We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary service in a lovely setting!”
Review of Hotel Julamis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Julamis
Ranked #6 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed 5 days at Hotel Julamis, choosing to visit Merida and surrounds after family time on the Caribbean side of the peninsula. We chose the hotel based on reviews and the lovely photos posted by both the owners and visitors. We wanted an intimate hotel that would show us a bit of Merida's hidden side, what goes on behind closed doors; thus Hotel Julamis, with it's high ceilings, lovely plantings and Mexican vibe. The rooms are varied and distinct, and each unique. We stayed in Ixil. The room was spacious, with lovely hand painted murals and original tile floors, high ceilings, fridge and huge closet. Of course, I had to make sure we had the best room, so any room with a key was fair game, and others could be viewed with a bit of guile. All are lovely, tastefully decorated and impeccable.

I was initially concerned that the hotel would be noisy, given the prime location, but once evening settled in it was quiet; a pleasant surprise. Julamis is close to the center in a very walkable city. We had a car and were nervous about driving in Merida, but directions from Alex to the hotel were precise and we drove into the center and found the hotel easily. Street parking was accessible and trips in and out were not difficult in a city with a very workable grid system.

We enjoyed many things about our stay here, but mostly I think it was the company of our host, and fellow guests. Julamis encourages long term stays from adventurous travelers, and we found ourselves drawn to our fellow guests, many of whom were using the hotel as a base for exploring the riches of the area.

Breakfasts were lovely, complete with a bit of prosecco on Sunday mornings, and Alex, our congenial host, is happy to supply his view on most anything. Importantly, those opinions lead to interesting excursions in and around Merida. He is well connected and willing to share his relationships in addition to his recommendations.

Each evening finds our host on the roof terrace sharing a bit of tequila with his guests, a custom that encourages interaction and seriously enhances the experience. We were generally the first ones there, not sure what that says about us, but we were not alone for long. Most guests choose to come and toast the sunset over Merida, while enjoying their fellow travelers.

All of this is what you would expect from a class hotel. We were very happy here, great friends, host, rest, food, you name it. But occasionally something happens that gives you a true sense of quality, something extraordinary. At the conclusion of our stay, we said our goodbyes and headed for Valladolid, a one night stop on our way to the airport in Cancun. As we approached the entrance to the toll road to Cancun, we were rear ended by a flat bed truck carrying cement blocks. We were quickly embroiled in what occurs when you have an automobile accident in Mexico; with no real language skills. The police came, but we couldn't communicate. Our cell phones were not much help, but we did get through to Alex. With no hesitation, he said he would be there within 10 minutes and he was. He stayed until the entire matter was resolved, which took about 4 hours, chatting up the police, and interpreting for them and us, then drove us to the car rental agency to get a new car, as the one we had was impounded, and then further escorted us to the access road to Cancun, sending us on our way with a casual "it is nothing". I suspect it is nothing to him, but it meant the world to us. We really needed his help and he was there for us, without question, clearly a class guy, in a class hotel.

You meet a lot of interesting people when you travel, if you are willing to put yourself out there. This is how we feel about Hotel Julamis and Alex; larger that life, Shakespearean. You will know what we mean when you meet him. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Rooms are varied. View photos, ask questions about amenities and make your choice accordingly. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We arrived at Julamis a few hours late due to a flight delay (we got there at 11:00pm instead of 8:00pm). Alex, the owner, stayed around to let us into the hotel which was very nice of him - he's a good guy. Once we got there Alex showed us a map and told us some great places to go and see. He also told us that if we wanted to go anywhere in particular he'd arrange it for us as long as we gave him notice - see, a great guy. We got to our room and it was clean, there was air conditioning and a beautiful patio overlooking the street. This place was too good to be true.

Our goal while in Merida was to go to Chichen Itza and Alex said he'd schedule a tour for us on our last day there. We'd be back for 5:00pm and would have plenty of time to catch our bus to Campeche at 7:00pm. Great. I think he forgot to book our tour but he figured something out and before we knew it we were on a tour bus to Chichen Itza. On the tour bus they told us the agenda and said we'd be back by 7:00pm. Uh oh. This mildly stressed us out but we've traveled before and blips happen and Alex is a nice guy so it'll all work out. Once we got back to Julamis at 7:00pm to get our bags, Alex smoothy came to our rescue. He made a call to the ADO bus station, gave them his name and assured us there is an alternative 9:00pm bus leaving to Campeche that we can catch. This was a little odd because we knew the next bus was leaving at 11:15pm but no worries, maybe he knew something we didn't. He then ordered us a taxi to send us there.

I asked if I could stick around while my travel-mate got the tickets and after that suggestion Alex quickly took on a new face. He got very demeaning and rude suddenly, calling us "kids" (we're in our late 20's), saying we were irresponsible for our bad planning but masterfully did so all in a joking but awkward manner. After a tense few minutes of waiting for the taxi we were gone from Julamis with a bad taste in our mouth that even his colourful little breakfasts couldn't fix.

Needless to say there was no 9:00pm bus to Campeche at the ADO bus station. Alex totally pulled off a fake phone conversation which we thought was pretty clever of him but pretty slimy too.

All in all amazing location, wonderful rooms and if it wasn't for our last encounter - we'd think Alex was a great owner. We won't be going back to Julamis but we noticed Merida has lots of nice small hotels that'd we be happy to check out.

We're from Toronto and this is the only not-wonderful review I will write about from the nine places we stayed while in Central America.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justin L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I am a careful, well-traveled individual, who books early for an upcoming trip and chooses only the most highly recommended hotels. Until my recent experience at Hotel Julamis, my approach for the past 8 years has worked very successfully.

Six months before visiting Merida, I sought a good B&B for a week's holiday with a friend. Based on the excellent Tripadvisor reviews of Hotel Julamis and of its owner, Chef Alex, I requested a room with 2 beds. Chef Alex informed me that the only room he had in the B&B hotel with 2 beds was booked, but that he could offer the house/apartment next door (at a higher price/night). He assured me that this accommodation was lovely and just as nice or better than the rooms in the hotel. I sent him a deposit.

We arrived quite late on Saturday to meet a very friendly and amusing Chef Alex, just as the reviews had stated. Unfortunately, our warm welcome ended when we saw our accommodation!
Not only was the place run-down with peeling paint on the walls, it was also so dusty/dirty that one could measure the height of the dust with a ruler, and there was thick black mold between the bathroom tiles. Although very unpleasant, we took our showers that evening and went to bed. That night was when my healthy friend started coughing. She woke the next morning with head and chest congestion (that disappeared within an hour of our departure for sightseeing).

Chef Alex seemed such a nice man that we decided to say nothing and spend a second night (Sunday) there, just in case my friend's symptoms were a fluke and had nothing to do with the accommodation.

Unfortunately, that next night, my friend coughed continuously, and the following morning (Monday), she woke up extremely congested. After breakfast, my friend told Chef Alex that she was ill, likely from the dust and mold. She asked if there was anything he could do to assist us. Chef Alex told her that he would be able to move us into the B&B on Wednesday. We decided that we would stay the 2 additional nights and make the move on Wednesday.

In the meantime, the dust and dirt were left untouched in our accommodation, and we tried to cope with the situation.

On Tuesday, we asked Chef Alex what time we would need to be packed and ready to move on Wednesday. He then informed us that now the room would not be ready until Thursday. And that was the last time that Chef Alex treated us in a polite manner.

We decided then that we had no choice but to leave. On Wednesday morning, we asked Chef Alex if there was anything at all he could do to help us. When he said “NO!”, we informed him that we simply could no longer stay due to my friend’s inability to cope with the dust and mold in the house.

Then, things became truly ugly: I handed Chef Alex the cash to pay for the (4) nights we had stayed. When he insisted that we owed him for the entire 7 nights that we had reserved, I disagreed, stating that he had misrepresented the accommodation and that this was a health issue. To our shock, he again insisted that the house/apartment was just as nice and clean as the rooms in the main B&B!

For the reader’s information, I have attached 4 photographs showing the house/apartment so that you can judge for yourselves.

The final straw in this distressing scenario was when Chef Alex dialed the police, asking them to come and arrest us for not paying our bill!

Fortunately, our taxi arrived before the police did, and we quickly left. The sound of the door slamming behind us was the last we heard from Chef Alex!

Room Tip: Never stay in the apartment/house next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Chercheure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just returned from an 11 day vacation to various parts of Mexico. Hotel Julamis was one of the highlights of our trip! The accommodations are impeccable in all ways. Spotless, luxurious beds and linens, incredible breakfast prepared and served by the charming host Alex. Tequila tasting at sunset on the upper deck provides a nice way to meet and chat with the other guests.
Alex has a wealth of information and went out of his way to make our stay memorable. We will definitely return and can highly recommend Hotel Julamis.
Thank you Alex!
Maureen and Jeff
Toronto

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen-Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel in Merida is an absolute gem. It is small, just seven rooms, so the owner, Alex, gives excellent personal service to every guest. In addition to refrigerators in every room stocked with complementary water and beverages, Alex personally prepares a fantastic breakfast every morning and serves it in a delightful indoor patio. In the evenings he puts out complementary tequila for guests to enjoy while mingling on the roof garden. Additionally, he will book tours, call taxis, provide city information, and whatever else is required to make your visit completely unforgetable. The address of the hotel can be somewhat confusing. Just understand that it is on the northeast corner of Calle 54 and Calle 53. (The hotel sign is very indistinct and easily overlooked.)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SugarRol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Having travelled over many years to nearly 50% of the countries in the world, I have never experienced a host as good as Alex, he is what makes this place special. His desire to make your stay memorable is clear, his knowledge of the area is most useful and he delivers his breakfasts will skill and great imagination, we looked forward to each morning. The rooms are good and clean , the location allows you walk to every place of interest, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Merida.

Room Tip: We chose Ramon which was fine, at the back so no road noise, for a longer stay we might choose a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_and_Chris-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My stay at Hotel Julamis was one of the most rewarding times I have had. The Hotel is quaint and convenient for walking into the historic district of Merida. Alex, as usual, goes above and beyond the normal owner, chef label. If you are expecting bacon and eggs for breakfast stay someplace else. His presentation and flavors are unique. The ambiance of the hotel is quiet and warm. Rooms take you back to the 20's. Pictures do not do it justice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#2 of 106 in Merida
1,006 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#3 of 106 in Merida
442 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#9 of 106 in Merida
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julamis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julamis

Address: Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#10 Business Hotel in Merida
#21 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range: £30 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julamis is an urban affordable retreat located within Merida’s Historic District where its personalized service will meet up your expectations and guide your daring explorations throughout Yucatan’s Mayan world, ecological reserves and tranquil beaches. The hotel is composed of two floors accommodating one master suite and 6 standard guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, A/C and mini bars. There is a central courtyard with a lush garden where a complementary… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Julamis Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing