We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple delicious!”
Review of Helados Colon

Helados Colon
Ranked #2 of 12 Dessert in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple delicious!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Big variety of great flavors, including fruits of the region such as guanabana, mango, orange or coco.
Nice atmosphere, open-air or inside and friendly staff .

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    264
    97
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
merida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“El sorbete de Cocco”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A nice place to relif the heat of the city.Try the cocnut mamey and sapote if they have it.Service is fast and basic.Price are very cheap 30 pesos por cup.A simple place where chill out a bit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mentalink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
310 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“fantastic sorbets and ice cream”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is an institution in Merida, the original on the grand plaza under the arcade, the other on Paseo Montejo. Great flavors, try something you do not know for a great experience. Sorbet is so nice in the warm Yucatan day when you have been walking a long time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“mamey best sorbet”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I tried the best mamey sorbet ever ( I don't know whats the name of this fruit in English) but is delicious everytime I go to a country were I can find it I try!
the ice cream was awesome, all fruit, it tasted like pure pulp of this fruit with ice :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kenys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Time has stopped here!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have been enjoying the Champolas (ice cream floatie on milk) and the ice creams since I was a little girl, fond memories of my childhood come back to me every time I visit Merida and have a mantecado. It is always the same setting, same furniture, I swear even the waiters are the same for the past 30 years!!!
If you like time travel, please visit Helados Colon, you will get a glimpse of Old Mexico.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helados Colon also viewed

 

Been to Helados Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing