We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Nice Resort That Will Only Get Better- Travel Agent Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #57 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really Nice Resort That Will Only Get Better- Travel Agent Review”
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Hotel-

Nice new hotel in a traditional style. Layout is good with nothing too far away.
Flat screens in rooms and were just installing an interactive system in the rooms
which will allow you to access concierge, make a wake up call, look at menus, order room service, etc.
Found upon entering room there seemed to be a musty smell but believe it actually
was a bio-degradable bug spray that was in room. Our room had a jacuzzi on the balcony. Wi-fi is accessible throughout the resort and also in the room, which is unusual. No connection problems.
Resort is a green resort and gets its name from the 3 rivers that abut the resort and empty into the ocean.
Ride in to the resort was interesting as you were surrounded by the mangroves
and a lot of flora. Don't know if we went in by the wrong entrance as our driver had never
been there before. Were greeted with cold towels and a pineapple/celery juice combination which they called green juice and was much better than it sounds. Resort is mostly complete but they were working on one wing while we were there. Noise was very minimal.

Restaurants-

Cafe Islas is the buffet area and only choice, besides room service,
for breakfast. Also have afternoon and evening buffet there. Indoor. Good buffet with omelet/egg
station and some interesting menu items. For a buffet was better than average.

Traditional Mexican, Alibrije,is indoors and very colorful with very nice artwork. Buffet for
lunch and ala carte for dinner. Very good food with some interesting dishes. My thoughts on all the specialty dining (although we did not try the Asian) was that the food was exceptional, approaching gourmet.
European portions throughout. The real problem was the menu translation to English was very poor. They really need to hire someone to do this as sometimes the dish would come out and you were wondering what you thought you ordered. This notwithstanding, liked every item that I ordered and it actually became kind of funny. Did really
like the Chipotle Creme Brule that we had here for dessert. Seemingly an odd combination but excellent. No reservations are required for the ala carte restaurants.

Right now the Asian Fusion, Kotori, and the Italian ,Porto Bello, swap nights at the same area but we were told that the permanent home of Porto Bello is near completion.

There is an outdoor pizza venue, Pizzeria Il Forno, that uses a wood burning brick oven, that is open in the afternoon.
Pizzas were surprisingly good- had a wonderful 4 cheese pie.

Also the Hacienda Grill, which is an outdoor venue near the pool area, and is open for lunch and dinner. Only had lunch here and again, excellent.

Patisserie offered desserts and finger foods at tea time in the afternoon. They also served wonderful espresso and cappuccinos. Coffee at the resort was rather poor and found that not all the espressos and cappuccinos were made with the same method so they were a bit hit or miss.

Bars-

Room occupancy was low while we were here so the bars were fairly quiet. The Victory Sports bar with pool table and multiple flat screen TV's seemed the most popular. There is a tequila bar at the Mexican restaurant, but I did not visit it as tequila
is not my favorite. There also is a Outdoor Martini bar area in the evenings just outside the Cafe Islas buffet restaurant.
There was never ANY problem getting a drink at any time, anywhere.


Pool areas-

Were very nice although not overly large and they were working on a portion of the upper pool area that I think is or will be the adult pool area. Plenty of chaises available and no "towel cards" needed. Really liked the 2 person circular beds with an adjustable covering that they had. Very comfy and nice if you did not want to be in the full sun. Pools had a couple of areas built in them some you could sit or lie in half a foot of water
or even a couple of inches. Staff was ever present around the pool to refresh drinks.

Spa-

My wife and I had a couples massage at the Ya'ax Che Spa. Very nice spa area that also had the Beauty Salon. Room used was very nice and the masseuses were very good. After the massage there was a terrace with a filled jacuzzi and glasses of wine and fruit tray. Cost was $180USD total for two.


Tours-

The resort offers a number of tours run by the resort staff. We did the Senses tour and El Tigrillo. The Senses tour is very good and completely unique and I would highly recommend it. Because it is so different, with a mystical quality, I don't
want to give any details- just do it! We also took the El Tigrillo tour which went to the nurseries where the resort grows flora to replenish the area, cenote snorkeling in some cool waters, and then kayaking back to the resort through the mangrove
forest. This was a nice experience although but I think it might have been our nursery guide's first tour as she did not seem to know anything but the "driver", Osiris, was plenty knowledgeable. Had an interesting moment on the return kayak trip as we
saw a small crocodile of about 5 feet. Osiris said it was the first time anyone had seen one but it might make me think twice about snorkeling back to the resort, which is an option.

Beach-

Man made, rather small and just okay sand. Waters were fairly uninviting and I did not swim in the ocean. Could walk down the beach to another area that was better on one side but the other side is where one of the rivers empties to the ocean. This is a negative but the resort had about a dozen large beds on the beach to use which were very nice.

Staff-

Absolutely fantastic, can't say enough good things about all of the staff members. Always a smile, and a buenos dias from every single person that worked at the resort. If one of the lizards said "Hola" I would not have been surprised!

All in all a very nice, new family resort that would make a nice vacation spot if you just want to chill out and have some great food and service. I had looked into this resort for a family with 4 adults and 2 younger kids and they do have a guaranteed connecting room option that would accommodate this size of family which is hard to find.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mad4travel_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,955
    1,190
    462
    216
    247
See reviews for
2,459
1,547
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Tres Rios. In and out of the Airport in less than 30 minutes. That's right 30 minutes. No one in Immigration, Just a few in Customs and out the door in the Van and onto the Resort. Check in went quickly with a cool towel and drink and on to our room - a Ceiba Junior Suite with Jacuzzi. The resort in my view was only about 40% occupied. The room was very nice and clean. The decorations are a bit sparse but the linens are great, the beds comfortable and the bathroom was very nice, functional and lots of room. We had great maid service and great results with room service. In fact the overall service quality at this hotel was some of the best we have experienced anywhere in the world. We are frequent travelers having been previously to various resorts in Mexico (both coast), the Carribean and many destinations in the US. From the pool servers to the waiters to the maids to the concierge to the activity directors, everyone was exceptional, friendly and made our stay memorable. We dined in all restaurants and found all great. The beverage selections are first class and the menus varied enough to no doubt serve any taste. We experienced some very nice extras while at Tres Rios - A dinner by the pool with private entertainment, a chef's table tasting dinner and breakfast in bed one morning. These were simply first class, fun and very creative. We also had spa massages that were very relaxing and well done. The spa is not what you might see at say a Canyon Ranch but it's fine. We did notice construction ongoing but didn't really notice any exceptional amount of distraction. Special thanks to Chef (the Rock Star as we started calling him as he is a true ambassador fo the Tres Rios) and Hector our wonderful concierge for all they did to make our stay exceptional. I would not only recommend this hotel to others but would if planning a return trip highly consider this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanLisah1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Overall: We traveled to Hacienda Tres Rios the week of October 10-17, 2009. Our stay was pleasant but not the best trip we have had to the Cancun area. The resort seems to cater more to time share owners. Unless you own a time share you are not told about many benefits of the resorts. For example, they have a free shuttle to Playa Del Carmen and a daily breakfast at the Mexican restaurant that is only told to time share owners. Also, time share owners are the only ones that get a welcome package. Based on our talks with existing time share owners they all were very happy with the deals they received and service provided from the Hotel. So if you are interested in a time share this is the place to be. The resort also could have done a better job orienting you about the resort. We did plan to attend the orientation the morning after we arrived and went into the lobby area but we never heard any announcement for an orientation so we left after waiting about 30 minutes and tried to figure out the resort on our own.
Transfers: The airport transfers went well. We booked through SkyAuction.com which included free transfers to the Hotel. The service was waiting for us when we arrived. We had the entire van to ourselves and went directly to the Hotel. It was about a 30 minute ride. When we arrived we were provide a green celery non-alcoholic drink. We would have preferred a glass of Champagne. Our room was ready when we arrived and we were able to check in quickly.
Room: A bit disappointing. We did reserve the junior suite but were expecting a Jacuzzi tub. I had previously email the hotel and they said most rooms had a Jacuzzi tub so we would probably get one. We had neither a bath or Jacuzzi tub in our room. We also had a first floor room which didn’t have a great view. A room on a higher floor would have been nice. Since the resort was about 20% filled we had thought that the resort would upgrade us to a better room. The room we had did have nice amenities but it could have been nicer with an upgrade. The free wireless internet is nice so bring your computer. Be careful of the candy left in the rooms on the bed each night. One several occasions there were bugs in them. Also, one day the maids left a half full can of soda in the room that they took from the refrigerator in the room and another day didn’t come in for turndown service or bring in clean towels.
Pools/Bar Service: The pools were very nice and not crowded. However, on some days the pool service was very poor. It appeared to us that unless you either had a certain colored bracelet showing that you were a time share owner or a very big tipper you had to get most of your own drinks on most days. When someone did come around we tipped a $1 or $2 (US) but that didn’t seem to be enough for them to come back. If they did return it may be 30 minutes later and often with a different drink than we had ordered. We did figure out the best way to get good pool services to make friends with a time share owner and sit next to them. They gave us excellent service when we were with the time share owners. The Pizza and grilled shrimp at the pool area were very good. But sometimes you had to wait a long time for a hamburger and fries which were also cold on several occasions. Another problem is they didn’t provide straws with the drinks which were a problem since the drinks couldn’t be stirred to mix the alcohol and you couldn’t drink the frozen drinks without the straws. Also, the pool chairs kept breaking. It appeared to be built with a poor quality cloth. There also should be activities around the pool area during the day like pool volleyball. One notable pool waiter was Francisco who always can around with great pool service and didn’t look for a tip.
Wedding party: On our first night we were very tired but a wedding was going outside our room with very loud music which lasted until about 4:00 am. Thanks to a thunderstorm the outdoor party finally ended and we got about 3 hours of sleep. You would think a nice resort would have a curfew for loud noise around 11:00 PM.
Restaurants: Good restaurants but a little confusing on which nights each were open. Once you figured out the schedule things go smoothly. Also, the restaurant menus seemed to be geared toured adults rather than children. I wouldn’t recommend the resort for children. One night they had a Mexican dinner outside that wasn’t publicized very well. We didn’t know about it and many other quests said that they didn’t either. We would have liked to attend but didn’t find out until after we had already eaten. One notable waiter in the Italian and Japanese restaurants was Fernando who also gave great service without looking for a tip.
Entertainment: Except for the Caribbean night party on Wednesday night which was excellent I would give the entertainment a poor rating. They had some but wasn’t very entertaining. Once again this resort isn’t recommended for children. Iberostar resorts that we were at last year had much better entertainment for Children.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PvanNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, 13 November 2009
Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to write your comments, we appreciate your feedback since it gives us the opportunity to improve our services. We would also like to thank you for commenting on the positives as well as the areas you felt needed work.

In reference to your comments concerning the personalized service you received while staying at Hacienda Tres Rios, it is not our policy to differentiate between timeshare owners and non timeshare owners. Wristbands are strictly for your safety while at the resort and no other reason. We regret you felt this way and look forward to having you as a guest with us in the future.

Our activities program is set up in a more subtle way as opposed to similar resorts. We do have volleyball games and activities available for every guest; this schedule is given to everyone upon arrival. Concerning the kid’s activities at the resort we do cater to families and therefore have a kids club with specially trained personnel which receives great reviews on this site, food is also one of our most repetitive comments and we do offer a kids menu at every restaurant.

Once again we regret you did not have a favorable experience with us and hope to have a second opportunity to cater to you and your family as a guest with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The resort was beautiful and the grounds were well maintained. There was not a lot of organized activity during the day, but the resort did not have a lot of guests when we were there. I can't say that we'd find this a negative, we liked that it was very quiet and relaxing.
The food was great. The staff was very accomodating to our son's peanut allergy and were thoughtful of that wherever we went to eat. The night entertainment was also good, nice variety.
We look forward to returning again some day!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ange0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Resort was very nice. During our stay I would say the resort was not even quite at 1/2 capactiy which made for a very quiet intimate time for our large group of 21 with children ranging in age from 2 - 18 year. There was much building still going on..which was never a problem or inconvenience during our stay. There were 3 resturants and the buffet open. When the hotel is at capacity this will be a problem as the resturants/buffet are not large. Service and food in the resturants and at the pools was excellent. They really do need to add a rest room facility at the pool area closest to the beach along with a permanent bar (the rolling bar would often run out of things). The beach area was quiet and we were always able to get a bed on the beach I think this is because no one was in the water as the water is not the carribean blue you would hope for but it is clean. One of the main improvements I feel the hotel needs is more activities. If they want to continue to market this hotel as a family resort. Our kids basically entertained themselves for the most part (fortunately there was alot of them.. had we been at this resort alone I know I would have been hearing..."I'm bored") .

We need take advantage of the day time tours.. Ceynote and kayaking. and everyone did enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank honeypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We traveled to HTR in July for our summer vacation. It was wonderful and many of the comments others have made we would definitely agree with. It is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beauty of this part of the world! Not a party hotel at all. Our rooms were very clean and well stocked throughout the week. The service was impeccable-especially Carlos by the pool and of course Oscar! Definitely take advantage of the onsite tours of the cenotes. They were amazing.

The only real negative experience we had here was the dining options. While the food was very good everywhere we ate, we never knew what was going to be open that night. One night, we planned to have a casual dinner buffet because we had been out all day and were exhausted. We went downstairs to find the buffet was closed. So we went to the Mexican restuarant, but they wouldn't let us eat there because my boyfriend was in khaki shorts (which were nicer than some of the other clothes I saw in the restuarant). Our only meal option that night was the grill outside. So we had to eat outside amongst the heat and swarm of mosquitos. We ended up rushing through our meal so we wouldn't get eaten alive my the mosquitos.

A couple tips I found helpful: Bring bug spray (all natural if possible because you cannot get in the cenotes if you have on bugspray), when you get off the plane in Cancun do not stop an talk to the people that approach you in ties they are just trying to sell you timeshares, ask for a clear schedule of night time activites when you arrive, sign up for cenote tours early because they fill up

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tngirl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Wow this place was WONDERFUL!!! The food, service, staff, salt water pools, spa, most comfortable beds, snorkeling, kayaking, live entertainment , educational activities ( we learned how to carve fruit and how to know if your drinking the right Tequila) as well as fun celebrations!!!I’ve never felt better, my hair and skin are so soft. Thank s to the environment, energy and skin drinks great food and just a relaxing and fun time!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thereeses1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.9 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,335 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,564 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#100 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
800 reviews
3.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#52 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5,752 reviews
3.2 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#13 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Property: Hacienda Tres Rios
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing