We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNBELIEVABLE-SENSE Adventure and STAFF-MUCH BETTER”
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #64 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“UNBELIEVABLE-SENSE Adventure and STAFF-MUCH BETTER”
Reviewed 2 September 2009

This trip was an amazing trip for my family and I. The first trip we took in January 2009 and the resort was absolutely not ready for opening. Although we did not write on trip advisor in January 2009, mainly because we didn't know about it. This resort positively is now ready for primetime. The rooms were again very beautiful and slight changes, like the door mechanism system was changed and the cold/hot shower control was corrected so the kids couldn't get burned. Made a difference. We didn't have to go up to the room, and then walk back to front desk to get a new key this time at all. The food was amazing and the staff was SPECTACULAR. Starting with Pilar Gomez who is an amazing person and great manager of her people. They work together so beautifully that as a guest you see this daily at the resort, it makes you feel very comfortable. The Steinberg's arrived with seeing Pablo and Jesus at the front desk, very accomodating and informative without all the bull. We then got to our room where we found again a beautiful room. The pool was warm and the staff was ready to serve, except for one day on our trip did we not get the expected service at the pool. Only four people working the entire pool and beach area. Not a biggie though! Every other day was amazing. We went to the beach and found canopy beds sprawled over the beach. These were the highlight of the upgrades they did. Actually a place for you relax on the beach. A really awesome experience. Hector and Diana set us up on the tours for the week. Another two of the great MVP's at Hacienda. We got to meet Sergio, Andy, David, Carlos and Roberto of the activities division and they were all amazing. We went on the Cenotes tour and the bike tour which were both unbelievable experiences for your family. We recommend bringing BUG Spray on the tours. The CENOTE tour now incorporates the natural life and the nursery tour, which shows the kids how they used the devistation of the mangroves and put the wood to good uses. The designer plants and all the plant life throughout the resort. Truly Beautiful. The Steinberg's went on the HAcienda Tres Rios SENSES ADVENTURE, (you are blind folded) this should make people come from everywhere to experience. As this is like Kingda Ka at Great Adventure without the roller coaster. An amazing deep spiritual attraction that will leave you in a spiritual place like none before. THIS WAS TRULY AMAZING!!!
The Mexican pizza at the pool is really good and the mai-tais, the kids drinks and the Mojito's are great. They now have pool water polo nets and volleyball games going on throughout the week. At 4PM each day the father's got to play adult soccer with the employees, and this was something we looked forward to each day.
One day we took out the new hobie sailboats they have and went out to the ocean, the kids loved it. The kids club for my son and daughter was so much better this time than in January. Sylvia, Marcela and Marianna were awesome counselors.
Talking about another MVP Most Valuable Player at Hacienda Tres RIOS besides Pilar, and staff is Oscar "the executive Chef". This guy is truly an awesome fixture at Hacienda. His staff of Samuel, Yvonne, Yanira, Carlos (2), Luis totally compliment the experience you are looking for. My son wanted to eat something different one evening and Oscar, Samuel, and Jose made sure that they made what he wanted. He was amazed that they can do this. The asian fusion restaurant and the italian restaurant were amazing. A different one opens every other night. They have the outside grill, which we chose to eat their with a night of little to no breeze and very hot. Everyone was soaked but the food was great. I told Jose to recommend putting fans outside on hot nights, that do not make noise. The mexican restaurant upstairs, the italian restaurant, the asian fusion, the outside grill and the buffet give you many choices. The casino night I took 500,000 and double down on the blackjack table and ended up with over a million dollars. The ending of the night they do an auction for prizes like tequila, shirts and bags. It is alot of fun. I was lending money to Sam from England who was very happy to get a shirt. We also had Karoake night which was alot of fun for all of us. We brought Neil Diamond to Mexico and the kids got a chane to sing Dancing Queen 3 times this night. Sergio and Marcella were great. They really let the kids do their thing. On another night they had the Mayan Fire Dance, which we thought was really cool being up and close to the dancers. Xcaret is much more elaborate, but they are really far away from your family. This was very nice. The welcome dinner was also nice to meet all the staff and get to guess Oscar's (the executive chef'sage) age which is 51. He will kill us for that one. It was an amazing trip and we never left the resort this time. I look forward to the next one soon.
The Steinberg's

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baseballtraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,026
    1,224
    473
    222
    253
See reviews for
2,527
1,591
47
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We've never been to an all-inclusive resort before, but for our 4th anniversary we got lucky and found a great deal for this resort. We will always compare future resorts to it. The food was amazing, the service and hospitality incredible! I felt like royalty the whole time I was there. I felt so pampered and spoiled! The staff are very friendly and they go out of their way to make you happy. The chef went out of his way to make sure we had a nice meal every time even though we are vegetarians. The cenotes and the natural springs were interesting and really nice to visit and swim and kayak in. Some of the problems (for lack of a better word) were that the beach area was rather small and not as beautiful as I imagined Cancun to be, but still very nice and warm! I will warn you not to attend the presentation for private residence club. They say it will only take 2 hrs, which includes breakfast, but it actually took us 6 hours. It seemed like until we would say yes, they were not going to let us go enjoy the beautiful scenery. By the time it was over, more than half of our day was gone, and days there are precious. So don't go to the presentation, even though they offer you a lot of tempting gifts. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would HIGHLY recommend it to others!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vacationlover0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Everything you read from reviews is right.
I found the service is too much, waiters queue up to remove plates before you've finished eating, coffee is refilled before you've finished drinking, couldn't move without someone trying to help.
The tipping culture is so developed that you feel intimidated into giving money, constantly reminded that wages are low and tipping is required.
The hotel is very nice but so far away from anywhere of interest that taxis are always needed, you can't walk into town for a diversion. I felt claustrophobic, almost like a barracks with a beach.
Buffet restaurant (for that quick meal) was closed at random and without prior warning so palns made had to be changed at the last minute.
If you like lying on the beach or by a pool and then being ferried around in taxis on a tourist agenda then fine. It might be what most people like but not for me.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidBurbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We spent 7 days at this wonderful resort. The staff, Samuel, Gustavo and Luis, just to name a few, are true professionals. During our stay I wondered if Samuel had twin brothers because everywhere we went at the resort we saw...well, Samuel!

The resort is about a 40 minute drive from the Cancun airport. The drivers are very pleasant and hard-working. I've traveled all around the world and I must say that this place has the best service of any other place I have stayed. The food is great and plentiful and the drinks are top-shelf. You want for nothing while poolside or on the beach.

We felt like royalty and our family/group had an absolute wonderful time. The rooms were very spaceous, comfortable and included everything you needed to make your stay a great one. The all-inclusive package is truly worth it, especially if you like to eat and drink. No cheap food or liquor here...trust me! You want Lobster delivered to your room? Done!

You want a bottle of wine delivered to your room? Done! The kids want some cookies delivered to the room? Done! Tres Rios is a little pricey but you will not be disappointed at all because it is truly worth it.

I would suggest before going to this resort that you bring enough singles (depending on your length of stay) to cover tips because this staff works extremely hard and is dedicated to ensuring that your stay is a wonderful one. Please tip, and more importantly, if you struggle with your spanish be patient because there is a slight language barrier with most of the staff.

That language barrier contributed to some confusion surrounded some laundry we dropped off to get done. After misplacing over 2/3 of our laundry, we were surprised to find out that the resort charges by the "item" and not by weight. This led to a $450.00 laundry bill. We contacted our hotel rep (Steve), who is the man plain and simple, and the issue was resolved and the missing clothes were located. We accepted responsibility for not inquring in greater detail and the hotel accepted fault for the language barrier. Long story short, we agreed to split the cost and call it a day.

The next day...Tres Rios arranged for our entire group (11 people) a free ride on a private Yacht. Now that's how you say "I'm sorry and we want to make it up to you."

This place is truly the best and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shm3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I was here for about 5 days and thought it was wonderful! About 40 min form Cancun airport and only 25 min to adorable downtown Playa del Carmen. The rooms were clean, the food was great and the staff was great as well! Although it was all-inclusive, we did tip and it went a long way....having drinks at our pool side table just as we arrived!

I am excited to see what will become of this resort. It is supposed to be top-notch with a world class spa and gym. I hope they have many unique spa treatments like the spas in Vegas. I also hope that when the hotel is complete and they have more guests that they will still be able to accommodate and treat us with the same attention they did during this stay.

The positives: good food, top shelf alcohol, clean and beautiful rooms all with water views, friendly staff, upscale clientele

The negatives: no swim-up bar, only one bathroom in the pool area, the music in the pool area sounded like we were watching a Broadway show. Also, the spa is limited in their services (it could be because they are waiting to build their world class spa)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOSEEORNOTTOSEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We had a great time at the Hacienda Tres Rios. The activities, food, and service were great. We were only disappointed that they were still working on cleaning up the beach of seaweed, which made the view of the ocean not as nice as it could be. I walked 5 minutes towards the right of the resort and saw how beautiful the waters became when the seaweed was no longer there. I hope the resort fixes its beach soon. Once they do it, we'll be looking forward to getting back there. We've stayed in other places in the Riviera Maya, and Hacienda Tres Rios is better than them. They just need to fix the beach and they will have one of the best resorts in the Riviera Maya.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyWalkerPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

As soon as you arrive they try to sign you up for a "tour" of the property. They offer you $140 gift card and a free activity: massage, a tour to any of the tourist destination, etc. If you say "no" because you know that they will try to sell you timeshare, they will say that their sales people don't use high pressure sales techniques. Don't believe this and keep saying no. The sales presentation is very high pressure and it will make you all stressed out; the sales people don't take no for an answer and keep passing you from manager to manager who keep offering "better" deals. The whole experience was so stressful for us that it nearly ruined our honeymoon. 5 star resort should not be selling timeshare!!!!

A concierge person welcomes you when you check in. Her job is to make sure you know about the dress-code at the restaurants, the activities at the resort. But somehow they forget to mention the details that would make your stay more enjoyable. However, they don't forget to push you to sign up for the "tour" of the property (see above).

I was disappointed with the quality of the drinks at the beach and pool bars. A 5 star resort without a real bartender!!!! After getting a few bad drinks, I had to stand next to the bar and tell the person behind the counter what liquor and how much to put in the drink.

We came back to our room one night and found a complimentary tray with deserts. We were pleasantly surprised until we looked closer and saw ants crawling all over it. This is a tropical climate and if the food is left uncovered for a period of time ants will show up. They should know this and cover the food. Next morning we got a notice that our room will be fumigated. They should wait until the guest checks out to do this. I called the front-desk and asked them to wait until we leave.

I am disappointed and my husband and I will not be coming back to Tres Rios. By the way, when we checked out no one asked us to fill out a comment card. I don't think they care about guest suggestions and improving their service.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rasoul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,746 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#49 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,490 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,683 reviews
3.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#56 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,047 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Property: Hacienda Tres Rios
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing