We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hodeout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Ranked #100 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
“A perfect hodeout”
Reviewed 27 March 2010

I went to Le Reve to attend my sister´s wedding. I had high expectations since after all it was a special event for the family. Since my arrival, the staff, starting from the concierge desk and the cleaning staff made my vacations one of the best I have ever had. Here are some facts which made me rank this hotel as “excellent”:

•A small and quite boutique hotel of just 25 rooms is the perfect destination to rest and relax. Even when the hotel was full, it was not crowded, so I was able to use all the facilities without feeling trapped.
•A secluded and convenient destination. The hotel is 15 minutes away from Playa del Carmen, so you can enjoy the nightlife of 5th avenue and then head back to the hotel to rest.
•Food. The dishes were all very well prepared, exquisite and plentiful
•Incredible service. The service from the entire hotel staff was personalized. You are not treated as another room number but instead you are being called by your name. Another thing is that the staff is very friendly.
•Excellent room. I stayed at the SPA Suite and the bed was like heaven. The room is big and it has an outstanding shower.

After 4 days in paradise, I didn’t want to leave. Definitely, I will return and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sakmargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    183
    68
    32
    38
See reviews for
107
553
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2010

My boyfriend and I recently enjoyed a 5-night stay at Le Reve. It was the perfect setting to relax and enjoy each other's company. The staff was EXCELLENT and accommodated every request. We looked forward to the fresh-squeezed orange juice every morning and enjoyed getting to know most of the employees by name. The waitstaff was very encouraging despite my pathetic attempts at speaking Spanish. Thanks to them- I managed to learn a few more vocabulary words!
As for the location, it is fairly isolated but is an easy cab ride to downtown Playa del Carmen.

The only negative thing we can say about Le Reve is their dinner menu. We were disappointed to find that it is mostly Italian/American food. We requested a Mexican/traditional dish and Antonio (our waiter) suggested trying a "Mexican platter." It was the best meal we had during our entire stay in Mexico. They MUST add it to their menu. We ate in downtown Playa and at neighboring resorts and the meals did not even come close to the meal we had. We would have eaten it every night!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Le Reve is a lovely, charming, little hotel. We rented a beach bungalow and it was just what we were hoping for. We got a deal through Orbitz so our review is based on the discounted price we paid. We feel it is a great boutique hotel and not a luxury hotel. The room was beautiful and the bed was perfect. We slept like babies every night. Our room looked out to our private plunge pool which was nice and refreshing after sitting on the beach. The bathroom was nice. The hot water took a little bit to warm up which is what I would expect in a developing country and we were never in a hurry so it didn't matter.

The beach was clean and well kept and not very crowded. This was definitely not the case at the large hotels near by. The ocean was warm and good for swimming if the winds were down. The hotel provide snorkeling gear and a sea kayak at no cost. They also provide water shoes which are necessary if you walk in the ocean as there is a little coral and rock.

Breakfast was delicious. We highly recommend trying the local dishes on the menu as they are very flavorful and an nice change from traditional eggs and toast. They offer freshly squeezed juices which are also definitely worth a try. We only ate one dinner at the hotel which was okay and overpriced which we found common for other dinners we had in the area.

The staff was wonderful and accommodating. Any questions or issues we raised were addressed immediately and to our satisfaction.

All in all we felt Le Reve was a wonderful place to stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingHotdish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Le Reve is perfectly located, about 20 minutes north of the city, Playa del Carmen, and about 45 minutes south of Cancun. The resort has only 25 rooms, 5 of which are in bungalow-type structures right on the beach - which are wonderful! There is great attention to detail and personal service. The setting is beautiful, the beach well appointed and very private in feeling. The restaurant serves excellent food. If you are looking for a relaxing escape to a beautiful setting, this is for you. Only two negatives: the sandy beach is beautiful - but the entry to the water is rocky and not very inviting. Walking along the beach a few hundred yards in either direction, however, and there is plenty of easy water access. The other negative is that once you leave the highway to approach the resort, the road is very rough, basically unpaved. Finally, a note: this resort is NOT for familes interested in bringing children...they would be bored to tears. It is for couples seeking a romantic serene escape - and a marvelous choice for that..

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerlady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We booked Le Reve hoping it would be the crown of our Yucatan tour. The site was promising and the rooms looked nice and chic.
First of all, the access to the hotel is rather poor. Not only is the road bad, it's also not marked properly (unlike other hotels in the area), so one has no idea which exit to take from the highway. Finding it poses a problem even with local taxi service.
The room was indeed lovely, spacious, with simple, clean design, wonderful view and perfect bedlinens (we had the Horizon suite, which is not a suite but a room). Yet, there was not a single chair in it, probably for fear it would clash with the design. So, nowhere to sit, one can just stand or lie.
It is unfortunatelly impossible to bathe in the sea, because there are rather large and sharp rocks right in front of the hotel. We had to walk up or down the beach and bathe in front of other hotels, which were clean of rocks and, moreover, protected by a sort of breakwater, nothing we encountered at Le Reve.
Having had no car, we dined at the hotel every night. The menu is rather limited, and can easily be exhausted within a week. After the first night I had bad stomach problems, not necessaarily related to the hotel food, but I had nothing else these days. Although the waiters were very kind, they were also pretty inapt. It was only on our last day that we got the breakfast right, although we just ordered the continental breakfast as noted in the menu. One day it was one fruit platter for us to share instead of one each, than no orange juice, we never got brown bread, although we asked for it, etc.
And last, but certainly not least, the prices and the billing. Half of the costs was paid in advance. The other half was paid immediatelly upon arrival, which would have been no problem if it weren't charged in pesos, at a very high exchange rate. Naturally, my credit card was debited in dollars, at a regular exchange rate, so that eventually, the total price was 25% higher than expected, what with unexpected taxes and this shady exchange policy.
One should think that our holiday was ruined, it was actually rather nice, but without these things it would have been perfect. The cleaning service always did excellent job, the room was spotlessly clean. The other personnel was also always attentive to our needs. I really enjoyed being far from busy Playa del Carmen and it's mass tourism.
Yet, one would expect much more from a 5 star hotel sharging 375 dollars per room per night.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brank0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

My husband and I spent few days looking for relaxation from the busy city life. If you are looking for a beautiful, secluded hideout to get away from it all, this is your place. While the food and service were good, the location is what sets this hotel apart. The place is away from the big all inclusive and crowded hotels and offers very good quality service. The walk to Playa del Carmen (1.5 hours) is very pleasant. The room was decorated with simple minimalist décor, with very roomy bathroom with a modern glass shower. Rooms don’t have television, which is a bonus!
The food was good, but with limited choice and after few days you might get tired of it. Also, the fitness center needs improvement, and there are no SPA services available other than massages and few treatments.
There are not scheduled activities at the hotel, which was what we were looking for. You can ask the front desk to organise excursions. Be prepared for the price tag - we find the snorkelling trip ludicrously expensive (although the experience was very good).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaniades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossining, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Le Reve Hotel was truly a gem. My girlfriend and I spent about 4 days there in January and we wouldn't hesitate to return. The staff was friendly and professional and the guys in the restaurant were helpful beyond the call of duty. The weather wasn't great when we were there - it was unusually blustery and cool - but it was still a glorious trip because of the setting, the comfortable rooms and bed and the quiet and privacy of the place. We were sitting in the restaurant drinking coffee trying to stay warm when Freddy draped a cover over my girlfriend's shoulders. It was a really sweet gesture.

The food was exceptionally good (and I'm a bit of a food snob from New York) and we ate every meal there except for a couple. The included all you can eat breakfast (get the chilaquiles with chicken and egg) and excellent coffee pretty much held us until dinner (try the delicious ceviche). And if we wanted a snack there was always beachside service.

The hotel is beautiful and feels very exclusive, yet it's also homey and casual. And it's very romantic. This was the first trip my girlfriend and I took together and it definitely helped to solidify our relationship. If you walk down the beach a ways you'll find a mega hotel where the beach was as crowded as Coney Island on a Sunday. We were really glad to get back to Le Reve.

The beach is gorgeous with soft, white sand but, swimming-wise, there is coral right up to the waterline. Fortunately, they provide water shoes, so if you just walk out a ways that's not a problem.

The place was not inexpensive but if you want a romantic trip away from the craziness of Cancun and Playa del Carmen (which is only a ten minute drive), this is the place to go. And we hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MathewP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#46 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,425 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#6 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#11 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.1 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#56 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Reve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Address: Playa Xcalacoco, Fraccion 2A Playa Del Carmen Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Reve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Rêve Hotel & Spa is a luxury and modern boutique hotel in Playa del Carmen. With a unique collection of 28 rooms overlooking the Caribbean Sea with the perfect blend of nature, peace, gastronomy and mexican hospitality. Our guests are able to book just the hotel room or they can indulge with our unlimited food & beverages "Gourmet All Inclusive A la Carte" . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Reve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Reve Hotel And Spa
Le Reve Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing