We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, service excellent and the breakfast is delicious!”
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Ticul
Ranked #87 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We were looking for a cheap hotel with a good rating and excellent reviews downtown Playa Del Carmen. Well we found it!
They are right on 5th avenue with plenty of convinience stores around and they also have access to 3 beach at 5 minutes on foot. Bus and transport nearby. Nice centered location.
The breakfast is very good (included), rooms are clean, comfortable beds, air cond., cable tv place to relax on the roof and a pool downtairs.
They have also special pricing on the restaurant next door and they can come and deliver your dinner right on the roof of the hotel.
Overall rating 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

We are happy that your stay has been excellent! As you say always good and dynamic handle promotions for those who like to plan your vacation!

Thanks for the comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa Ticul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

This is chic place to stay away from hustle and bustle of Playa but within walking distance. We spent a night here for $85 a night before we took ferry to Cozumel (last minute whim and figured needed inexpensive place to stay for early morning departure and we couldnt have stumbled on better find. .

Room: we stay in amazing Jr. suite. It was fantastic room with king bed and everything in royal purlple. The bed was amazing and nice balcony overlooking the pool and 5th Ave


Only negatives were little if any space to for hanging clothes but hey where here for only onenight.

Food: Free breakfast and is served on hotel roof.

Location: Far from hustle and bustle but close to all that Playa has to offer.

Service: Top notch with service with smile

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My wife and I, were extremely happy with the way we were treated, just like family.
From the concierge staff to housekeeping and the girls up in the breakfeast terrace, they were wonderful.
We had visited other countrries in Europa & Latin America, but the hospitality and human warm they give you in Casa Ticul it is out of this world. Rooms are very clean and cozy.
We'll be back soon.

Aracelys & Tony Arriaga.
Pembroke Pines, Fl.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank TonyA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Everything about Hotel Casa Ticul was fantastic & we loved our time there from check in to check out.

It's very easy to find on 5th Avenue & far enough away from the main hustle & bustle to allow peace & quiet without taking you right out of all the action. If you're walking from the ADO bus station on 5th Avenue, turn left & keep going until you get to Calle 38. It's on the left between 38th & 40th. If you have a lot of luggage or don't enjoy walking, take a taxi, because the walk will take you about 15 mins, but it gives you an excellent orientation to the area.

The hotel staff are wonderful! Everyone was very friendly, always with a smile on their face & only too eager to help with anything.

The rooms (in fact the whole hotel) are incredibly clean, tastefully decorated & well maintained. Our room (18) was on the 3rd floor. It featured 2 Queen size beds that were very comfortable & the bedding was great quality, with crisp linens. There was plenty of hanging space for unpacking. The shower is enormous with good water pressure & we had no troubles with hot water. There is also an in room safe, TV with a good variety of Spanish & English channels & a small refrigerator/mini bar. They even offer reasonably priced room service from the restaurant next door, although we never tried it. The pool area is lovely & the wireless worked in our room. Housekeeping provided fresh towels (in the shape of animals) for the shower & the pool/beach & made up the beds daily.

The rooftop terrace is gorgeous & the breakfast (which was included in our room rate) was delicious!! It was served from 7.30-10.30am daily & features cereal, toast with a selection of spreads, ham & cheese, 3 kinds of fruit juice, a variety of fruit (usually watermelon, papaya, rock melon, honey dew, pineapples, apples & banana) & a special item that changed daily (over our 4 night stay we enjoyed breakfast burritos, omelettes & quesadillas), which was made to order, beautifully presented & absolutely delicious. The breakfast was more than enough to keep us going & most days we didn't eat again until dinner because it was so substantial.

Another great feature of the hotel is that it allows you free access to several beach clubs, including Mamitas (which plays electronic music most of the day so has chilled club vibe) & Las Palapas (which had a live band on the Sunday we were there & played some very chilled out music mixes the other days we were there). Access to the each club includes towels, beach lounges/day beds & umbrellas/Palapas as well as access to food & beverage service.

I would definitely recommend the hotel & will absolutely stay at Hotel Casa Ticul again, next time I visit Playa del Carmen.

A quick note on getting around:

The ADO bus service is great. They run regularly, seem to be on time, are air conditioned & inexpensive. A trip from downtown Cancun to Playa del Carmen cost 62 pesos. Playa del Carmen to Tulum was also 62 pesos & there's a stop at the archeological zone, so avoid expensive tour fees & do it yourself. If you're heading straight to or from the Cancun Airport, it's 112 pesos to Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theotherjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I have never been more excited (ecstatic!) about a hotel than this adorably chic Casa Ticul. Why you may ask?? I can’t believe the quality of such a hotel/room could be offered for only $85 a night (gasp!) In my world, nothing costs $85. Change your world, you say. Off with their heads! I retort.

Room: we had the joy of staying in the only Jr. suite. It was a lovely room with a king sized four poster bed and a small sitting area. Purple accents ever where- the pillow! The chaise lounger! The chairs! It was divine. The bed was uber comfy and as an added bonus, there was a nice balcony overlooking the pool area and Fifth Ave.

There were a few negatives with the room, nothing that would derail another stay but full disclosure ahead- first, there was very little space to hang your clothing and no drawers for anything else. Fine for us as we were only there 3 days but for a longer stay, you would want to unpack. Secondly, the pillows were horrible. Management if you are reading, change the pillows!! Also, there is a small mini fridge and it’s filled with well, stuff. It would be better if we had the option of having it empty so we could stock up on water etc.

Food: breakfast was included and served daily on the roof of the hotel. The selection leaves a lot to be desired but hey, it’s FREE so if it’s not good enough for you, there are so many places within walking distance. Origenes has a wonderful breakfast, everything made to order and healthy. Its a few blocks from the hotel and well, very cheap.

Location- this is my favorite part of Playa to stay in. There is a GREAT juice bar across the street and tons of wonderful restaurants within walking distance. Canibal Royal is the best beach club (in my very humble opinion) and it’s about a 5 minute walk. The French Bakery is also pretty fabulous and authentic.

Staff- service goes a long way with me and this hotel delivered. Everyone here is SO NICE. The women at breakfast preparing and serving the foods were fantastic as was Diego at the front desk. I would definitely stay here again. You can too but just not in my purple room.

Room Tip: It's all about the purple jr suite with a balcony
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RoxxyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for your nice comments!, we will consider all suggestions, so sure you will enjoy even more the beautiful junior suite on your next visit!

We're glad you've taken a good promotion, as you say we always have dynamic promotions where you can find excellent rates in the different seasons that we handle...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I will echo most of the observations of other reviewers except on one note. I made my reservation online and prepaid for their top-of-the-line room. When I arrived at the property the front desk staff said that they knew nothing of my reservation, I proceeded to show them my copy and they then agreed to provide me a room. I stated and showed them where I had paid for their premium room but they said it was unavailable. They did not offer to credit my account nor did they apologize in any way, shape, or form. This treatment ruined what otherwise would have been an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobcstlmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Really lovely small hotel which we found at a great price for the location and standard of both the room and breakfast served on the roof terrace. Beach club passes were useful and we would recommend Canibal out of those we tried. Amazing "towel art" in the rooms was a nice touch. Staff helpful and friendly.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank nickyg0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#54 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,481 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#15 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#47 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#95 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Address: Quinta Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 Lote 8 | Zazil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £47 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing