorite restaurants, mark up maps on how to get in/out of Merida without too much traffic, or find your favorite team football or soccer game on the TV. It is hard to imagine a more perfect location...close enough to the center (about 5 blocks over safe streets), but far enough to not hear loud traffic or music from nearby bars. The location is a bit hard to find, but GoogleMaps got us there without any wrong turns. Parking is safe, on the street, and usually not too difficult to find. You will want to leave the car and walk to all the museums and restaurants, because the streets are narrow and busy in the tourist areas. This is a delightful lodging choice, a good value, in a fascinating historical city, and any room would be a winner. It books up far in advance, so think ahead a few months.

Room Tip: We only saw Kabah, but it was quite special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocotillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    59
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
51
443
65
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed a total of five nights (Jan 26-Feb1)and everything was perfect from start to finish. Alex, the owner goes above and beyond to make sure that everyone is well taken care of. We started each day with the included breakfast served in the downstairs courtyard. Alex was knowledgeable and very helpful in answering all of our questions, helping with arrangements, or just suggesting great places to eat.
The hotel building is 225 years old and has be decorated in a way that maintains the old atmosphere, but still offers the conveniences we like. Our room was kept spotless by his staff and a complimentary in room fridge was restocked daily. The location was an easy walk to the Centro Tourist areas and every thing else we wanted to see. We will be staying here again when we next visit Merida.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EskimoAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This small hotel is one of the planet's true gems. Alex, the owner, does everything he can to make your stay a memorable one. The rooms are spotless, and the breakfasts, prepared by Alex, are better than words can say. The croissants are made from scratch every day, the orange juice is freshly squeezed. The hotel is in easy walking distance of much of what you will want to see in Merida, and the town itself is one of the high lights of Mexico, filled with wonderful food, music and joy. There is only one drawback: this place is booked far out in advance....currently booked through May. This is a Don't Miss place.

Room Tip: I'm kidding about the Fitness Center. There isn't one, except the steps up to the roof top d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa fe, new mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Alex should be holding seminars on how to run a successful hotel. He covers all the bases. His breakfasts, included in the room rate, are delicious, healthy and beautifully presented, his hotel is warm, inviting, convenient, clean, romantic, attractive and small. He pours a good tequila on the roof at sunset to start your evening and stays in touch with each guest to make sure their needs are met, indeed surpassed. This is a rare convergence of goodness...take advantage of it soon and often is our plan.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redchile2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Alex is a great cook and we didn't have better breakfasts anywhere else in Mexico. The rooms are tasteful and quiet, and there's a remarkable roof deck with a great view (and courtesy tequila--much appreciated). The hotel is close to a number of good restaurants and bars and a short walk to Ave. 60 and the main square (10 minutes). Alex is extremely generous and offered all his guests a beautiful New Year's buffet and endless bubbly on the roof deck: now how's that for hospitality? Very heartily recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiuseppeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very convenient location. Simple, basic, clean rooms in an attractive old building. A rooftop terrace for sunset watching. Breakfasts in the courtyard a high point. Best of all, your host (and chef) Alex will make your stay fun and memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in Kekik, in the back of the building away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

No need to look any further for the perfect hotel in Merida. My fiancé and I stayed at Julamis for 6 nights, and we couldn't have been happier to have found this gem. The rooms we stayed in were absolutely lovely; Alex, the owner, accommodated our stay by switching our rooms after a few nights. The location is perfect, and the breakfasts made by Alex can't be beat. He was beyond hospitable during our entire stay. He even drove us to a taxi stand at 4:30 in the morning when our taxi didn't show up for our ride to the airport! If we ever have the pleasure of returning to Merida again, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We loved Room Ixil!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.1 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julamis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julamis

Property: Hotel Julamis
Address: Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#10 Business Hotel in Merida
#21 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julamis is an urban affordable retreat located within Merida’s Historic District where its personalized service will meet up your expectations and guide your daring explorations throughout Yucatan’s Mayan world, ecological reserves and tranquil beaches. The hotel is composed of two floors accommodating one master suite and 6 standard guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, A/C and mini bars. There is a central courtyard with a lush garden where a complementary… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Julamis Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing