We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pace to stay in Playa del Carmen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Ticul
Ranked #57 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Corozal Town, Belize
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The pace to stay in Playa del Carmen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Great place to stay in Playa del Carmen. Close enough to amenities but far enough from the hustle and bustle. Short walk to the beach where they have a deal with a resort for folding chairs and umbrellas. Don't miss Chez Celine the French bakery two blocks into town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BZPapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    206
    49
    15
    6
See reviews for
49
538
65
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Nice place, close to the beach and the main street, and good breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandonroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Casa Ticul when we went to Playa for a friend's wedding. The wedding was at one of the huge resorts at the southern end of town, and we definitely got the better deal!! Casa Ticul is very personal because of the small number of rooms. We got to know the front desk staff fairly well and even saw one of them on 5th Avenue a few times. Our room was very clean, and very well appointed. The breakfast on the roof patio was amazing and definitely got the day started off right. Also, the passes to Mamita's beach were wonderful and helped us spend a relaxing day on the beach. The hotel staff also helped us book our tour of Tulum and Coba, which were both great. The only thing that wasn't 100% awesome was that the wi-fi did not reach into our room; however, the computers in the lobby worked well and I try not to be completely connected when I'm on vacation anyway!

All in all, a great place to stay and enjoy Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LordNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Thank you for your comment!
We are happy that your stay has been in your total pleasure and you meet some of the cultural sites of the Mayan Riviera and taking you great memories forever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We only stayed 4 nights but loved it here so much. The shower is ultra modern with a rainfall shower head, they have wonderful toiletries including even mosquito repellent (I didnt notice any mosquitos however) and a nice TV. The WiFI was easy to use and fairly fast, although sometimes I had to stand near the window to get a good signal.

The room has a fan and a good air conditioning unit, we turned off the air conditioning everytime we left the room for the day yet it was always nice and cool in the room. I saw other guests just left their windows open to allow the breeze in.

The mini bar has very reasonably prices, $1 water, $1.50 gatorades. This was the first time in my life I actually helped myself to the minibar since it was reasonably priced.

The breakfast on the rooftop is so wonderful. There are plenty of seats, plenty of shade, and plenty of options.

The room cleaning was always great, we'd come back to really intricate towel sculptures. It seemed the more we tipped the more amazing the sculpture, it was fun!

They give you coupons for free chairs and umbrellas at Mamitas beach club. I highly recommend you go there, its on a great spot on the beach, has a great bar and restaurant or they bring the food to your chair. Try the fried fish, its good. Try and get there before noon, the chairs and beds fill up fast.

The design of the hotel was genius, it allowed for the pool to remain in the shade almost the entire day, so that you always have a refreshing swim away from the intense sun beams of doom that are plentiful in that tropical part of mexico. They always played tasteful background music that seems to only be audible if you are in the pool area.

It was always quiet, we never heard another room. The only sounds I ever heard was the weird tropical birds in the morning that live in that part of the world.

This hotel is located in what I kept heard being called "The new avenida quinta". If you are familiar with SoFi in South Beach, the area south of 5th street in South Beach Miami, this part 5th street in Playa del carmen is very similar.

I don't think any travel guide or forum I visited prepared me for how tacky and awful 5th street /avenida quinta is in terms of tourist trap hell. Thankfully Casa Ticul is in the very nicest part of Avenida Quinta, at the very northern end.

Also I noticed even if I caught a cab on that part of 5th street, I never got charged tourist prices of 50 pesos for any distance. It was more in the 25-35 peso range per ride.

There are two small tiendas (convenience stores) located right next to the hotel, making it very easy and very cheap to get whatever small things you need, from beer, wine, lighters, snacks, water to aquas frescas.

The restaurants near the hotel are the best. You are a short cab ride from El Dogon for authentic Tacos al Pastor, or a stone throw away from excellent steaks at El Facon, best breakfast at La Cueva del Chango, best small dive bar/lounge Casa Rosa, and best Mojitos and salsa dancing at La Bodeguita del Medio. This is the absolute best part of Playa del Carmen, there is no doubt.

One tip: don't use the ATM right outside the hotel, it charges a large fee. Instead take a cab to a ATM located around 30th street for the best rates. I used Santander bank near the MEGA on 30th.

Also the hotel offers many convenient tours. We did not use them for this, but they seemed to have many options at good prices.

They have a nice computer area near the front desk if you want to check your email or the weather or whatever you need. It seems the front desk staff speaks good english and gives great advice for what to do or where to eat.

The only downside is it is adult only, no kids allowed, so if you are looking for a family hotel this is not the one for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bboyneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
We appreciate your excellent commentary, analyzing every part of our service and it always helps to be better in every detail.

We hope to give a nice and new surprise on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We booked our trip to Playa Del Carmen in April to plan our upcoming wedding on a travel site that gave us an awesome deal. The deal was so great, we were extremely worried the hotel selection was going to be horrendous. To our surprise, Casa Ticul was the highlight of our weeklong trip. The hotel is located on 5th avenue about a 5 minute walk from the busy part of 5th avenue but it seems like its a world away. The hotel is located in a calmer residential area that was perfect for our group which consisted of 4 people in their late 20s and my parents who are in their late 50s. I had not been to Playa Del Carmein in a couple of years and to say it has changed from the charming quiet town i remember is the understatement of the year. There are gift shop employees that hound you down the minute they spot you, casa ticul was a welcome refuge after a busy/noisy stroll. The pool is small but was great to cool off in after a long day at the beach. the rooms are modern looking with great beds and thoughful toiletries like aloe vera gel and bug repellant provided. The breakfast was a great spread of fruit, juices, bread, and eggs. the breakfast is served on the terrace of the hotel which is covered with umbrellas and feels at least 20 degrees cooler than the intense heat you feel when walking in Playa. If you're looking for a great resource, make sure you chat with Paola the young lady who works the front desk. Paola was extremely helpful and friendly, she set up most of our wedding meetings and provided us with a ton of information. We loved our stay at casa ticul and cannot wait to go back.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JenChi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

My wife and I chose this small hotel as we generally avoid bigger resort-type places. The stay was great, nice rooms, amazingly friendly and helpful staff and conveniently located up the street from the main nightlife and restaurant strip of 5th ave. They have a small pool for relaxing closer to the room and the magnificent beaches are a short 5min walk away. If you're looking for a low-key, laid back alternative to noisy or crowded resorts, this is it! Playa del Carmen is a beautiful little spot away from the overly built commercial madness of Cancun.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Thanks for your nice comment, we are happy to see you again on your next vacation in Playa del Carmen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston,ma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

We just returned home to Boston from a wonderful stay at Hotel Casa Ticul. I chose this hotel because of the reviews and I am glad I did.
Everyone that works here is just wonderful, very kind and helpful. We felt welcome from the minute we walked through the door.

This hotel is in a great neighborhood close to the best restaurants in the town.
I loved getting up each morning and having a made to order breakfast on the roof deck. The warm smiles that greeted us each morning were worth getting up for, not to mention the fresh local eggs and cappucino!
Corner store and laundry service were great too.
This is a place where I will return again and again.
++very clean and comfortable, thanks to Hotel Casa Ticul and Nicolas our driver to and from airport. Everything was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chili11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Thanks for your suggestions and your nice comment.

We will consider all suggestions like internet on the terrace and the table for the reading rooms.

For your next visit we will ensure that your stay is even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#60 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#50 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Property: Hotel Casa Ticul
Address: Quinta Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 Lote 8 | Zazil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing