We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel! Favourite hotel of our trip.”
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Ticul
Ranked #79 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel! Favourite hotel of our trip.”
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Everything about Hotel Casa Ticul was fantastic & we loved our time there from check in to check out.

It's very easy to find on 5th Avenue & far enough away from the main hustle & bustle to allow peace & quiet without taking you right out of all the action. If you're walking from the ADO bus station on 5th Avenue, turn left & keep going until you get to Calle 38. It's on the left between 38th & 40th. If you have a lot of luggage or don't enjoy walking, take a taxi, because the walk will take you about 15 mins, but it gives you an excellent orientation to the area.

The hotel staff are wonderful! Everyone was very friendly, always with a smile on their face & only too eager to help with anything.

The rooms (in fact the whole hotel) are incredibly clean, tastefully decorated & well maintained. Our room (18) was on the 3rd floor. It featured 2 Queen size beds that were very comfortable & the bedding was great quality, with crisp linens. There was plenty of hanging space for unpacking. The shower is enormous with good water pressure & we had no troubles with hot water. There is also an in room safe, TV with a good variety of Spanish & English channels & a small refrigerator/mini bar. They even offer reasonably priced room service from the restaurant next door, although we never tried it. The pool area is lovely & the wireless worked in our room. Housekeeping provided fresh towels (in the shape of animals) for the shower & the pool/beach & made up the beds daily.

The rooftop terrace is gorgeous & the breakfast (which was included in our room rate) was delicious!! It was served from 7.30-10.30am daily & features cereal, toast with a selection of spreads, ham & cheese, 3 kinds of fruit juice, a variety of fruit (usually watermelon, papaya, rock melon, honey dew, pineapples, apples & banana) & a special item that changed daily (over our 4 night stay we enjoyed breakfast burritos, omelettes & quesadillas), which was made to order, beautifully presented & absolutely delicious. The breakfast was more than enough to keep us going & most days we didn't eat again until dinner because it was so substantial.

Another great feature of the hotel is that it allows you free access to several beach clubs, including Mamitas (which plays electronic music most of the day so has chilled club vibe) & Las Palapas (which had a live band on the Sunday we were there & played some very chilled out music mixes the other days we were there). Access to the each club includes towels, beach lounges/day beds & umbrellas/Palapas as well as access to food & beverage service.

I would definitely recommend the hotel & will absolutely stay at Hotel Casa Ticul again, next time I visit Playa del Carmen.

A quick note on getting around:

The ADO bus service is great. They run regularly, seem to be on time, are air conditioned & inexpensive. A trip from downtown Cancun to Playa del Carmen cost 62 pesos. Playa del Carmen to Tulum was also 62 pesos & there's a stop at the archeological zone, so avoid expensive tour fees & do it yourself. If you're heading straight to or from the Cancun Airport, it's 112 pesos to Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theotherjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    214
    51
    16
    8
See reviews for
53
546
66
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I have never been more excited (ecstatic!) about a hotel than this adorably chic Casa Ticul. Why you may ask?? I can’t believe the quality of such a hotel/room could be offered for only $85 a night (gasp!) In my world, nothing costs $85. Change your world, you say. Off with their heads! I retort.

Room: we had the joy of staying in the only Jr. suite. It was a lovely room with a king sized four poster bed and a small sitting area. Purple accents ever where- the pillow! The chaise lounger! The chairs! It was divine. The bed was uber comfy and as an added bonus, there was a nice balcony overlooking the pool area and Fifth Ave.

There were a few negatives with the room, nothing that would derail another stay but full disclosure ahead- first, there was very little space to hang your clothing and no drawers for anything else. Fine for us as we were only there 3 days but for a longer stay, you would want to unpack. Secondly, the pillows were horrible. Management if you are reading, change the pillows!! Also, there is a small mini fridge and it’s filled with well, stuff. It would be better if we had the option of having it empty so we could stock up on water etc.

Food: breakfast was included and served daily on the roof of the hotel. The selection leaves a lot to be desired but hey, it’s FREE so if it’s not good enough for you, there are so many places within walking distance. Origenes has a wonderful breakfast, everything made to order and healthy. Its a few blocks from the hotel and well, very cheap.

Location- this is my favorite part of Playa to stay in. There is a GREAT juice bar across the street and tons of wonderful restaurants within walking distance. Canibal Royal is the best beach club (in my very humble opinion) and it’s about a 5 minute walk. The French Bakery is also pretty fabulous and authentic.

Staff- service goes a long way with me and this hotel delivered. Everyone here is SO NICE. The women at breakfast preparing and serving the foods were fantastic as was Diego at the front desk. I would definitely stay here again. You can too but just not in my purple room.

Room Tip: It's all about the purple jr suite with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoxxyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your nice comments!, we will consider all suggestions, so sure you will enjoy even more the beautiful junior suite on your next visit!

We're glad you've taken a good promotion, as you say we always have dynamic promotions where you can find excellent rates in the different seasons that we handle...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmdale, FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I will echo most of the observations of other reviewers except on one note. I made my reservation online and prepaid for their top-of-the-line room. When I arrived at the property the front desk staff said that they knew nothing of my reservation, I proceeded to show them my copy and they then agreed to provide me a room. I stated and showed them where I had paid for their premium room but they said it was unavailable. They did not offer to credit my account nor did they apologize in any way, shape, or form. This treatment ruined what otherwise would have been an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcstlmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

Really lovely small hotel which we found at a great price for the location and standard of both the room and breakfast served on the roof terrace. Beach club passes were useful and we would recommend Canibal out of those we tried. Amazing "towel art" in the rooms was a nice touch. Staff helpful and friendly.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank nickyg0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Been there last month on our honeymoon and loved every single second of our stay.
Great breakfast with a variety of choices every day something else.
The location is good is on the 5 eve between 38 and 40 street, it's just a bit far from all the commotion but it's 7 min walk.
The hotel is very plesent, quiet, clean with a nice p small pool.
But the main reason that I'm writing this review is a great person that work there that help us in a way I've never seen before in a hotel, her name is Paloma and she is amazing and helpful and kind in every situation. Best vacation we ever had!! Thank you Paloma!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avihovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel was recommended by friends who have stayed in Playa before. It was great in every way. The location is perfect for access to the beach and shopping/dining and still quiet. The staff went above and beyond in all categories. The breakfast ladies made breakfast to order with a smile. The outdoor terrace where breakfast is served is lovely. The desk staff helped us find great restaurants for dinner and helped with reservations for meals and other activities as well. The cleaning staff also were superlative. The room could use more space for sitting other than on your bed and a couple of drawers for storing clothing. But these are minor points. There were several nice places to sit outdoors to read or drink a beer and eat snacks if we wanted. The weather was always great so we did not really care about being in our room except to sleep. The craziness of 5th ave was close but not audible. We would recommend this hotel to couples who want a great value and service. We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
We are pleased that the hotel has been recommended by friends and has been your total satisfaction.
As you say, every detail is important to us as a rich breakfast in the morning makes you an excellent day and then visit a nearby beach club are the advantages you get to stay in a small boutique hotel on Fifth Avenue.

Thanks for your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

While we have vacationed in Playa many times, this is our first stay at Casa Ticul. We enjoy staying in north Playa, a more quiet, less frenetic area. We loved this hotel: nice size rooms with fridge & comfortable beds, updated bathroom with waterfall shower, thick towels, his/her bathrobes & slippers - which were a very nice touch. Breakfast,served roof-top, was wonderful, if not on the menu, just ask and they will gladly accommodate. Recommend you take advantage of the complimentary beach passes to Las Palapas, much less noisy and hectic than Mamitas. A convenience store right on the corner sells wine, beer and snacks, the restaurant Kool Fish will deliver food to the rooftop, or poolside making this another unique feature. Staff is friendly and always helpful. We will definitely be returning to this wonderful boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms facing pool - too much morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loves2travel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Casa Ticul offers from all the amenities required for comfort during your stay.
The advantage of having a variety of restaurants around the hotel to pick one and enjoy a romantic evening on our terrace falita is a detail that is very enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#54 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,367 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#39 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#17 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
849 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Property: Hotel Casa Ticul
Address: Quinta Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 Lote 8 | Zazil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing