We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had our amazing wedding here, thanks to Le Reve!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Ranked #99 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a long overdue review. We got married at Le Reve June 1, 2013 so it will almost be a year since our wedding!

From the moment we booked our wedding with Le Reve, we were in the good hands of Arlenis and Ana, the wedding coordinator and assistant. They are the reason Le Reve weddings have become more popular and have had such a positive response back in the States. Their prompt responsiveness and attention to detail were really appreciated.

Below is our feedback:

-- Loved how the DJ (Playa Weddings) played the processional music with perfect timing and we didn't even review with them.
-- The service at the hotel was exceptional and everyone we met was super helpful and very friendly. I think this adds to the personal touch that Le Reve offers.
-- Tres Leches wedding cake was delicious.
-- Loved how Arlenis/Ana improvised for hanging the place cards with the tiki torches.
-- Loved the cakes served during the welcome BBQ.
-- The house wine was pretty good, the white wine was better than the red wine.
-- The mariachi band was great.
-- Sarah Garnier was excellent with the makeup and has a great personality.
-- Our guests loved the food, from the brunch to the wedding appetizers to the main courses.
-- Premium Flores flowers was great too; good value and fresh live roses.

Overall, with a destination wedding you have to understand that there are things you just have to let be, and cannot plan for or see. I think you need to be realistic with how your personality fits into this. We would definitely do our wedding over again at Le Reve. We planned it all in less than 6 months and it was really at the end of the 3 months that we really got focused.

Again, the service, staff and Arlenis/Ana were terrific and really made the difference! Thank you to the Le Reve staff for making our wedding so memorable!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWang19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
There are newer reviews for Le Reve Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Construction workers were doing demolition on a concrete and rebar partition in the upstairs driveway & you could feel the reverb in our room. Drilling from above and banging from outside at as early as 8:30am was ridiculous. We asked to change rooms on day #2 and it took a while for the concierge to accommodate the change. She was nice though.

The main pool is clearly showing its age as well. Small tiles are missing in visible places & the clean lines are now wavy and irregular. Where does one enter or exit the pool without treachery?

WiFI did not work daily until about 9:00am until some guy came to work to turn it on? Couldn't "check in" with the airline because the stupid WiFi wasn't working. Weaksauce.

Staff was friendly, the food was pretty decent but expensive. Oh and the hotel runs on massive gas-powered generators! I thought the hum sounded familiar and it reminded me of my time in Iraq working on military bases. Very weird feeling.

There were also sales people every single morning trying to sell timeshares and we often had the displeasure of sitting next to them. It seemed there were hardly any guests staying there.

Room Tip: stay in a beach bungalow
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wax M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellereve, Public Relations at Le Reve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We deeply regret not meeting your expectations during your stay at our hotel.
I would like to clarify that we are not in demolition or construction, as you mentioned in your comment. The hotel had updates that did not interfere with the guests activities.
The “construction” that you mentioned was a maintenance job, and this job took only two hours, Maintenance is something that never ends in a hotel, for example if a pipe breaks we have to cut the floor and this is part of Common Maintenance works unfortunately there is no other way to fix a pipe, we try to do in the shortest time possible and fix the fault as soon as possible.
As we have said the hotel has had very good changes and the guests are very happy with these changes. the hotel is always at 100% occupancy, this demonstrates the customer satisfaction, since the majority are repetitive guests and this recognition from our guests demonstrates that we are delivering on their needs, We still keep improving to meet the high standards that you deserve and we appreciate your comments about the pool, we are already working on it.
About Wi-Fi, as we have already mentioned, the hotel offers Wi-Fi service in common areas (restaurant, reception, pool), not in the rooms, maybe that's why you did not have Internet access, so far we haven´t hire a person responsible for turn on and off the Wi-Fi, it´s a 24 hrs. service.
Indeed, the hotel runs on massive gas-powered generators, but this is the first time we received a comment about the sound that causes the generator, we apologize if this sound brings bad memories of your stay in Iraq, and we are already working on the generators too.
This is a new administration and our main goal is the satisfaction of our guests, and it´s thanks to our guest’s preference we are members of Small Luxury Hotels and we have to continue maintaining high standards. Le Reve Hotel & Spa is NOT a Time share as you mention it, the Hotel offers a Vacation Club which is not the same. In the Riviera Maya most hotels have their own vacation club. These memberships allow the guests to be part of the hotel; The Hotel is their second home in the Riviera Maya. To be honest we do not understand your discomfort if the Guests are interested in being part of Le Reve Hotel & Spa, You did not have to retire and why you didn´t want to sit next to the sales people and guests interested in the Vacation Club? if they never bothered you, and was very independent from your place, Some guests are interested, some not, the important thing is that we must respect the decisions of each guest, as many guests fall in love of Le Reve and want to come back soon or like you ,who was not entirely satisfied.
We do hope to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at Le Reve, in March of 2014. We had a bungalow that opened out to a little personal deck, and plunge pool. We could watch the Caribbean sea from our bed. We loved the quiet romantic atmosphere. The water was warm , and we snorkeled most days when the waves were not strong. We found the staff very kind and helpful. The food was excellent, and the servers went over and above. They served us lunch on our little deck, or the beach if we asked. They surprised us with dinner by the pool for our Anniversary, and the night before we left Roberto and the chef surprised us with a Lobster Dinner on the beach. Including beach chairs with a fire to follow. We would go back without hesitation. We always had hot water for our shower, and plenty of towels. The only things that were lacking was internet service in our room was hit and miss. We do and did understand that they were doing some construction, and the property is only going to get better. We are looking forward to going back next year Lord willing. We had an awesome time at the Le Reve!

Room Tip: The Bungalows!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ricdeb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My daughter got married at Le Reve two weeks ago and I would like to add to the comments made previously by the mother of the groom and another guest who stayed in that hotel at the same time.

The hotel rooms at Le Reve were mediocre at best, the great majority of them did not have running hot water at all and most of our friends and family including ourselves had to shower in cold water. Many times the only water that came out from the faucet was brown.

We never had enough towels and the towels that they did provide to us were old, some of them were even shredding and they did smell and yes there was a flood In our room and some of our outfits also got wet, including the ones we had to use for the wedding. Le Reve moved us to a different room and tried to dry the room that had the flood, but then turned around the next day and gave that same room to the in laws who arrived a day later and encountered the same problems that we did.

Le Reve told us that from the 25 rooms that we prepaid hey could not actually deliver one because it was under construction. The truth is that we found out was that the room that they said it was under construction was in perfect condition, but they had decided to use it as a show room for sales purposes, this after we had booked and fully paid for the complete hotel for our wedding and signed a contract that we had to book and prepay all the 25 rooms in order to have the wedding in that hotel.

When we complained to Adriana, the manager, about all the problems in our room and the fact that our guests did not have running hot water, she stated “well if you don’t like it you can
leave and we will reimburse your money”. Adriana knew perfectly well that at that point we could not move out to another hotel and leave all our guests there. We found Adriana to be always rude whenever she was approached, not only by us, but whenever our guests approached her as well. She was very unprofessional.

On the other hand Arlenis, the wedding coordinator, went out of her way to to tryaccommodate us and to help us with the wedding, she was really great, caring and wonderful and we can only compliment her and the rest of the people who work for Le Reve. The chef and his staff also delivered great food and service at the welcome reception and the wedding dinner as well. It was thanks to them that the wedding itself turned out to be really nice and well organized.

It is regrettable that the management in Le Reve was not honest to us and insisted on full payment before admitting to us that the hotel was under construction, therefore not giving us a chance to rebook the wedding some place else.

The hotel sold us one thing and delivered another. If you are considering to stay at Le Reve think it over.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel. The air conditioners don't cool properly, some of them leak, and the...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hana0012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I travelled to Le Reve with a friend for some relaxing quiet days on the beach. Given the price we paid for our stay (approx. $250 per night) we were expecting much higher standards. First of all, the hotel is currently under construction which was not referenced anywhere when we made our booking. We were negatively surprised when we arrived and saw that the hotel doesn't even have a proper entrance or reception (there is only one person at a desk with a laptop) which is not welcoming or professional. We later realised that taxis also have a hard time getting in or finding the hotel because the entrance is being built. Because of all the construction going on, noise is an annoying constant and you will see builders everywhere, from the restaurant to the pool area. Breakfast was included in our fee but the options available are a la carte and very limited. If you eat more than 2 plates you will pay extra, but waiters don't really know how to explain it well. Overall service is slow and uncoordinated, even if we spoke fluent spanish with them. Prices for food are very expensive, and the few existing options are not excellent e.g. a $15 usd ceaser salad comes with 3 leaves of lettuce, 4 bread cruttons and some sparkles of parmesan (chicken only if you remember to ask for it).

As for the pool, there is no friendly/safe way to get in/out of it, the towels are not always available (you need to ask and wait....) and they are old and stained. Plus there is no shower to use before the pool/after the beach. If you decide to try your luck in the beack in front of the hotel, we wish you the best in being able to have a swim without hurting yourself in some rocks! That part of the beach is completely full of those.

The cherry on top of the cake was the check out. The final bill was presented to us on a tiny calculator with no receipts attached or descriptive invoice. We had to ask to see the detail, which was then shown in a laptop and only after printed. There was no integrated system between the restaurant and reception which means all expenses are inserted manually leaving room for mistakes. As a consequence, we had to double pay our first dinner as they didn't have any register of it being paid and (shame on us!) we didn't keep the payment receipt.

I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay at this hotel because it is clearly not in conditions to be hosting guests and certainly not when charging these prices which are not aligned with the quality you might be expecting to get.

Room Tip: Viceroy seemed to be a really nice hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sofia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellereve, Public Relations at Le Reve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We deeply regret not meeting your expectations during your stay at our hotel. Since the majority of our guests are in love of Le Reve, we found your review a little bit surprising, because the night before your check out you were pleased with the hotel and was interested in come back.
I would like to mention that we are not under construction ,We are updating some facilities in order to comply with the expectations of all our guests and thereby provide a better service, I would mention that this updating, does not interfere with the guests activities , This process of updating will be completed at the end of this week.
Regarding the food at the resort, our restaurant offer a great variety of food, and is highly recommended by our guests, The Gourmet All Inclusive a la carte is what distinguishes us from many hotels as you can see in previously reviews. Our Executive Chef has tasted each of the plates on the menu and we have had excellent reviews, the proportions in each plate are appropriate for all our guests.
Our Guest Service staff is always available for assisting our clients and we are sure that if you would have mentioned any discontentment to us, it would have been a pleasure for us to help you and this situation could be ended differently.
The service we offer is excellent, We try to have our staff very happy and always give their best, is the main policy of the hotel to make your stay pleasant, As I mentioned we distinguish ourselves by service and quality and we have a long list of reviews that we can quote regarding the good service and the food at the hotel.
About your Final Bill, we have no record of your payment in our books, if you like we can send all our transactions of the day and does not show a double charge. Please provide us your email in order that we can send this information.
We value all guest feedback as an opportunity to continue improving our services and products for our guests.

Best Regards

Hotel Le Reve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Last weekend i stayed for a wedding in this hotel. I was one of the guests who had booked a bungalow room several months before the wedding. However, one week before the wedding, I was informed that my room was no longer available as they were undergoing construction. Instead, they offered me the SPA room. This was simply a massage room converted into a hotel room.
Here is the list of all the issues I had during the entire weekend:
-No hot water throughout the weekend
-Water pressure was very low, sometimes it would only trickle out
-My room smelled like sewage (the spa room was next to the sewage drains/pumps)
-Internet only available in lobby and terribly slow, could not even change a flight online as pages would not load
-In the mornings the grasscutters would start their work while everyone was sleeping!
-There is no laundry service and the hotel had no Iron to iron my shirt before the wedding. Luckily another guest brought one.

The hotel has a great view of the caribean and the beach is really nice. However, as soon as you get in the water it is very rocky and sharp. To go swimming you have to walk about 300ft down the beach to find a good spot.

I have to admit the wedding itself was very nice and well planned. The food in the restaurant was very tasty as well. There was only 1 employee (the wedding planner Arlenis) who was very helpful and kind. All other employees were not hospitable at all.

For the price this hotel charges (nearing $500 a room), it is a terrible deal and without all the amenities you would expect from such an expensive hotel. Before moving to that hotel i was in an all inclusive 5 star resort for less than $150.
I hope future guests have better luck.

Room Tip: Do not accept the SPA room as an option. You will regret it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellereve, Public Relations at Le Reve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Andrei C,

Thank you for your comment, It´s Thanks to our guests comments that we can make improvements and comply with the High standards that you deserve.
we deeply regret that our Hotel didn’t meet your expectations, We were aware of the inconvenience that you had during your stay, at that time the General Manager was supervising that the corrections were taken.

We would like to clarify that the hotel did not assign weddings rooms, the Groom or Bride did and they Knew about the Spa Room would be used.
Regarding the odor that you mentioned, we had some issues with the Sewage Treatment Pump, but only lasted a few hours and you were compensated for all the inconveniences that this matter cause you during this couple hours.
We are very surprise to read this comments since all the guests were very happy with the service and in more than one opportunity the wedding couple and the closest family were giving great complement to Arlenis about the food and the service at the restaurant. The bride left a lovely comment directly to Arlenis and the executive Chef which was called by the bride to give him her congratulations.
Our entire staff works very hard to ensure that your stay at Le Reve be Pleasant, we distinguish ourselves by service and quality.

About the Internet, We offer the Internet Services only in Common Areas, Restaurant and lobby. We don´t offer Internet Services Inside the Rooms That's why you did not receive the signal and Yes it was a little bit slow due the number of guests who were using the signal at the same time. However we are working over this matter to Improve it.
The hotel has 10 irons and 10 ironing boards, which can be used any time that the guest request, we had irons available at that time, we haven´t any iron request from you.
We don´t Have laundry Services in the hotel, However the guests can request the service in concierge with 48 hours in advance and we will send the cloths to the Laundry professional service with additional Charge.
It is wrong to say that the hotel charge Usd 500 for all the rooms, we do have 5 different room categories and they all have different cost, The Private Garden Room was Usd 251.72 and the Bungalow Suites (Only 5 at the Property) cost Usd 490, You can verify this in our website and you will see all the special Offers that we have.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Hotel Le Reve & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed there for a wedding in June last year. The facility was okay and the food was not special. For the price I paid (unfortunately the newly weds didn't pay for anything), I have to say it was underwhelming. The beach was good, but it was also rocky a few steps into the water. I would have to say that this place is not packed, and this is one of the benefits you get if you want to be secluded. The staffs were really nice.

Room Tip: Get a smaller room. I had one of the larger rooms there and it did not add too much to my experience...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieZZZZZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellereve, Public Relation at Le Reve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Charlie ZZZ,

Thank you for your comments, your feedback is very important for us. As your mentioned you stayed in June last year, we want invite you to visit us and discover all the updates we have done to Le Reve, Le Reve is Reloaded!, The Restaurant is brand new, and now we have Gourmet All Inclusive a la carte.
We would be delighted to welcoming back and to show you Le Reve Reloaded!

Best Regards.

Hotel Le Reve & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,775 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,635 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,087 reviews
3.3 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#43 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,380 reviews
3.3 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#53 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Reve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Address: Playa Xcalacoco, Fraccion 2A Playa Del Carmen Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £85 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Reve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Rêve Hotel & Spa is a luxury and modern boutique hotel in Playa del Carmen. With a unique collection of 28 rooms overlooking the Caribbean Sea with the perfect blend of nature, peace, gastronomy and mexican hospitality. Our guests are able to book just the hotel room or they can indulge with our unlimited food & beverages "Gourmet All Inclusive A la Carte" . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Reve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Reve Hotel And Spa
Le Reve Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing