We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Ranked #96 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

We stayed at this resort for a week and were not dissapointed. Everything about this place was wonderful. The room was beautiful with a nice balcony overlooking the pool and sea. The staff was absolutely wonderful especially wonderful. You should definitely try one of the cocktails, they were delicious. The beach was beautiful and very quiet and last but not least, the food was wonderful. We did in Playa del Carmen one night and the staff recommended us to an italian restaurant which was also wonderful.

So if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, romantic place you should definitely go to the Le Reve

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Utrecht17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    173
    64
    31
    36
See reviews for
97
539
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

After reading all the rave reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor I decided this would be the perfect place to get married and have our honeymoon…and I was not disappointed! Everything about this hotel was amazing! We wanted something small and exclusive (without the price) and that is exactly what we got. Since we went in slow season, we felt like we had the resort to ourselves. The hotel is only 25 rooms and at most, 8 rooms were filled during our stay. Arlenis, the wedding coordinator, was great to work with and helped us create the perfect, intimate beach wedding. She handled all the details and was on top of everything! The food at the hotel was mouthwatering. I was concerned that we would get bored eating at the same restaurant for most of our meals, but we found by the end of the week we actually preferred eating at the hotel versus going into town because the food was so AMAZING. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic getaway where you relax by the pool and on the beach, this is the place for you. If you are looking for more interaction with other hotel guests, or a party atmosphere this is not for you. Be aware this hotel is off the beaten path, so it takes 10-15 minutes to get into town, but well worth it in my opinion! The staff gets to know you, is extremely friendly and enjoys interacting with the guests. Both Valentino and Jacqueline (concierges) were extremely helpful when we asked for restaurant recommendations or wanted to rent a car to drive to Tulum. Eight days went to fast and they had to drag us back to the airport kicking & screaming ☺

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurelxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We loved everything about this hotel - loved that it doesn't remotely resemble the ridiculous mega hotel-circuses you find all over the beach in Playa. Only issues were the very spotty internet access and traveling back and forth to Playa on a very bumpy road (the hotel is a few miles north of Playa "downtown"). The staff was subtle, helpful, genuine and didn't seem forced into friendliness. Breakfast was good and filling (and included in our price!), dinner was pretty good; great beef/cheese chimichangas, corn soup and scallops and they had decent liquor/beer. This hotel has an open air atmosphere throughout (common areas and rooms) and really shows off it's pretty the beach. This is an adults-only place and it felt very secluded and quiet. One of the staff told us that the resort was a wedding gift between a Canadian couple - how romantic. I highly recommend this resort if you want to be off the beaten path and prefer subtley and quality without pretentiousness.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dzngirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

My husband & I booked Le Reve over the 3 day Labor Day weekend. We also have a difference in opinion on Le Reve and maybe he'll post his side. Couples huh..................

We booked the most expensive room in the house which was an oceanfront casita with
private pool. When they said ocean front it truly meant ocean front. The casita was less than 10 feet from the beach itself. Incredible.

Here's the list of "a few more steps to excellence" - At the price point of the casita using other 4 to 5 stars hotels we stayed at as a basis: The airconditioner didn't work, we moved to a different casita but the air conditioning couldn't keep up. Since the casita has a thatched roof I assume it can't cool. Talked to another casita couple from the Midwest and they had the same issue. Le Reve has room service, neither casita had a room service menu I had to ask for the large bulky menus from the restaurant and keep them in the room. Turn down service 1 night of the 3, never emptied the trash never left clean towels. The bathroom as in water closet/toliet has no door. My pet peeve might not bother others. The bathroom counter had two sinks so there wasn't any space to put down a makeup bag or shaving kit. Bottom line - improve turn down, leave towels and room service menu, invest in a better split air conditioning unit and for those shy gals who like bathroom time to be me time, maybe a door in the commode area.

Here's the 4 star part :
Food -Breakfast as in a "full breakfast" is including in our rate. NICE loved it and they will serve that comp breakfast in your casita. Food overall was good, one night not so good and they comped it and the staff was sweet about the comp.

Staff- They are 5 star perfect. The perfect combination of friendly without overly in your face friendly, professional, talkative, accomodating and concerned that you have a wonderful experience. I can't say enough great things about Le Reve's staff. Love Jacquline the manager and Freddy our waiter for both food & drinks.

Spa- I didn't exactly see a spa room per say but my husband and I had an excellent massage. Le Reve has a 2 story open air tower above the pool area where our massage took place so we had a nice breeze and the ocean in our ears during service. My massage was swedish and I put the massage itself in my top 5 list.

Beach/Pool Area/Bar - Again this hotel is on the beach, very very close to the shore. It doesn't get any better than that. Nice pool, wish there were steps to get into the pool for those of us older travelers, it's hard on the knees. There is a slope on one side to walk in though. Great cocktails served by great staff.

Location - 50 minutes to Cancun Airport. 15 to 20 minutes to downdown Playa Del Carmen. On the same strip of beach as The Tides if you're familar with the area.

Overall - Small boutique hotel, a lot of heart & charm. Would I return.........yes but not at the casita rate since it didn't deliver the goods at that price. This hotel is ideal for couples, honeymooners. Great to hold a wedding where you rent the entire hotel. Euro's would also love the rustic Yucatan feel to this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsDallasMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

My (now) husband and I went to Le Reve for our Honeymoon. We had an outstanding time. The service was stellar (especially Valentino!), the food wonderful and the atmosphere extremely romantic. I would recommend it for romantic couples ONLY and if you are the type of people that thrive on seclusion and privacy. There are no TVs and other guests kept to themselves for the most part.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CALaufman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Le Reve is a unique and special boutique resort that has the highest level of service I have ever experienced! you will not regret staying at Le Reve. I would recommend it to anybody (except if you are traveling with children) and I can't wait to go back!! thank you for living up to my expectation and making my holiday so special!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

My fiance and I are currently planning our destination wedding in Mexico and Le Reve was on our list of possible venues. So we decided to travel down there and see if the pictures and good reviews were actually true. After renting a car in Cancun, we drove the incredibly easy 45min to the Playa Del Carmen area and turned off onto a dirt and headed toward the beach. After only a few minutes on the little back road, we came upon Le Reve and what can only be described as one of the most beautiful hotel lobbies I have ever seen. From the moment you arrive, you are surrounded by incredible views of the ocean. The entire hotel has an open feel to it and yet it feels cozy when you are there. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly the entire time. Our amazing waiter Freddy even gave my fiance some of their secret (and amazing!) hot sauce to take home. Speaking of food, the restaurant is simply amazing! Our breakfast every morning was truly delicious! Fresh fruit, fresh bread, delicious entree!

I could on and on about every part of this hotel and how wonderful it is, but you obviously get my opinion on it. Needless to say, we are definitely having our wedding here and couldn't think of a better hotel or better staff to share this occasion with.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomGiffordNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#43 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,270 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#6 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#14 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#52 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Reve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Address: Playa Xcalacoco, Fraccion 2A Playa Del Carmen Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Reve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Rêve Hotel & Spa is a luxury and modern boutique hotel in Playa del Carmen. With a unique collection of 28 rooms overlooking the Caribbean Sea with the perfect blend of nature, peace, gastronomy and mexican hospitality. Our guests are able to book just the hotel room or they can indulge with our unlimited food & beverages "Gourmet All Inclusive A la Carte" . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Le Reve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Reve Hotel And Spa
Le Reve Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing