We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation ruined by one”
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #62 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great vacation ruined by one”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the hotel for 5 days starting August 3rd, 2014.We were impressed by the work ethic of the staff as they were quite pleasant and went to great lengths to take great care of us. The food was good and we appreciated the little 'extras' to make us feel at home. I was however irritated by the attitude of the sales rep who tried to sell time share in the resort. He informed us that we would not be invited back to the hotel again. I wondered he thought he was doing us a favour by allowing us to vacation there as I can clearly remember paying over $5000 in airfare and accommodation. OFFENSE TAKEN SIR!!! Those comments were mean spirited. Top marks to Julieta and Monica at the kids club. They made my daughter's stay memorable with their fun activities and trips. Pity I won't be invited back since there is nowhere else in the world to vacation. LOL!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Clevia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to learn you had a good time and so did your daughter at the Kid's Club and apologize for the information give by the sales representative. We are sharing your comments with area in order they can give follow up and avoid any reoccurrance in the future.
Please feel welcome to come back any time, it will be our pleasure to be your host again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,023
    1,223
    471
    221
    254
See reviews for
2,523
1,590
47
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband, my daughter and I along with my sister's family stayed at the hotel for 6 days starting July 26th, 2014 and had a blast. The food was excellent at all the restaurants even though we didn't try the Italian Restaurant since they didn't allow kids under 12. The service we got was excellent. Gregorio gave us great service at the buffet, Ruben was very attentive to us by the pool side and always eager to help us, Arely at the Cafe Paris knew exactly what type of coffee I liked and made it for me morning after morning (didn't miss my Starbucks). Angel who serviced our room was amazingggg..... every day we were eager to go back to our room to see what creative design he made for us using towels... Kayaking and swimming in the river were the highlights of our vacation. Would recommend the hotel and I can't wait to go back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. Some have hot tubs in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocalato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments.
We are glad to learn you had an excellent vacation and are already making plans to come back.
Next time you visit us remember to live a Ya’ax Che Spa experience and relax, refresh your mind, rejuvenate your body and cleanse your soul.
We are already looking forward to be your host again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from our vacation. Loved it! The place is gorgeous and very different from other resorts. The staff are very attentive and friendly. Our housekeeper, Angel, was so sweet! Every day he would do something special for us, sweet towel animals, candies left on our pillows, made sure our fridge was stocked. Luis, one of the waiters was also fabulous. I have never seen people work harder making sure the guests are comfortable. The cenotes were amazing and for me a snorkelers dream! The pools are amazing and there was always lounges that could be had. No having to get up ridiculously early to save them. Beach beds available on the beach too, not always free, they get reserved by the people who own in the "residences" ( they pay more) it was very elitist and sometimes they would just sit empty all day, it was very frustrating. The beach is not what most people expect when they come to Mexico.the last few hurricanes did some damage and there is what I was told "hurricane dust" in the water, so close to the shore it's dark, like the Atlantic, but on the far left its beautiful and clear. The rivers flow into that area and keep it really clear, water is shallow for a long way out so its lovely for children. Restaurants are great, loved the Italian, and the pizza grill was really good. The only complaint (besides the unused reserved beach beds) was the fact that they allowed children in the adults only pool. I love children but not when they are jumping and screaming in an area that should be reserved for adults.also the beach where the water is clear has no umbrellas for anyone wanting to stay on that part. Everything was reserved for the residences and it took me three days to get someone to bring an umbrella over for us, I had to go to member services and finally they sent one over. We made the mistake of saying we would sit with a "representative" to discuss our contract. Stupid! They wanted us to upgrade and did everything they could to get us to do it! Took away a precious two and one half hours of our vacation, even tho we told them no from the get go! My advice, don't schedule a meeting unless you really want to buy in or upgrade what you have. Also if you want clubs and night life this is not the place, its much quieter ( which we loved )Otherwise, it was a wonderful vacation,we will be back next year!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful with gorgeous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments and for considering Hacienda Tres Ríos a gorgeous resort, different from the others.
We are glad to learn you were able to visit our Tres Rios Natural Park with its 326 acres of pristine tropical rainforests intersected by three winding freshwater rivers, decorated by ten fascinating cenotes (cave-like sinkholes with natural wells), home to 120 species of plants and 90 species of animals.
It is the only nature park in the Yucatan Peninsula that includes three distinct ecosystems: jungle, mangrove forest, and coastal dunes.
We also appreciate the opportunity areas mentioned which enable to review our standards and procedures in order to assure the high quality and service we have become known for.
It will be our pleasure to be your host next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I vacationed here July 26 2014, our second visit to this Hotel. We had a excellent visit again. All of the Restaurants have excellent quality food and people.
The staff is absolutely fantastic, people like Angel Liborio who works at the Grill,
Arely who works in the Cafe,
Gaudencio who works in all the different restaurants on the property,
Chef Omar who we met at a special Chefs Dinner along with Gilberto. The front desk staff and all of the concierge people are also fabulous. People like Anna, and Roxana Tous
There are many things to do here or just stay around and relax.

Chris & Sherry

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments and for considering Hacienda Tres Rios an outstanding hotel with outstanding Staff.
It was our pleasure to have you with us for the second time and we are already looking forward to your third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had a good overall experience, we enjoyed our visit very much. Kayaks, snorkeling, and sailing were very gratifying activities. Service is very good, employees are courteous and friendly, especially Trinidad, Samuel, Adrian, and others. Room was fine although towels were not replaced as often as we expected, even though we left them on the floor; so on a couple of occasions we had to call to request for them. WiFi is very low quality and intermittent. Food is actually good for an all-inclusive resort. Price is OK.

We would definitely consider going back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajero_frec_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments and for considering Hacienda Tres Rios a very good option.
We are glad to learn you were able to enjoy our amenities and took our guided eco-park tours to our Tres Rios Natural Park with its 326 acres of pristine tropical rainforests intersected by three winding freshwater rivers, decorated by ten fascinating cenotes (cave-like sinkholes with natural wells), home to 120 species of plants and 90 species of animals.
It is the only nature park in the Yucatan Peninsula that includes three distinct ecosystems: jungle, mangrove forest and coastal dunes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new windsor ny usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

my family and I vacationed there the week of july 6th. this was our third time back at this resort and we love it more each time. I can say nothing but great things starting with the check in and the staff, our room, and maid service. the restaurants and quality of food is outstanding starting with the very large breakfast buffet. gregorio our wonderful waiter each morning made sure we had everything we could possibly need. at night if we dined at the outdoor hacienda grill we equally had excellent service coming from another great waiter named Miguel who went out of his way to please us all. we love this resort and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a fun vacation.

Room Tip: I prefer higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hacienda Tres Ríos and your nice comments. We are glad to learn you had a great vacation and and highly recommend us to anyone looking for a fun vacation.
Next time you visit us remember to take part of our SenseAdventure Experience. An exclusive experience at Tres Ríos and delightfully exhilarating. Take a guided exploration of select areas in the nature park while blindfolded to heighten your other senses. This magical journey through nature is led by a holistic guide, who presents various natural elements for you to touch, smell, and even taste, drawing attention to the sounds around you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were here in July 2014 for two weeks with our two kids aged 12 and 14. We snorkeled in the Cenotes, sailed the Catamaran, Kayaked in the river, swam in Ocean the pool and the estuary. The activities at this all inclusive will keep you busy for a whole week or in our case 2 weeks. We did only one excursion to Tulum, we were very content on the resort and saved a lot of money by not going on a lot of excursions.

One bedroom had 2 queen beds and a sofa bed with a full bathroom, this is called the studio unit, We also had the attached 1 bedroom unit which has a large family room in between the bedrooms with a full bath and it also had a pull out sofa. Then the master suite has a king bed, a pull out sofa and a huge bathroom.

This is our third year at this fantastic all inclusive We were here last in April 2013, since then the food has improved a lot especially in the Ala carte restaurants.We had breakfast at the Grille almost every morning and the food was always fresh and done how we liked it, Natalia always had a smile for us and knew our preferences for drinks the second time we ate there. Ruben is the best pool side waiter ever so look for him at the main pool and beach while you are there, Antonio and Gregorio rocked the breakfast buffet and pool service at the adult pool. Don't forget to visit Trinidad for dinner at the Mexican restaurant he will make sure that you have the perfect dinning experience. In fact there was not too much wrong with any of the hotel staff. I had a great massage at the spa and we very much enjoyed our lesson on how to sail the Catamaran so that we could take it out by ourselves.

I read some reviews complaining about having to tip at all inclusive resorts. Well here is my take on it when it is 40 degrees Celsius or more with the humidity and you don't want to get off your lounge chair to get that cold beer or your hot lunch.... Tip the people who are delivering your drinks and food with a smile and without complaint! At the pool we tipped about $10.00 US per day for all the food and drinks. Breakfast was amount $3.00 and dinner around $5.00. So on average about $15.00-$20.00 U.S. per day but by all means tip more for better service!

Three minor negatives this trip... Housekeeping was not up to the standard it has been in past years. Nothing major but after having been here a few times we expect a very high standard. My pet peeve was not having the face towels and hand towels replaced when they were placed on the floor. They would take them away but not leave any clean ones.Also the floor was aften not swept and when we walked around in our bare feet they would be covered in sand.Not good to have sand in your bed but like I said it was pretty minor.

The other thing was the Catamaran. They have 4 sitting on the beach but only one with sails on it. So there were days that we could not take it out because there was such a demand for that that one boat this did not not make any sense to me why not put the sails on the other boats.. We usually had to reserve a space the day before.

Last but not least what happened to all the pool activities, There was usually volley ball, water aerobics, and Bingo and soccer but then a lot of the listed activities did not get done. Kind of disappointing.

We will definitely go back probably April 2015.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom 3 bathroom unit with a large rooftop deck, the views were fantastic, definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dutchdecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to learn you had an “Awesome Family Vacation” at Hacienda Tres Ríos. We also appreciate the opportunity area mentioned and we are giving follow up with our House Keeping Manager in order to review their standards and procedures in order to assure the quality at this area.
Next time you visit us remember to take a Segway Tour and see the nature park, nursery and beach on this two-wheeled self-balancing battery-powered electric vehicle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,738 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#49 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,483 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,683 reviews
3.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#55 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,035 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Property: Hacienda Tres Rios
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing