We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Holiday in the Sun”
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #63 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious Holiday in the Sun”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

A great holiday at a reasonable price in a relatively small and intimate resort. 4 excellent a la carte restaurants plus a versatile and tasty buffet. Terrific made to order premium drinks, really friendly staff, lots of free activities, a beautiful nature park with great walking path through the mangroves and several cenotes to swim snorkel and kayak in. Although they were about 90% full there were always lots of chairs around the pools and beach both in sun and shade. My only complaint was that the food was sometimes only luke warm.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,107
    1,259
    487
    234
    259
See reviews for
2,651
1,604
48
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,025)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We came with a big party of 10 people.
The Hotel was very nice with plenty of choices for dining.
My favorites were, Mexican restaurant and Italian.
Even buffet food was terrific.
The rooms were clean with standard amenities.
I was very happy that presentation was relatively quick and no pressure or discomfort were present.
I would like to especially express my gratitude to several members of the staff.
Angelica from concierge was very helpful, with a good attitude and ton of patience
She provided us with terrific service. Helped to book a trip, explained how to rent a car, and got us a lobster tail dinner in Mexican restaurant.
Also was very helpful solving an internet connection problems.
Over all I am very satisfied with this place.
I would love to see a better shower heads in the bathrooms.
I will definitely come back there again.

Room Tip: Make sure to get second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Hacienda Tres Rios. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read you enjoyed the setting and were able to experience our Mexican Hospitality.

Next time you visit us, remember to take our Sensadventure Experiece: A guided exploration of select areas in the nature park while blindfolded to heighten your other senses. This magical journey through nature is led by a holistic guide, who presents various natural elements for you to touch, smell, and even taste, drawing attention to the sounds around you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This place was awesome! Amazing Food Amazing Staff. Ask for Sammy and Silvestre..these guys made our trip. Awesome place to bring children. Cenotes are absolutely beautiful. Also nice that it was so close to Playa and to Cancun.

Room Tip: stay at least on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your nice comments specially on our staff which we are very proud of. We are glad to learn you enjoyed the resort and Tres Rios Nature Park as well.

Next time you visit us, remember to visit Tres Rios Nature park again but this time take our Segway Tour and see the nature park, nursery and beach on this two-wheeled self-balancing battery-powered electric vehicle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I spent a week at this resort in November, 2012. It was the wedding of the son of my best friend. The Resort was absolutely beautiful and the food was great overall. The Pizza hut left something to be desired but there were lots of other choices. You can pre-order lobster either the day prior or the morning of the day you wish to have it for dinner at your choice of restaurants. Just know that you are getting half of a baby lobster tail. (smile)
The staff were outstanding, couldn't have been nicer. I did think that because this is a high end resort in Mexico and that Corona is their national beer, it would have been easy to come by. Especially since I was paying for all inclusive and had to do a lot of talking to have it stocked in my room fridge and to get corona in the bar. But, after several Corona conversations, there were no problems.(smile) I only mention this because the all-inclusive is not cheap and I cannot drink any other kind of alcohol and I like my Corona.
The room was large, spacious and comfortable. I must say that the mattresses and pillows were first class. Large, spacious bathroom but there was no hot water for showering, even after letting it run for 20 minutes. Just gave up on the hot shower and made due with a cold one which didn't dampen my stay.
The only thing that was lacking was entertainment which would have been a great addition.
I will return with my family as there are quite a few other things to keep you busy.
A tip....when you are leaving try to arrange to travel to the airport with a group and book it yourself. I was planning to take their booked transportation which was going to be $ 50.00 when another guest said that they had a bus booked and it would cost me $ 9.00 USD. worked out great!!! Security at the resort is excellent, I felt very safe.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickenlittle48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hacienda Tres Rios. We are glad to learn you enjoyed our property and amenities.

Please come back soon and remember to follow us on facebook for updated destination and resort information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Very friendly staff and fantastic food! The Best place to stay in the Myan Riviera! Lots of activities! Adult Luxury at the Max! Bike tours, snorkel, everything you could want to do! All included! The best service place next to Disney!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Berkech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your nice comments and for considering us the best place in the Riviera Maya. Your comment inspires us to continue offering a great service with a great smile.

Remember that your private Mexican retreat awaits you and be sure to follow us on facebook for updated destination information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This is a great place to stay. There are so many activities at this resort that you won't get bored. You can snorkel in cenotes, kayak up/down the river, swim at the beach, sail on a catamaran, swim at the pool, or relax in a hot tub. We even rented segways and enjoyed the tour with Frederico and Jonathan from the jungle to the cenotes to the beach. It was so much fun. Not only is there a lot to do, but the restaurants are great and the service is terrific. Gregorio is the best waiter at the Grill or buffet. He is so pleasant and is there at the blink of the eye to get you whatever you want.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to learn you enjoyed our activities at the Hotel and at Tres Rios Nature Park as well.

Next time you visit us treat yourself to a spa vacation and benefit from modern spa technology and Mayan wisdom at Ya´ax Ché Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sexsmith, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Our family spent 8 days at the Hacienda. Very difficult to put into words..what a great experience it was. The hospitality was over the top. Special thanks to Bautista for having our spot at the pool ready for us. He always had our drinks, food and whatever else we needed with a snap of the fingers..everything was done for us with a smile and friendly manner. The rooms were spacious and beds were very comfortable. Our kids are 7, 8 and 14 and there was plenty for them to do. The pool days were always the highlight. Kayaking, snorkeling, and the evening shows were more than we expected. The food was delicious!! Our favorite was the grill by the pool. The kids went to the kids club a couple of times and it was very comfortable and your mind was at ease. Beach volleyball, soccer and pool activites kept our kids very entertained. Our youngest son celebrated his 7th birthday during our stay, Thank you Maria and staff for making it the best birthday ever!! The b-day cake and balloons in the room at the end of the day was a added surprise!! Thank you so much for making him feel very special. And of course we can't forget Angelica... our favorite stop was to have our latte and special coffee's and sweet treats at the coffee shop. My favorite was the strawberries dipped in chocolate!! She is a special lady and thank you for making our stay extra warm!! And Jaimie... thank you for your added hospitality as well. Our holiday was relaxing and enjoyable and we highly recommend the Hacienda Tres Rios.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bouchard5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Hacienda Tres Rios and for chosing us to celebrate your son's 7th birthday.

Next time you visit us, remember that there's a camping night at the Kids club, during that time you can have a romantic dinner by the moonlight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3,974 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#48 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3,576 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#55 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
6,336 reviews
8.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4,206 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
16,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Property: Hacienda Tres Rios
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing