We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Experience”
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #64 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding Experience”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

It has been nearly 3 months since our wedding, and we are still talking about what a beautiful and perfect experience Allibe and the other staff at Hacienda Tres Rios prepared for us. In addition to having everything picture perfect (from the presentation of food to the lit-up-dance-floor), the ambiance was a perfect mixture of laid back and warm, welcoming and luxurious.



My partner and I come from two different backgrounds: Mexican and Jewish, and when we set out to identify a venue for our wedding we had the additional need of identifying a venue that could accommodate a kosher wedding for about 65 people or so. Though there seemed to be smaller venues that could accommodate a smaller number of people, Hacienda Tres Rios turned out to be the most viable, affordable, and accommodating option.



We felt like we hit the lotto after doing a site visit and seeing the property (which is impressive in and of itself with lots of activity options including laying on a semi-secluded beach) and when we met the Chef. Chef Oscar is a real gem. He came with the experience of having worked at an exclusive hotel in Los Angeles that prepares a weekly kosher brunch, and unlike many in this region of Mexico, he already knew the intricacies of kashrut. He even had kosher wine on site for the wedding that we set aside far in advance of the wedding day!



At destination weddings (and at weddings in general) the food can often be a toss-up in terms of quality, particularly for kosher events. We were relieved and beyond ecstatic with the feedback from our guests (many of whom were NYC foodies) who said that it was the best meal they had ever had at a wedding -- any wedding, kosher or not. Chef Oscar worked with us to prepare a menu that stayed true to the cuisine of the region while adhering to the strictest standards of kashrut.



Allibe, our thoughtful and sweet wedding coordinator from Hacienda Tres Rios, guided us through all aspects of planning our kosher destination wedding, including guidance through the process of choosing credible and affordable local vendors to get all of the details right for the day of our wedding. We had a beautiful chupa complete with music selections of our choosing, wonderful flowers and centerpieces, a traditional Mexican Trio, and a phenomenal photography crew with Rodrigo del Rio Lozano. Allibe was there for every moment of our wedding (including the events before and after our wedding day), making sure that every detail was perfect -- she is truly a consummate professional.

Planning a wedding, let alone a destination wedding, can be a challenging, stressful, and difficult undertaking; thanks to Allibe, Luis, and the staff at Hacienda Tres Rios, our planning process was as stress-free as possible, and our wedding was more than we (and our guests) could have possibly hoped for. We are so grateful for the lifetime of wonderful memories we have, in large part thanks to their efforts.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AeliandSonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,110
    1,262
    487
    234
    259
See reviews for
2,655
1,606
48
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,026)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

All the small details that make a vacation experience enjoyable were not there. I did not get a great price for the stay here. I payed for a luxury resort and got a less than average experience. The welcome started having to wear those horrible cheap plastic bracelets all the time (the web page says it's an all inclusive resort, so why make us wear this?). Followed by a terrible buffet lunch at the "Alebrijes" restaurant. The variety and quality of the food was terrible. Not to mention that half of the options were out. The quality of the drinks was no better either. We tried to forget this by going to the pool and beach area. The water in the outside jacuzzis was colder than the pool. The beach is not very nice and the covers of the sofas in this area had already been removed so we could not sit there.
When we came back to the room, the shower was terrible, the water hit so hard I could not give my baby a bath. Then the safe box failed and had to be broken to remove our stuff. I requested a change of room and got a new one without the jacuzzi I had payed for.
In general the food and drinks were average, nothing great. The service from the waiters and in the pool was very good though. It was very rude how they asked me to check out at 11:00 am the day we were leaving and threatening with extra charges for any delays. To be honest, I was very relieved to leave and never plan to return.

Room Tip: Choose another resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Anniversary wasn't acknowledged as requested. Buffet restaurant was just ok - nothing to make you say wow, as a matter of fact doesn't seem they try to do anything special to give it a wow factor. Very disappoint in the facilities. Just that I expected so much better since it was suppose to be a 5*. However the price was ok, since it was based on a "timeshare presentation". I am a beach person and this was not a nice beach. Steak/Lobster dinner we were looking forward to was cancelled for rain. Free massage was not free. Italian restaurant was ok. The best thing about this place is the employees that work there.

Room Tip: Be sure to request right away about your air conditioning, as we couldn't get our below 76 degre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnf8709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Arrived to friendly staff. Nice hotel but terrible beach. Agreed to timeshare presentation and a few free goodies. It took all day with extremely high pressure sales and bad service. Upon saying not interested they never allowed us to redeem our massages/free taxi rides and proceeded to treat us terribly. We talked to the front desk and they said our reservations had ended and we needed to be gone by 11am (it was 10:30am) or we would be charged $400. We still had another night! Needless to say we were speechless and left in a hurry. Unbelievable. Please dont go here! Playa itself is amazing though!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kellees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at Tres Rios from September 11th - 18th for our honeymoon. I can't say enough good things about this resort! From the moment we got out of the shuttle we were greeted with warm smiles, beautiful weather and an incredible resort.

My husband and I are very much into the green aspect of Tres Rios, we were beyond impressed with the extent that this resort has made to not have a negative impact on the environment.

There's really nothing bad I can say about the grounds. No, the beach isn't what you see when you open up a tourism booklet for Mexico. That's not to say that the beach is bad though! More like the lakes that we are used to from back home. What the beach lacks, the rest of the resort makes up in spades. There is so much to do there that is included in the all inclusive package that you almost don't need to leave the grounds for any reason!

We kayaked through mangroves, played beach volleyball with the staff, swam in the many pools and was always given exceptional service whatever we did. I highly recommend doing the 7 course Chef's Special if you have the extra money for it. Our waiter Martin was amazing and even though I dislike seafood they made a separate menu for me so I could still enjoy my courses. They even topped it off with a cake at the end of it wishing us a happy honeymoon. :)

The breakfast buffet was an interesting blend of regular choices alongside traditional mexican fare. Our one waiter Eidgh (I'm sure I'm spelling that wrong, I'm so sorry!!!) was exceptional and made our meals so enjoyable.

We had a 1 bedroom suite with a studio off the side and couldn't get over the luxury of the rooms. From the enormous bathroom (almost as large as our living room back home!) to the king sized bed, jacuzzi and huge balcony with a view of the water was the best thing to look at when waking up.

All the food was phenomenal, we especially liked Kotori (Asian restaurant) and PortoBello (Italian restaurant).

If you get the chance, I highly recommend going here. It was the perfect blend for us and I'm counting down the minutes until we can come back again!!!

Room Tip: Ask when you get to the front desk if you can upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiff0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, FL
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My husband, I and our 2 year old son stayed at this hotel in June of 2011 for 4 nights/ 5 days. Overall, this was a disappointing experience, although not all together unpleasant.
First, the reason we chose the resort was because of our interest in nature and its location on eco preserve. However, the staff did all possible to discourage us from exploring the nature park (by threatening with wild animals). After we took a couple of cenote tours (which were wonderful), I figured out how to get around on my own, but by that time it was almost our day to leave. Similarly with the beach. Not only is the beach not of your typical turquoise color (which is understandable - it is an eco park after all), but they forbid swimming on the beach (stating waves or something else). You are allowed to swim where the river meets the ocean, but the water is much colder there and it is very shallow, so it would not be real swimming. It is a very unique beach , though, because you can snorkel around mangroves there and see some birds and fish.
The pool is nice, but not glamorous. And, there is no bathrooms close to the beach or the pool nearest to the beach. So, try drinking a few margaritas, and then going for the bathroom. Also, clean towels are only located in one place, away from the beach and the family pool.
The food is nice in terms that although it was all inclusive and unlimited, it was a la carte, so you did not tend to over eat as much. Our favorites were the grill, the pizza, and the Mexican. Asian - not so much. They definitely take spanish speaking people out of turn if you are not looking, so pay attention. The drinks were definitely diluted, but still enjoyable.
The amenities: we took advantage of the nature tours. Our package included a free 30 minute massage per person. However, there was still a $12 tax. Not really a lot of money, but not free either. The spa was very nice. The gift shop is super overpriced.
The staff: Mostly nice and helpful, but hopeful for a tip. A few dollars goes a long away. especially at the pool. The whole thing with concierge and time shares is really out of control. They would do so much better trying to impress us with the service and the amenities, instead of a sales pitch. Do they think Americans are stupid? When we arrived at the hotel after a 2.5 hour flight, and 45 minute drive, they wanted to give us a 30 minute presentation on the hotel in broken English. Really? With a two year old running around like a maniac? May be you should let us eat lunch first.
They try to sell you a time share by inviting you to a "special" breakfast and promising you freebies, such as 1 hour massage, lobster dinner, free transportation to town, etc. We did not agree to it.
There is a very poor communication of the hotel events: they need a communication board in the lobby. Otherwise, you never know what is about to happen.
The clients were also very interesting. There were some people who owned a timeshare, some mexicans on conference or business trips, some mexican families with their children on vacation, and a lot of people from US who paid super low rates in exchange for agreeing to attend a timeshare presentation, but who had no recollection of signing up for anything like that.
The room was nice, and fairly comfortable. We had an "ocean view", but the water was very far, so I would not recommend paying extra. We basically just had a glimpse of water.
The furniture in community spaces was worn out and not comfortable. Hard to imagine that this is a new hotel.
Overall, this was a unique experience because of the opportunity to visit cenotes, but, otherwise, I would never go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MileyMooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This was our second time visiting this hotel and we all had a very good time there. It was great to see many old friends (from two years ago) and also to make new friends. Thank you to all the wonderful staff, it was like visiting family. Noe, Kids Club - Silvia - Maya - You're great!!! Chef Oscar, thank you very, very much!! Raquel - Oh soooo good!!! Claudia from Hacienda Grill!!! Yeah!! Samuel!!!! All the restaurants hosts, Hector, Gina, Jose Luis C., Juanito, JUSTINO!!!, Victor Manuel, Miguel, Nicolas, Jaime, Manuel, Gregorio, Martin, David - Thanks for the bike ride, the driver to Fisherman's - I forgot his name, Osiris, the Band and the waiters from the Sports Bar, Mauricio and all the staff at the beach, beautiful sailing experience.

Something to improve would be the service from the pool waiters, I was never offered anything!!! They were more focused in serving groups. I only got my drink when I went to the pool bar, mmmmh Silverio I think was the bartender, delicious "Mojitos".

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful views, most of them from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaS311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,984 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#49 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,578 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#56 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
6,349 reviews
8.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,207 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Property: Hacienda Tres Rios
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing