We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice for your visit to Mérida.”
Review of Hotel Julamis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Julamis
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2010

The Hotel Julamis is an old house which has been restored as a small hotel and has the atmosphere of a pleasant and comfortable B&B. The en-suite rooms are attractive and well-appointed. Those upstairs have the advantage of giving out on a balcony overlooking the patio, and there is a secluded lounge area just around the corner. A generous continental breakfast is served in the pretty patio on the ground floor.

I want to add my review to the accolades. The Julamis was "home" to me and nine other people in my group during the first week of March, 2010. It is located in a convenient location, being about seven blocks to Mérida's main plaza and 4 blocks to the entrance of the Paseo de Montejo.

What really makes the Julamis stand out is the exemplary fusion of talents of the two owners, Erid and Mel. Erid is the man behind the scenes, and his competence is reflected in the smooth operation of the hotel. Mel is the man you will see more often. Not only was he a gracious, informative, and helpful host when we were there, but he was invaluable to me when I was planning this trip. He knows Mérida well and through him I learned a number of things in advance which made our trip easier and more enjoyable. Mel is an accessible, friendly, genuinely helpful host, a master of the craft.

As the owner of a bed & breakfast inn for 23 years, I know how important it is for guests to receive not only accurate information on the area they are to visit, but to find, when they arrive, that their choice of lodging meets their expectations. Erid and Mel have combined their considerable talents to achieve this goal.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chimayosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2010

I really can’t say enough good things about this hotel and the owners! From the moment I checked-in until the day I left, they made me feel right at home. The atmosphere was wonderful, very peaceful and relaxed.

For the past 18 months we have been remodeling our house in Merida Centro. During this time and prior to my stay in Joulamis, my husband and I stayed in some B&Bs, small hotels, big hotels, house for rent and even (hubby) adventured into a local hostel while The Closing took place – No comments on that.

Some of the things that make Jolamis worth of recommending are, its laid-back homey atmosphere. The rooms are big and include a mini bar daily stocked with beer, water and soft drinks. The beds are good, the coffee is strong, (rare in Mexico), location is great and of course, its price. This is a good value hotel, and Yucatan is inexpensive, let’s keep it that way.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeles74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Based on reviews on Trip Advisor we stayed four nights at Julamis. The hotel was not perfect, but we don't regret our stay.

The hotel is located about 15 mins walk to the main square, away from the hustle and bustle of the centre but still reasonably close to it. But don't think that being away from the centre means no noise - the hotel is situated on one of the corners of a relatively busy intersection with traffic lights and there is quite a deal of traffic noise. Closing the window and turning the airconditioner on removes most of it. However, if you prefer to sleep with the window open I would, to be honest, seek alternative accommodation, notwithstanding the many pluses of the hotel. Also note that the area around the hotel is pretty lifeless for restaurants, cafes, etc and you will need to walk closer to the centre to get any decent food or to find a minimarket.

Our room was large with a double bed and a single bed. Furnishings were simple and there was a walk-in wardrobe. The bathroom was also large with plenty of shelf/bench space - an important feature from our point of view that we found lacking in most hotels we stayed in throughout our holiday in Mexico. Neither the room nor the bathroom are modern but both were clean and perfectly satisfactory. There is no TV - a little surprising given the price of the room, but perhaps intended to reduce room-to-room noise which is a good thing in my opinion. A nice touch in the room was the refrigerator stocked each day with complimentary water, soft drink and beer. A couple of minor gripes with the room were that there was low water pressure, and there was just the one bedside lamp to service the entire room (and since no TV, reading was the best way to pass time but the light was not particularly good for that purpose). Rooms vary in cost - ours was US$60 per night which was at the pricier end of comparable mid-range hotels we stayed at during our Mexican holiday.

The hotel has wireless available, and a computer downstairs for internet use for those without their own computer. There is a well stocked library from which to borrow a book to read. An adequate, complimentary breakfast is provided in a nice leafy garden area downstairs. Upstairs is an outdoor lounge area with a small plunge pool if you get hot. If you are relaxing in this area early in the evening Mel, one of the owners, will probably offer a complimentary drink (tequila, brandy, or rum). Mel speaks fluent English and is an excellent host.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie_bmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

My husband and I took a much needed 15th anniversary trip to the Yucatán. Having not done any travel in the area, we were keeping our fingers crossed that this hotel would be all that it was cracked up to be. It was, and more!

Our room was just lovely, huge, actually, and with a wonderfully effective a/c. The decor of the whole place is impeccable. Upon arriving on Friday night, we walked into the hotel, and I got a little choked up upon seeing the lovely courtyard in the moonlight, and thinking how HAPPY I was to be there, and not in suburban Houston!

The street noise is a little loud, but that is to be expected due to its central location. If you want perfect quiet, this is not the place for you. If you want a great location, you shouldn't mind it a bit. It's just normal city sounds.

We got great travel tips that suited us perfectly. I gather from other comments that Mel and Erid are great at sizing up their guests and giving them the advice for the kind of trip they want. We were off-the beaten path types, and weren't interested in tours, and they helped us get to where we wanted to go by figuring out where/when the colectivo departed, etc. We had all the adventure we wanted and more.

I should comment that Merida is lovely and so safe. The people hospitable. The stores have lovely goods (though the prices vary GREATLY from place to place!).

We were at Julamis 5 nights total. 3 at the beginning, and 2 at the end. We went to Valladolid and Tulum, and though the locations were lovely, we didn't find a hotel we could call home in those cities.

Their attention to detail was impeccable. Our room was always stocked with bottles of water and other drinks. And when they found out it was our anniversary, they brought us a bottle of wine to celebrate.

Don't miss Hotel Julamis. We miss it already!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airofcelery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

We had the opportunity to stay in this hotel twice (different rooms), first when we arrived in Merida and then after our trip to Campeche.

This is a great size hotel with a very attentive staff, loving courtyard and lots of perks. Rooms are spacious and charming; bathrooms are also large and clean. Julamis young owners were always helpful, dynamic and friendly. It was because of them that we learned about a great taqueria in Ticul and Becal, a small Mayan village where those beautiful hats come from.

We highly recommend this small, mid-priced hotel while visiting Merida and the Yucatan.



Happy Travels!

Raul

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raulito1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We stayed two nights in this small (7-room) hotel in a city of three-quarters of a million people. A 10-minute walk to city center. The owners, Mel and Erid, strongly support responsible use of the environment - a big plus for us. They are eager to accommodate guests and can recommend good restaurants. Nice touches included nightly tequila on the roof terrace at 6 p.m., refrigerator in rooms stocked with free water, soda, and beer, free internet computer in the lobby.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smutley40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

This charming hotel is a great find. Our room was spotlessly clean, very spacious and comfortable with direct access to the tranquil roof terrace and plunge pool. Mel and Erid were extremely helpful and generous hosts, they made us feel very much at home and nothing was too much trouble. We are very happy to recommend this hotel as excellent value.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glob3wand3r3rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 106 in Merida
1,006 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 106 in Merida
442 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#9 of 106 in Merida
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julamis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julamis

Address: Calle 53 #475B x Calle 54, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#10 Business Hotel in Merida
#21 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range: £30 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julamis is an urban affordable retreat located within Merida’s Historic District where its personalized service will meet up your expectations and guide your daring explorations throughout Yucatan’s Mayan world, ecological reserves and tranquil beaches. The hotel is composed of two floors accommodating one master suite and 6 standard guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, A/C and mini bars. There is a central courtyard with a lush garden where a complementary… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Julamis Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing