We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, but falls short in the little details sometimes.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Ranked #99 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2011

This hotel is beautiful, very nice low-key style, we stayed in a beach front bungalow, and got to fall asleep every night listening to the sounds of the ocean. -- I think you'd be hard pressed to find another breach-front room for the same price in Playa. -- it is a good value.

The hotel gets alot of notes right, and some not so right. For cleanliness I have to give them 5 stars (out of 5), our room was always spotless and I saw the staff working tirelessly every morning to make the hotel look perfect (and the did).

The concierge was great, they were at our service and helped us plan outings, and took care of details for us, such as renting cars, returning cars, calling local business, etc.

The places where the hotel falls short was in the restaurant service, we noticed that the consistency of the service was just not up to par with the type of resort that Le Reve is, for example, the staff sometimes forgets small details about the order you made, (ie: forgets the bread, or forgets napkins, or your plate might come with a slightly altered dish that you were expecting). These by themselves are not a big deal, but for me, they break the spell that a luxury resort is weaving, and then i had to worry about asking for napkins, or asking for bread, etc, etc. Not a deal breaker, but i noticed. -- by the same token, alot of the staff does work extra hard to be friendly. -- The restaurant menu did not change for our entire stay, we highly recomend their apetizers, they were incredible .. but their main dishes were just ok, nothing worth writing home about.

We also did have a non-functioning AC unit in our room for 2 nights, but I can hardly blame the hotel for that, once we reported it and demanded that it be fixed, it was repaired and we had no more problems with it.

One comment that I left for the management, was to introduce themselves to the guests, and make themselves available, so in case things are not going 100% smoothly, the guests feels welcome to bring it up and have it handled. -- I only met the general manager after being at the hotel 4 or 5 days, and then it was only by chance.

The beds are incredible, and the beautiful animals crafted by the housekeeping staff are a great touch. If you are looking for a hotel with WiFi, then you probably want to stay in one of their suites or garden view rooms, the WiFi signal did not reach our breachfront bungalow (we had the furthest one from the main building on the property though)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lagosr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2011

Our stay at Le Reve in Jan 2011 was everything we had hoped. Thanks to Jetsetter we got a great deal, but I would recommend this boutique resort even at retail price. There are I believe 4 types of rooms – garden, balcony, master suite, and beach bungalow. We stayed in a garden room, and I think I would prefer it to the balcony room because there is a large outdoor soaking tub that gets hot water—the Jacuzzi section of the *gorgeous* infinity pool does not appear to have heat, so if you are looking for the hot tub experience, this outdoor tub is great for just relaxing in the evenings with a drink or a book. The value of the service at Le Reve is amazing. The staff/guest ratio is so high, at peak times I think there was a staff member on site for each of the 25 rooms! The staff is extremely well trained to attend to your every need, but no one was at all overbearing, annoying, or sales-y.

As far as food goes, I am used to Chicago food prices and these seemed reasonable to me. One thing to keep in mind is that all prices include tax AND gratuity. The chef was excellent. I was at first a bit nervous about the food as I had heard it was mostly American-influenced and I like authentic Mexican food. No problem—each evening after dinner, our server Ismael and the Chef worked together to give us authentic options to plan the next night’s meal. We had pork cochinita, a whole roasted fish for 2, barbacoa, chlles rellenos, chicken mole, and barbecue ribs. Our favorites were the barbacoa, chiles rellenos and barbecue ribs, but everything was excellent.

We are not big drinkers, but the drinks were well prepared and the service again was excellent.

The grounds are kept meticulously every morning and throughout the day—there is not a stone or leaf out of place, ever. There are also nice touches like afternoon tea at 4:30-5pm and nightly turn down service with a little dessert treat. Room service is no extra charge, and neither is pool service, beach service or wherever-you-want-to-eat service.

Overall this hotel gives the feel of a hidden gem with a relaxed, quiet atmosphere. Down the beach to both directions are all-inclusive/annoying spring break type resorts with 1000s of beach chairs, loud music, etc. do yourself a favor and stay at Le Reve. You won’t be disappointed.

Would recommend setting up a day trip to Xel-Ha which is great for snorkeling. Also if you want great wood fired pizza, walk down the beach to the left of the resort, past Azul and the Tides is a path up from the beach to a tiny place called Coco Cabanas. Bring cash as they do not take credit card. Great for a lunch or mid afternoon snack.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVestal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Gorgeous setting on the beach a few miles north of Playa del Carmen. Understated elegance, immaculate maintenance, excellent service WITH A SMILE, extradordinary food. Small, quiet (no children allowed). Tasteful and beautiful, everywhere the eye happens to rest. Wood and wicker, no plastic in sight. A real dream (pun intended!).

Minor nuisance (to us): no wireless service one day of five, no telephone service two days.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmwechsler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

WONDERFUL STAFF
I would first like to thank the amazing staff for making our experience at Le Reve absolutely phenomenal. The beauty of this natural paradise is only rivaled by the impeccable service offered by the staff at Le Reve. Without my knowledge of the events that were about to transpire, my fiance along with chief concierge, Jaqueline, and fellow staff worked together to set up a proposal that would be any girls dream!

BEACH AND EXCURSIONS
The gorgeous beach was literally just footsteps away from our beautiful, clean, garden suit. On the beach, courtesy of Le Reve there are plenty of hammocks and huge, comfortable beach lounge chairs. Le Reve also provides snorkeling gear. In the afternoon we decided to walk down the beach and we found a person selling excursions to nearby places such as the Tulum, Xel-xa, and Chichen Itza. We chose to do an excursion for the second day of our trip that included visiting Tulum and then spending the rest of the day at Xel-xa. Transportation was included in the $95 per person rate (and yes this is for BOTH Tulum and Xel-xa).

Tulum is where the Mayan ruins are. We were provided with an english speaking guide and then were allowed to go roam the beach for a little bit. I wish we had more time to explore here. The beach was amazing and actually reminded me of the movie Pirates of the Caribbean. Next we were transported to Xel-Xa, an amazing amusement park that is home to the world's largest natural aquarium. Here we snorkeled, went tubing, zip-lined, jumped off of cliffs, swam in caves, and saw many animals such as manatees, dolphins, and parrots. Unlimited food and drink, including alcohol was included, in our $95 admission.

DINNER AND MY WONDERFUL ENGAGEMENT
If you would like, Le Reve can arrange for you and your special someone to have dinner either on the beach, or in the spa (which is an open structure that overlooks the beach). My fiance arranged to have a surprise dinner (and ultimately a surprise proposal) for me at the spa, which was amazing. We had a gorgeous view of the beach and the staff at Le Reve had tiki torches burning which made it even more beautiful. The food was extremely delicious! When we returned back to our room, we saw that our amazing Chief Concierge Jaqueline (who is absolutely wonderful), decorated our room with swans and rose petals. It was so beautiful and romantic. Jaqueline, thank you so much for making my engagement such a wonderful, unforgettable and unique experience, I cannot thank you enough!!!!!

ROOM
We had the Garden Suit as I mentioned before. Personally, I think these rooms are the BEST! We had a view of the infinity pool and the ocean, and we had what is called a roman bath. This is an outdoor bath that has both hot and cold water. That meant that we could sit in our roman bath at night, even when it was a little chilly. Around our little garden were Jasmine bushes giving us the perfect amount of privacy. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was beautiful. I loved the rainshower. We spent very little time inside of the room, which was extremely clean, and spent a lot of time in the Roman bath, especially at night (we absolutely loved it!).

Will we be coming back? Absolutely!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Even though we arrived at Le Reve when apparently there was a bit of a cold spell, and the weather was very cloudy most of the time we were there, we absolutely loved this hotel. The service is the best there is and we have traveled extensively to many great hotels!! The drive up the dirt road is not bad at all by the way, and well worth it, when you arrive to ck. in the view from the desk is stunning!!! The hotel staff goes out of its way to make sure you are having a great time and have anything you could ever want at your fingertips! The room was spotless and oh soooo cool.....we loved the shower and the ambiance of the hotel as a whole. This is the most relaxing place ever!!!! Roberto and all the waiters are sooo nice and helpful with the area in general. The beach is not the greatest, with the rocks, but most of the beaches in this area looked that way. We did however walk about 150 yards to the left and got in the water there without rocks. I think if the weather had been nicer we would have gotten in the water more because after you get past the initial rocks it is completely wonderful and sandy. Plus the hotel provides water shoes for you to use. The turndown service was great as well, ambiance is sooooo romantic at this hotel, the lighting is so soft and romantic as well, and the music at dinner is perfect. Now for the food..........OUTSTANDING IN EVERY WAY! Breakfast is out of this world WITH FRESH SQUEEZED ORANGE JUICE>>> and actually I don't know why they say it is just a free continental breakfast b/c yes you get that but you also are free to order from their yummy b'fast menu, including omelets, french toast, bagel with eggs, etc. all the food was fantastic!!!! We ate dinner here most nights too and it was always FANTASTIC. We would love to go back when the weather is nice and hopefully we will. This is a very, very special place. :))

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We have had a relaxing stay at this hotel in Jan 2011
The food was best we have had in Mexico, breakfast delicious ( except NO freshly squeezed orange juice was served). Cocktails just perfect.
Outstanding staff, very friendly & engaging.
The rooms are beautifully designed.

The only thing I could complain a little was the beach. It is certainly with a lot of " character" & you have to wear shoes if you want to go for a swim in the sea, walking over little coral formations & tiny sea urchins.
Also depending on the time of the day & wind there is a smell of fuel & often noise from the jet-ski's going up & down along the beach stretch, sometimes very close to the swimming area which is cordoned off for safety.

Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moniaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Leave the kids, laptop and cellphones behind! This is for the grown ups. With only 25 rooms it is a gem in Playa which is packed with lovely but impersonal monster resorts. If you're looking for privacy, great food and personal service this is the place. Freddy and Roberto both made the best margaritas I've ever had and Ivan the finest strawberry daiquiri. The beach is a delight, uncrowded, cleaned daily and the sand groomed. Just stroll 1/2 mile and check out the other beaches...though not inexpensive, remember you get what you pay for. If you want to check out, check in to Le Reve.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HadVui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#48 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,680 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,808 reviews
3.3 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#56 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,546 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,133 reviews
3.3 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#40 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Reve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Reve Hotel & Spa

Address: Playa Xcalacoco, Fraccion 2A Playa Del Carmen Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £79 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Reve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Rêve Hotel & Spa is a luxury and modern boutique hotel in Playa del Carmen. With a unique collection of 28 rooms overlooking the Caribbean Sea with the perfect blend of nature, peace, gastronomy and mexican hospitality. Our guests are able to book just the hotel room or they can indulge with our unlimited food & beverages "Gourmet All Inclusive A la Carte" . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Reve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Reve Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Hotel And Spa
Le Reve Playa Del Carmen
Le Reve Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing