We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, authentic, very clean hotel near all the amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alux Playa del Carmen
Ranked #157 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Lovely Mexican hotel full of character. The staff are very helpful though some Spanish is helpful for communication. This hotel is within walking distance to good restaurants, the nightlife and shopping on 5th Avenue, the ferry to Cozumel, Walmart and the wonderful beach. But it's far enough away to be quiet at night. The water cooler with chilled water in the hotel is helpful for filling up your water bottles. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank javanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alux Playa del Carmen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2010

I loved Hotel Alux. You have incredible bang for your buck and the place looks great too with its authentically Mexican tiled floors and kitchen areas and the exposed beams. Nice Ranchero feel to it. It has a nice courtyard and offers an appreciated silence at the end of the day. The staff as well were lovely and friendly.

The bed isn't much to write home about but that's often the case in Mexico so our expectations were low to begin with. The showers were good and always had hot water, and the cleaning staff always did a perfect job.

Some people have mentioned their misgivings about alcohol --- the hotel does prohibit alcohol, as the owners do not want it to be a "party hotel" and they want a reliably peaceful stay for their other guests. However if you bring in a few beers and are respectful they are not likely to say anything - this is what we found during our stay.

There are no refrigerators in the rooms - what we did was buy a styrofoam cooler from Walmart and we kept our beverages in there. Same goes with beach towels - we just picked up a couple at Wallies and walked down to our favourite place on the beach. Ice is available from most small stores and Oxxos.

The value is incredible. I highly recommend this place. We stayed at three different places in PDC (including a beachfront hotel and a 4 star) during our most recent two week stay and for bang for buck no other place came even close.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_McAllister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Very nice small hotel with clean comfortable & attractive rooms. Within easy walking distance to the beach, restaurants, shops & nightlife but far enough away that you are guaranteed a peaceful nights sleep. Free wifi. Only gripe is that they do not allow alchohol on the premises & we like to have 1 or 2 beers before going out for dinner. Staff are friendly but have very limited English.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

This hotel is within walking distance of the beaches, restaurants, and shopping of Playa del Carmen. Its off-the-beach location means a greatly reduced price. We stayed in a room with a simple kitchen, which made it very convenient to do something other than eat out for every meal. We made reservations in advance via email, which was very convenient.. We enjoyed the beach in Playa as well as trips to Tulum and Coba.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeantownTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Rooms are clean and reasonable priced. Great location as you are close enough to walk everywhere but just far enough that that it is quiet. I stay here often on my way over to Cozumel or back to the Cancun airport.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

Stayed there 3 nights, for a promotional price of 400 pesos/night (which was also stated outside). this was excellent value for money as:
* the room was very clean, also the bathrooom.
* cable tv and airco (actually it was not that hot in playa).
* helpfull and friendly staff.
*good and save location, 1,5 block from la quinta (5th avenue), in a quiet area.
Of course there will be better hotels in playa but not for this prices.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harry0972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

My boyfriend and I just got back from Playa Del Carmen last night and could not have better things to say about this little hotel close to everything in Playa. The room was clean and spacious, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They didn't speak much english but this didn't prove to be a problem at all. We were always greeted with a smile and were helped quickly with anything we needed. We paid 580 pesos a night, a very good deal for the high season.It was a small hotel that had a feeling of being run by a small family, I would tell my family/friends to stay there for sure.

Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank alisha1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#130 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#123 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
383 reviews
0.8 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#131 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#132 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#127 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Unic Design Hotel
Unic Design Hotel
#129 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alux Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alux Playa del Carmen

Address: Calle 14 Norte | Between Av 10a & 15a. Lote 11 Mza 122, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £47 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Alux Playa del Carmen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alux Playa del Carmen is a small hotel built in a Mexican hacienda style. The guest rooms are spacious and comfortable with ironwork details, colorful tiles and original floors. All of the rooms are located around an open veranda. These small details can also be seen throughout the hotel. The hotel offers modern commodities at affordable rates. Therefore, ideal for the independent traveler, either for business or pleasure, because it allows him/her to maximize his/her budget without sacrificing quality or service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alux Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alux Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing