We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #60 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Maine, United States
1 review
“Awesome vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We had a relaxing week with the best food, best attention, and lots to keep us as busy as we wanted to stay. We really liked the calendar of events posted for each day of things to do. The staff we related with was stupendous. Miguel took excellent care of us at the Hacienda Grill - great attention to detail. Patricia was very friendly, and very helpful at the concierge desk. Francisco was very pleasant and soothing to do yoga with, and also great at stretching and water aerobics. Tres Rios is a beautiful setting for a relaxing and enjoyable get-away. We liked the free on-site kayaks, the cenotes, the volleyball, the evening shows, and especially the Catamarans. Our room was cleaned up three times a day. We really can't say enough great things about Hacienda Tres Rios. Just awesome!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,961
    1,192
    462
    216
    248
See reviews for
2,465
1,550
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We recently returned from a week at Tres Rios and were completely satisfied with our experience. Fantastic service throughout our stay. The staff were always accommodating and helpful. Although we did not get to experience the highly rated Italian restaurant ( kids not welcome ) the food was good elsewhere, the Grill especially recommended. Exploring the rivers via kayak or snorkelling to the cenotes was enjoyable and a great way to tour the nature park. A special thanks to Gary, our waiter at the beach / pool who kept us refreshed and made us feel completely welcome. Tremendous service Gary, thanks again for making our week more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Stayed on the mangrove side, our suite was very nice but poolside view would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

This was our second time for a week vacation (Jan. 2013) and we love the care and attention we get from the staff. Of course some are better than others but overall, it is a pleasure to be acknowledged and asked if there is anything they can do for us.
Rooms are 5 stars - all with an ocean view. Very comfortable, spacious and the beds and pillows are excellent. A/C is in your control and easy to operate. We observed the cleaning staff and they do a great job, and sometimes preform some amazing things with the towels ... swans, love birds, etc. I particularly love the showers as large and neat lighting.
We had a fabulous experience at the spa with a lavender and rosemary wrap, exfoliation and then full body massage, 90 minutes of pampering after which we melted into the table!! Great way to unwind and begin the vacation. The beach here is so clean and well cared for. They've done a lot of work to maintain and improve the area. I also love that it is a nature park and the care and attention they give to the environment. It's so nice to see a large swath of greenery surrounding the resort.
On site: the cenote swimming & snorkeling, the river kayaking, the nursery, bike rides and Segways are all so worthy of the experience on the site, and after choose your pool or hot tubs, or restaurants ... hard to find something not to love about HTR!! Evening events are lot's of fun, music, food, drinks and new friends.
Special thanks to Jorje, Regina, Omar, Gregorio, Adrian, Louis and Andy for their extra care and attention. See you next year!!
Jayeson & Dailaan Shaffer

Room Tip: We like the 3rd floor for the view but have never asked. Sleep is great as we have always found it q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayeson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

This is a resort with lots to do during the day, Eco &shamanic tours, Segway, kayak up up river, snorkel a cenote, scuba etc...all right onthe property. The staff were terrific!
Andy..(concierge) who met us & explained everything when we arrived...always friendly & helpful
Gregorio...(waiter in main dining & elsewhere) Big smile & wave to come to his tables, will get you whatever you want, we really looked forward to seeing him every day
Bautista... (waiter at adult pool & grill area) same friendly smile as Gregorio, whose English gets better every day, will also pamper you when he can
Victor...(waiter also at pools etc) he's another one to look for, also terrific guy
Miguel... (waiter at Grill & elsewhere has silver capped front teeth) another to seek out

Room Tip: From what we saw, all rooms are first rate, but due to ceramic floors you can hear chairs scraping e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We visited HTR 3 years ago and found it to be good, if not great. We just spent 4 days there again (was able to snag a very low rate online) and we found ourselves wishing it was better.
In brief, here are our comments:
PLUSES:
1 - Great room! We had a mangrove view junior suite, and while the view was virtually non-existent (unless you like staring at vegetation!), the suite was amazing - absolutely the largest hotel room we have ever encountered - larger than many apartments! It was well furnished and having two full bathrooms was a real plus.
2 - The staff. Almost without exception, the staff was wonderful. Waiters (especially Miguel at the Grill, Gregorio (who recognized us from our last visit) in the buffet, and Mauricio, the matre'd in the Mexican restaurant. Additionally, Erick, the bellman, was terrific. We could not have asked for a better staff.
3 - The Chef's tasting dinner. It costs extra, but is worth every penny. A seven course tasting menu served in the kitchen. Frankly, I am surprised that the hotel does not do a better job of publicizing it.

MINUSES:
1 - The buffet. We have stayed at several "high end" all-inclusives, and I can tell you, unequivocally, that we found most of the food in the buffet to be tasteless and unappetizing. While we generally only ate breakfast there, even that tended to be be "blah." Many of the dishes on the buffet tend to look tired and it almost seemed as if they cooked without seasonings.
2 - Specialty restaurant "logistics." While the food in the 3 specialty restaurants we dined in (Italian, Asian, and Mexican) was certainly decent, their "no-reservations" system just did not work. Invariably, we'd go to the restaurant and be told there would be a 45 minute wait to be seated. This is absolutely unacceptable by any standards. When we'd look in and see empty tables, we were told that they were for "owners" (timeshare owners). There is absolutely no reason for non-owners to feel like second class guests, and obviously, this was an indication that if you were not an owner, you probably should look elsewhere for a vacation.

It seems to us that HTR's primary interest is selling timeshares. For a number of reasons, we have no desire to "own," and as a result, we found ourselves trying to grasp why anyone would come to HTR if they simply wanted a vacation and had no interest in joining a "vacation club." While we had a very low rate, HTR's regular rates are comparable to several other 5 star all-inclusives in the Riviera Maya. It seems to me that if HTR truly wants to be a world class resort, it needs to change a number of its policies to make it more conducive to people like ourselves that simply want to take advantage of a beautiful facility and the wonderful weather.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lsnhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

This was my first time at this hotel but the party I was with had been there 2 consecutive years prior. I heard that the hotel changed management between our group's 2nd and 3rd years attending and many of the attendees said they could tell a difference - unfortunately, not in a good way. Upon arrival, some of our attendees were forced to listen to a half hour sales presentation on the benefits of the property in an attempt to gain their interenst in a time share. That would be fine if they had been traveling as a transient reservation. But the fact that they were there as part of an organized, corporate retreat and were forced to sit through the sales pitch before they could get their room keys was inappropriate. Upon my parties' arrival (group of 4) we were told the hotel was overbooked and the front desk tried to put all four of us in the same room; however, they couldn't guarantee for how many nights we would need to share, nor could they come up with reasonable compensation.

We too experienced inconsistancy with the re-stocking of our room. We never fully had all of our towels or bath products replenished. The couple in the room next to us got a new bath mat each day and we never had one - even when we asked for one, they brought us a hand towel. When we arrived, the ice bucket was full of water. A dirty wash cloth stayed on the floor of our shower for three days. Various lights in the room wouldn't turn on or stay on once lit.

The restaurants always seemed to be understaffed and the hostesses and managers were downright rude at times. They wouldn't let us move tables together to seat our party, and then after we were seated at two different tables, we watched them put tables together for other groups!

The saving grace of our trip was the staff working at The Grill - the poolside restaurant. Enrique, Neltri, Cornelio, Ismeal, Victor -- all of the gentlemen working at The Grill the week we were there were amazing. They truly went out of their way to help make our experience a great one. We ended up eating as many meals out there as possible since they were so accommodating and welcoming.

It was really a shame that the rest of the staff did not possess that same enthusiasm for customer service. It's a lovely property with excellant pools and activities. We would have had more fun if we handn't been so dumbfounded by the lack of customer service.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Kari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
321 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

We have to say that we love Hacienda Tres Rios. It is an idyllic resort – near Playa Del Carmen. Its origins were from an eco-park with natural cenotes. It’s been transformed into an ecologically sound resort with all-inclusive dining.
We stayed at the hotel recently for two weeks. Within the last 14 months – we’ve taken 4 trips and stayed a total of 6 weeks.
We stayed at La Herencia which is a more private set of rooms still within the Hacienda Tres Rios complex. At La Herencia, there are 4 private butlers that provide excellent service from early morning until late night.
One of the private butlers, Julio, made sure that we were always well stocked with a chilled bucket of wine in the evening. While we were at dinner, he arranged to have rose petals trail into our bedroom spa which was already filled with warm water and bubbles. Later in the week another butler, Angelica, did somewhat the same thing but in her own personal style. We didn’t make any requests to have the bubble bath – it’s just something that they did on their own – spontaneously and graciously. The butlers are simply terrific.
Every day, the butlers made sure that we had a canopy bed reserved on the beach. The bed had a plaque on it that had our names along with freshly rolled towels against the pillows. The canopy of the bed provides some sun protection while the bed is just ten feet from the shoreline. You can see and hear the waves, birds, etc. while you take time to read a book or just people watch.
The housekeeping staff keeps the rooms very clean – even with sand coming in on our shoes. Each day our main housekeeper, Martin, would make animal figures out of towels, washcloths, etc. It was incredible to see the variety of things he could create each day.
The staff in all of the restaurants is very friendly. Gregorio and Luis would routinely provide excellent service for breakfast and lunch. They are very hard working, friendly and accommodating to any of our needs. Miguel was terrific serving us at the Hacienda Grill in the evenings. He was very attentive and caring.
The resort has many restaurants including a buffet, outdoor pizza oven, a full service grill, Japanese, Mexican and Italian. The food quality and presentation of the food is very high quality. When in Mexico, you don’t really expect a 4 star presentation of the food but even in the grill, the presentation was excellent. They are very consistent with both the quality and presentation of the food.
The resort offers a Chef’s table presentation for a modest additional cost. We opted for the earlier of two seatings. We were greeted by Jorge as our server and Chef Israel. The Chef explained each course as it was presented – 7 courses in all – paired with wine. The quality, presentation and taste of the servings were excellent. Each serving was somewhat small but with 7 courses, you were definitely full after dessert. You are served next to the main kitchen and you can see activity but you are in a private area so that you are not too close to the action. The food is top notch and would be equal to or exceed what you might find anywhere in the USA in a fine dining restaurant.
The resort has an onsite spa which is discounted for members. The staff is highly skilled and offers a wide array of services. We typically enjoy the couples massage. You get your own private room with candlelight and soft music. Two masseuses take care of you and provide a very relaxing and comforting experience.
This last time we were at the resort we took the Segway tour of the property. In about 60 minutes, you are taught how to ride a Segway and then you are taken across multiple acres of property looking at cenotes, the outdoor gardens, the beach, etc. It is lots of fun since none of the group knew how to ride a Segway and we all felt pretty comfortable at the end. Our guides Jonathan and Federico took our safety very seriously and made sure we were all qualified before moving along.
The front office staff are always engaging and making sure that your stay is enjoyable and problem free. Shaunna and Shakira are always looking out for you and making sure that no problems go unsolved and that your next return reservation is taken care of with no problems. There is a commitment to a very high level of personal service and they make sure that this is what you receive.
We love this resort and keep coming back – multiple times a year. The staff feels like family after a while. People recognize you from your past visit and welcome you back. The resort has many tours right on the property that include a bike tour, cenote tour, kayak tour, sensory experience (a Mayan experience we highly recommend). Every day the resort offers classes on all sorts of things including Spanish lessons, tequila tasting, handicrafts, etc. There are volleyball games and bocce ball games every day. The facility also offers discounted fares to offsite locations such as Xel Ha, Isla Mujeres, Tulum, Chichen Itza, snorkel or scuba diving, etc. The property also has a fleet of yachts to take you anywhere you like for fishing, sightseeing, snorkeling, etc. They also offer a 4 hour catamaran tour that leaves from their private dock. From there, you are taken to a semi-private reef where you can snorkel. Reservations are required but in our case, we were the only people on the cruise so we were pampered. There is an equestrian center that the resort owns which is a short ride away. You can ride the horses or simply watch an equestrian show after dinner. On most evenings, the resort has free entertainment – either outside in the main plaza or in the auditorium. We saw a Michael Jackson tribute, an authentic Mayan dance ritual and several others.
Of course there is always just simply relaxing by the pool or on the beach. The property is lovely with the maintenance team carefully enhancing the beauty of the shrubs, flowers, trees, etc. Everything is groomed daily so your experience is guaranteed to be lovely.
We could go on and on (perhaps we already have) but we think that you could easily fall in love with Hacienda Tres Rios.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.9 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,350 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,575 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#43 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
3.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#53 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,762 reviews
3.2 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#13 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Property: Hacienda Tres Rios
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing