We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Quaint and Lovely Hotel that is very relaxing.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Ranked #96 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Quaint and Lovely Hotel that is very relaxing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

As we arrived at our lovely hotel on a hot August afternoon we were greeted by a sweet concierge, named Jacqueline. A very nice server brought us two wonderful refreshing fruit drinks. The lobby is open with a pretty view to the pool, restaurant and beach with a staircase that leads down to them.

The room was contemporary in design with white walls and green accent linens. An accent wall made of a beautiful Mexican tile in white lime and green. Large glass doors opened up to the small balcony with two chairs overlooking the garden and large coconut trees. Our room was simple, very clean and nicely decorated. The beds were comfortable. There are no televisions in the rooms, nor internet, but that was the beauty of being there... it is a romantic get-away. It took us both a little while to decompress from our flight and driving, but after we did we were very relaxed and enjoyed the hotel and the romantic ambiance.

The tranquil setting of the hotel and it's simplistic beauty is awe-inspiring. You can't help but to be relaxed there. The restaurant overlooked the beautiful infinity pool and gardens with the beach setting beyond the pool and a small bar. The restaurant's bar was very nice bar and adjacent to it was a large open sitting area for groups. The wooden floors added to the beauty of the facility.

As we sat down in the restaurant we were promptly greeted by our server Mario, who explained to us about the different food options on the menu. He was wonderful and very attentive to our needs. After a little while another wonderful server came over to us named Roberto. Roberto gave us some great tips about the mini bar and getting water for our room, since we were ordering a lot of water bottles to drink this was an excellent way to save a little money and it was very convenient. Roberto was very attentive to our needs as well as very friendly and personable. Both our servers made us feel welcome and important.

Everything we ordered at each meal was excellent! The soups were outstanding as well as the entrees. The presentation of the dishes were always so beautiful! The portions were great. We tried different dishes each day... along with the Mayan dishes. The chefs were awesome! One evening Roberto asked the chef to make us a surprise Mexican Fried Ice Cream dish for dessert ... I was curious if they had that as a dessert (it was not on the menu). Roberto and the chef surprised us with a Mayan version of Fried Ice Cream and it was fabulous!!! This was very sweet and thoughtful of them to do this. The chef came out to meet us and we thanked him for his special treat as well as Roberto.

One of my favorite appetizer's was the guacamole, chips and salsa! The margarita's were amazing!

Each morning, I sat on the beach with a carafe of delicious coffee watching the morning sunrise on the beach. It was so peaceful and beautiful.

The beach with it's warm turquoise waters were stunning to look at. Large flat rocks laid on the shore and scattered in the water creating pools to snorkel in and see the tropical fish. Snorkeling was great! The beaches are very secure with the Le Reve staff keeping an eye on things. Make sure you wear water shoes when swimming in the water.

We truly enjoyed our 5 days at this quaint, lovely and romantic resort. It is an exceptional place to visit if you are looking for peace and quiet with an outstanding restaurant. The pool was perfect for cooling off and to glance upon while eating at the Le Reve restaurant.

The only negatives to mention was the workout room needed an update with their exercise equipment.... it is a little outdated. I looked forward to working out in the morning the day after arriving, but I was disappointed when I tried to use the equipment. Not to easy! A few treadmills and elliptical machines would be perfect for this workout room.

The road leading to the resort could use some repairs, with several large potholes as you approached the resort made for a bumpy ride and wear on the transportation. The driveway to the hotel is fine once you turn off the dirt road.

I would like to mention a few of the wonderful employees who made our stay exceptional. Many thanks to Roberto, Mario, Freddy, Ismael, Carlos, Manuel, Antonio, Aurelio, Jackie and the amazing chefs! We truly enjoyed our stay at your resort and hope one day to come back.

Enjoy your stay and bring some good books to read. :)

Darlene S. Chicago, IL

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarleneS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    173
    64
    31
    36
See reviews for
97
539
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and i took Wed - Sun to relax at the beautiful Le Reve Hotel and enjoyed every single second of it! Starting from airport pick-up thru the room, amazing restaurant at the hotel that has four different menus, clean and simple room with a garden, great staff, amazing pool and great access to the beach. Loved every second and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaayanRahav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

This place is off the beaten path. Newer construction. We stayed in the beach bungalow with a plunge pool. It was steps from the sand.

I read many reviews before we went and read all the negatives. The negatives are so minimal. The beach is lovely. It is a little rocky in spots, but if you walk 5 steps you can find a sandy spot to walk in the water. Also, there is a great little massage place a few steps down the beach. Great prices.

The restaurant was great! Service was outstanding. They include a daily charge for all the tipping and stuff (for ice delivery, baggage, etc), so it makes it so much easier! I think every place should be that way.

Their infinity pool was lovely. It was a great way to end my summer vacation. It definitely helped that I got it on a deal from jetsetter. :)

I would definitely recommend this place for adults, or couples. Young kids are not allowed on property which is ideal for someone who wants peace and relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmoore777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

As we drove down the bumpy dirt road towards the ocean, we didn't know what to expect. But as we pulled past the gate and up the driveway, it was clear that we chose the right place. With a warm "Hola! Welcome to Le Reve, checking in?" They greeted us by name, and it was immediately obvious that hospitality and attention to detail were very important to them. We were also greeted with a refreshing cocktail and cool towel and was directed to enjoy the property and that our bags will be waiting for us in our room for when we were ready.

Le Reve is a charmingly warm and tastefully designed boutique hotel- with only 25 rooms, beautiful modern infinity pool that over looks onto the ocean. On their private beach there are palm frond umbrellas with very comfortable day beds, hammocks between the palm trees and accessories available to use in the ocean (kayak, snorkeling gear, and Crocs to walk on the reef). The small details that we loved and found throughout the hotel.

We stayed in the Garden room which had our own patio with hammock, jacuzzi and lawn to relax. The room was very nice with Mexican tiles on the wall and another detail that I truly appreciated was, my girlfriend is deathly allergic to cleaning products, detergents and bleach, they were more than happy to accommodate us to not use that on anything or in our room.

Throughout the week were able to get to know the staff and greeted us everyday, remembered out morning black coffee and green tea for my girlfriend, the specific Rum that we like to drink while sun bathing and felt that they were very attentive all the time.

One thing that truly made our trip wonderful, is my girlfriend and I are very much into food and cooking, and on the first night while enjoying our dinner outside on the dining deck, we were discussing traditional Mayan Riviera cuisine and made mention how wonderful the meal was and started to talk about Mole. All of the sudden the Chef came out of the kitchen to greet us and he offered and welcomed my girlfriend to come to the kitchen tomorrow at 4pm and he would teach her how to make traditional Mole, his recipe! We were blown away just at the offer. The next day, we were really knocked off our feet at the gracious offer. As we walked to the dining area towards the kitchen, we realized that Chef Jose Medel and some of the staff prepared a beautiful cooking lesson. 2 hours later, we had learned how to make amazing mole!

On our last day they staff put on an amazing free barbecue party for guests and friends, with free drinks and wonderful food and a nice DJ... It was a great finale to an amazing week.

We got to know the staff a little and they were so friendly, we felt sorry to leave. Thank you Roberto, Ismael, Carlos, Manuel, Mario, Chef Medel, Antonio Aurelia, Jackie and Karina! You guy are awesome and we hope to see you again sometime.

For those of you considering this resort, stop and just do it. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerlintoLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel may not be for everyone, but for my boyfriend and me -- it was the exact secluded, quiet paradise we needed to escape to. Prior to arriving we stayed at a large resort in Cancun, which we could not wait to leave. Le Reve was everything we hoped for and more! The service, the atmosphere, the food (traditional Mayan cuisine is highly recommended), the accommodations, and our beautiful bungalow helped us ease into relaxation mode. The additional plus is that no children are allowed. Everyone was so helpful and attentive to our needs. Here they take extra steps to make you feel pampered -- such as welcome cocktails upon arrival and leaving complimentary desserts on your bed at night. (If you flip through the service book you'll see they have different things to choose from like: Dinner on the beach, arranging a boat to take you to Cozumel, etc.)

The only advice I would give: bring insect repellant and/or ear plugs. Given the fact we booked a bungalow it was well expected to deal with "natural elements" but this did not ruin the experience at all. Also, it should be noted a 15% tip is included with every purchase within the hotel.

Le Reve provided fun amenities the other hotels would charge us for. Such as: snorkeling gear, a kayak/boat, sunscreen/tanning oil, and shoes for wearing in the ocean (due to rocks). They also have an environmentally friendly approach -- which is always appreciated. We read in one of the books they did not have to cut down a single tree to build the hotel -- which may be one of the reasons it feels like your perfectly nestled within the trees and beach.

Don't come here if you want an all inclusive grandiose resort-like stay. There are many other large "luxury" chain hotels that can give you service you expect. DO come here if you want everything listed above. We plan on visiting again.

Room Tip: Bungalow suites put you right on the beach and have their own private pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnasaur12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Before my trip, I thought I had made a very good choice with this hotel, seemed to be a very charming boutique hotel, very private and with an excellent location and service, quite expensive, but reasonably affordable for what was offered on their website. We rented one of the beach front bungalows, with private pool and direct beach access.

PROs:

1. The hotel facilities are small but very good, charming, with a perfect location. They lack some maintenance, but they are very nice over all.
2. The bungalow's private pool and the beach amenities are very nice.
3. Food is delicious, they have a very good chef.
4. SPA facilities are very reduced and limited, but the ladies who work there are excellent and makes it worth.

CONs:

1. The road that provides access to the hotel is not paved, so you'll find enormous pot holes on your way, so you'll have to be careful. Also, at night is not a very safe place to drive through, since the road is very alone and there is no illumination.

2. On our first night, we arrived quite late to the hotel, and requested some drinks to be delivered to our room, and for our surprise, there was no late night room service, and there was nothing to drink in our mini bar, it was empty. We called to reception and the response we got was to purchase our drinks outside of the hotel, the guy told us that the mini bar was empty to allow guests bring their own drinks... o_O

3. Next day we went to shop for some drinks for the week (even with paid meal plan), and when we came back to the hotel room, we got a call from reception with a 'report' from one of the service guys who said that we were bringing food into the hotel... ???

4. Food is very good at the hotel restaurant, but you'll notice that it's much more expensive to buy the meal plan upfront than paying for each meal separately, so don't do it. Also, people who work at the front desk and at the restaurant doesn't know how the meal plan works and often restrict what you can order. An all inclusive meal plan means "all", not a restricted meal offer with no logic behind due to lack of knowledge about the meal plans, even more for the price you're paying...

5. The "front desk" is literally a single desk with a laptop besides the car entrance to the hotel, and the quality of the service offered has no relation with the hotel price and the service promise offered on their website. From our experience at the hotel, seems that not all the personnel is very knowledgeable about the hotel offerings and processes, which negatively impacts your experience as a customer.

6. Prices on their website does not include service fees nor taxes, so if you thought you made a good online deal with your reservation, expect a little surprise when your credit card statement arrives, because the total amount of your booking confirmation is going to be very different. At the end you will pay the same or more for a room in this hotel than you'd pay in any of the luxurious hotels at Mayakoba, so be careful with your decision.

7. The beach in front of the hotel is extremely rocky, so you'll find it very difficult (if not impossible) to enjoy swimming at the sea in front of your bulgalow.

8. The hotel will try to charge an extra 5 percent to your bill if you pay with American Express.

At the end, if we hadn't experienced the lack of knowledge from the service team at the hotel, and we hadn't felt the sensation of being fooled with the prices, our experience would have been awesome at the hotel, because there has everything you'd expect for a relaxed, charming, private and romantic stay, with awesome food and a perfect location, but the service didn't help. I hope the hotel administration notice this kind of issues with their service and take some action.

Based on these comments, I wouldn't advice anyone to stay in this hotel, since it is a very nice hotel, but absolutely overpriced for the kind and quality of service you get. You end up paying the same or more as if you had stayed for example at the Rosewood in Mayakoba, so then why not going there instead, at least you will know that you'll be paying a premium, but you will receive a premium service as well.

Room Tip: Don't purchase the meal plan. Be careful with your online reservation if you do it through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jesus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeReveHotelandSpas, General Manager at Le Reve Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Jesús

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience and let us know what you liked and how we can improve.

Thank you for your feedback.

Le Reve is taking the necessary actions to guarantee excellent personalized services at all times. Here's what we're working on today because of your comments:

1. As with many hotels outside of Playa del Carmen, the road that provides access to the hotel is not paved. Le Reve maintains the road in fair conditions throughout the year, however during the rainy season, the path deteriorates rapidly and we have to wait for better weather conditions before it can be serviced properly.
2. With regard to the room service; Le Reve offers food & beverage service from 7a.m. to 11p.m. Our concierge department contacted you in advance to set special food & beverage service because we were aware of your late check in and offered you the chance to order ahead of time.
3. We do not allow food and beverages purchased from outside the hotel at our facilities because we provide them at Le Reve. This is a widely implemented hotel policy standard at most properties.
4. The details of the various meal plans we offer are published on our website. We are working on the conditions in order to improve our service and our guest satisfaction satisfaction.

Le Reve Hotel & Spa regrets that its service performance was not at its usual level and you were not able to fully enjoy your stay. As many guest and Trip Advisor users have commented, Le Reve’s staff and services are known as an incredible experience in all ways.

Lic. Adriana Chardí
General Manager
Le Rêve Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prosper, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is a great hotel for setting on the beach and doing nothing. The team at Le Reve was attentive and remembered our special orders. Dinner on the beach was great. Maid staff was excellent and front "desk" staff helped alot. Will certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#43 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,270 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#6 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#14 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#52 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Reve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Address: Playa Xcalacoco, Fraccion 2A Playa Del Carmen Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Reve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Rêve Hotel & Spa is a luxury and modern boutique hotel in Playa del Carmen. With a unique collection of 28 rooms overlooking the Caribbean Sea with the perfect blend of nature, peace, gastronomy and mexican hospitality. Our guests are able to book just the hotel room or they can indulge with our unlimited food & beverages "Gourmet All Inclusive A la Carte" . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Reve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Reve Hotel And Spa
Le Reve Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing