We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“El sorbete de Cocco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helados Colon

Helados Colon
Ranked #2 of 11 Dessert in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
merida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“El sorbete de Cocco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

A nice place to relif the heat of the city.Try the cocnut mamey and sapote if they have it.Service is fast and basic.Price are very cheap 30 pesos por cup.A simple place where chill out a bit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mentalink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    241
    88
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
307 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“fantastic sorbets and ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is an institution in Merida, the original on the grand plaza under the arcade, the other on Paseo Montejo. Great flavors, try something you do not know for a great experience. Sorbet is so nice in the warm Yucatan day when you have been walking a long time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“mamey best sorbet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I tried the best mamey sorbet ever ( I don't know whats the name of this fruit in English) but is delicious everytime I go to a country were I can find it I try!
the ice cream was awesome, all fruit, it tasted like pure pulp of this fruit with ice :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kenys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Time has stopped here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have been enjoying the Champolas (ice cream floatie on milk) and the ice creams since I was a little girl, fond memories of my childhood come back to me every time I visit Merida and have a mantecado. It is always the same setting, same furniture, I swear even the waiters are the same for the past 30 years!!!
If you like time travel, please visit Helados Colon, you will get a glimpse of Old Mexico.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Try the mango ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We had dessert at Helados Colon during our Merida visit, and the mango ice cream was the best, try it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GQtravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helados Colon also viewed

 

Been to Helados Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing