We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great kids programming, fantastic staff, eco-orientation a plus”
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hacienda Tres Rios
Ranked #64 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great kids programming, fantastic staff, eco-orientation a plus”
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We stayed at HTR with our kids (daughter, 8 and son, 5.5) in December 09 and were particularly pleased with the kids' programming -- Silvia and other staff were warm, inviting, and made our kids comfortable right away. Our son -- usually fearful and a bit of a homebody -- was almost as eager to attend as our older daughter, and they both had a great time. The entire staff (without exception) is genuinely polite, considerate, and charming -- really amazing service all around.

We also appreciated the eco-tourism orientation: geothermal a/c and hot water, mangrove reforestation, and beach-scum harvesting for compost are all very appealing to us, as are the cenotes, kayaking, and unusually prolific wildlife.

Finally, here's a brief example of the all-around service experience: I capsized a sailboat in rough wind and sea, and instead of being surly and rude the beach attendant sailed out on a second boat, let me hop over and sail in while he righted the other boat, and then actually took the time to teach me how to right a catamaran and explained exactly why I had capsized.

We will most definitely return to HTR.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StuckOnThePlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,025
    1,223
    472
    221
    253
See reviews for
2,524
1,591
47
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

After reading some reviews and checking this place out, I sent 2 emails to the resort asking very simple questions on the amenities, pools etc..
Never received a reply to either.
Sent same emails to Sunset Hotels, who own the place, and never hear back in regard as well.
I don't know what the problem is or what the secrets are here but I do know we will not even consider staying here.
If the service is bad already, I can just imagine what it would be on site and not willing to chance it.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stueyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Hacienda Tres Rios, responded to this review, 29 December 2009
Dear Guest, Thank you for your interest in Hacienda Tres Rios. Please contact us to let us know where you have sent these emails. We have searched and have been unable to find them. Please visit our website for further information you shall require. There you will be able to find our contact information and all of the amenities and services offered at the resort. Thank you for your time and we hope to have you as a future guest with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We had a wonderful 4 night vacation. The staff, without exception, were wonderful. All were friendly and helpful. The rooms were extreme luxury, with marble, fine linens and towels, stocked fridge, turndown service, 24 hour room service, etc.

We are nature lovers and came to explore the "tres rios" and cenotes. There are many included nature tours (with usually only 2-6 people). The paths are well-maintained to allow exploring on your own as well. We kayaked early every morning and enjoyed the many birds. We came prepared with bug spray, but there were NO mosquitos.

The pools are huge and beautiful. The beds on the beach are relaxing. Enjoy unlimited plush towels without signing for them or giving your room key or any such nonsense. Enjoy happy cocktail and food service delivered to your lounge chair. As noted in other reviews, the ocean is NOT inviting. It appears that organic matter, that looks like peat moss, washes from of the mangrove swamps, out through of the rivers and into the ocean. The waves then pulverize this material and this leads to muddy-appearing beach water. If you want to play in the ocean, this is not the place for you. On the other hand, they rivers themselves are clear and snorkeling is possible in the small rivers and some of the cenotes.

The food is OK. Neither the buffets nor the a la cartes were great, but overall, the food was OK. The staff is happy to try to be accommodating. The 7-course meal at the chef's table was the exceptionally good meal. We had this on our last night and would recommend it. The bars were well-stocked and the service was very good. Food safety: we had not even a hint of intestinal distress. We did not drink tap water (there is bottled water in the rooms), but we had water in the restaurants and even had sushi.

A word about time-share sales. Our welcoming concierge gave us the welcoming overview of the resort and then mentioned the gifts we would receive for taking a sales tour. We told her we were not interested, and we were not approached again regarding sales. We continued to have happy, friendly service.

The resort could not have been 25% full on our visit. Positives: no waits for seating in any restaurants; easy to relax. Negatives: full buffets were set up for a handful of people, so the food turnover may not have been frequent - we went for mostly cook-to-order food; not a rocking place for the younger set.

So, in summary, come here for relaxation, pampering, and nature.

Thoughts about the future: The resort as it stands now is on the south side of the southern of 3 rivers. The middle and south rivers both begin in cenotes and flow to the ocean. They can be kayaked and snorkled. The northern river is actually more of a mangrove estruary with lots of shallow branching waterways. The master plan for the site includes another resort between the two southern rivers. It also appears that the northern mangrove estruary is to be replaced by a marina and several single family homes with docks. The consequences for birds and fish may be significant. It remains to be seen if this development stays true to the eco-friendly theme that is in place now. We hope so.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiddleRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We took our young kids and they had a GREAT time and so did the adults! The staff was excellent!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CK4SAGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Falls, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

After the typical hassle associated with getting through the Cancun airport and to our rental car agency, our first experience with the Hacienda Tres Rios was driving on a well maintained road through the middle of a mangrove forest. The hotel complex could not be seen, so we teased the kids that we were going to be living in a jungle for the duration of our stay. The vegetation was incredible and the once we actually pulled up to the hotel complex we were awestruck, the grounds and architecture were beautiful inside and out.
This is our third trip to the Yucatan penninsula and our second to the Riviera Maya. The greeting at the hotel was what we have come to expect from that area: the feeling that somehow you were just declared royalty, even if only for a week. The staff took care of everything, luggage, car valet, checkin, etc. We were passed from the checkin to the conceirge, Astrid and her twin sister Ingrid took care of everything we needed during our entire stay. After agreeing to lisen to their sales pitch about purchasing a membership at the resort, we managed to get some very nice gifts that probably totalled around $200-250 USD, including convering the majority of the cost of our trip to Xcaret (another must see). While totally optional, listening to the sales pitch gave us the opportunity to get a very nice tour of the facility and learn quite a bit about the hotel and the ecological conservation work that goes along with the resort.
The rooms were fantastic, honestly they are so big it is hard to really use all the space provided, and well appointed in marble, granite, soapstone, larges showers, jacuzzi tub, etc. My wife and I enjoyed a private bedroom with bath and our three children shared another bedroom with their own bath and each of them had their own bed. All rooms have an ocean view and overlook the pools/outdoor restaurant area which is beautiful.
There are so many great activities available onsite that we only left the complex twice, once to visit Xcaret and once to go to Playa del Carmen souvenier shopping. We snorkeled in an open cenote, kayaked down one of the rivers through the magrove forest, took a tour of the hotel's greenhouse and ecological restoration and preservation efforts, used one of the available catamarans to visit the nearby coral reef and snorkel, and more. The activities at this resort are real experiences and not just fluff to fill the travel brochure, it is actually stuff I wanted to do and throroughly enjoyed.
Breakfasts were great and we always left the morning buffet at the Las Islas restaurant too full because we couldn't stop eating. The outdoor, wood fired pizzaria is amazing as well as the Hacienda Grill. The Hacienda Grill was also our favorite dinner spot with a ribeye that was just amazing.
The staff is always present and helpful without being intrusive, if you need another player for your beach volleyball game someone will step in, if you don't know how to sail but want to take the catamaran someone will go with you, they were helpful, cheerful, professional, and friendly.
The last thing I must mention and perhaps the one thing that made our vacation so pleasant was the Kid's Club and especially it's director Silvia. Our children begged to go every day and we had to drag them away to go do family activities. The club is for children 4-12 and runs from 10am to 7pm, including meals if you wish. They do so many great activities from games at the beach and pool to making cookies and pizzas. The kids could stay busy and have a safe and fun experience and it allowed us to be able to have some time with just my wife and I to really relax and enjoy our vacation as well. Thanks Silvia and Anna you girls are the best!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank howewyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We stayed there nov 8 to 12th. We wish it could have been longer, next time it will be.
Others have stated things that we agree 100%. The food is great, I mean top notch. I normally have a dislike for buffets, but at Tres Rios, they do it in such a fashion, that the presentation is fantastic. The al carte menu's are to die for.
The drinks are top shelf, if you want Grey Goose for example, you get it.
Hector, at the front concierge desk is the BEST. He knows everything, just ask him anything.
We did do a time share presentation and it was low pressure. At any time we could have left. As it turned out, we did buy. No regrets.
The rooms were modern, clean, and very nice. We had a studio unit, more than enough room for two of us. Next year we are planning to come back with family.
We have been to Cancun, Mazatlan and Puerto Vallarta. They all have their good points. In the Mayan area, it would be the lush tropical jungle. Playa Del Carmen is a fun place to visit for the day, great shopping on 5th ave. I hope this helped anyone who is trying to decide on a great place to stay while in the Mayan area.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank debandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

My wife and I recently spent 4 days at the resort for her birthday. The resort itself was OK, the pools were typical of a nice resort, the beach and especially the water were terrible... not anything like the blue waters of the carribean and other beachy resorts.

The people that work there are EXCEPTIONAL, truly better than any resort or cruise we have been on. Hector was very good at keeping us informed and making suggestions.

Unfortunately, since it rained the whole time we were there we spent a lot of time inside where we constantly encountered sales pitches all around us in the lobby, in the restaurants , etc. for their time share sales. We were called 4 times in our room asking if we wanted to attend. It seemed that we were the only regular guests there at times.

As others have said, Oscar isgreat. He even has a secret dining venue in the kithen which we happened to find out about from another couple. why no one from the resort told us, i don't know. I can only speculate that it had to have to do with them selling timeshares and making this dining exoerience a perk.

Overall an Ok resort with and incredible staff

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMD1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,744 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#49 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,484 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#46 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,683 reviews
3.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#55 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,040 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tres Rios

Property: Hacienda Tres Rios
Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Km. 54, Playa del Carmen 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Tres Rios 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy and relax in a sustainable tourism luxury development in the Mexican Caribbean, our Spa & Nature Park make it the perfect spot for relaxing while your younger and more adventurous companions explore the beauty of the Riviera Maya within a safe environment such as this award-winning eco-luxury hotel integrated within Tres Ríos Nature Park. Be part of a paradise designed to restore and preserve the natural landscape without sacrificing the comforts and amenities of a five star all-inclusive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tres Rios Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Tres Rios Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing