We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel you could find in Playa”
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Ticul
Ranked #75 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel you could find in Playa”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It was far beyond our expectations- what a nice surprise!
The hotel is perfectly design wit chic, the room offers all the supplements of a high class vacation - all in a good economic pricing.
Bed is big and comfy, amazing shower, huge TV and good WIFI, cute swimming pool and great breakfast.
The staff really did his best to make our stay pleasant and we would recommend this hotel to everyone!
Around the hotel are wonderful restaurants and small bars, not so touristy and not too packed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    209
    50
    16
    8
See reviews for
50
542
66
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Casa Ticul for 3 nights the last week of august, it's a very cosy boutique hotel, my room (7) was good, the bed is incredible soft and comfortable and HUGE!
The only thing that i would improve is to put a better light everything else was great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeroPSuarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
The details mentioned our guests make us better!

Thanks for the comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very nice, welcoming, home-like hotel. We liked the design of rooms. Shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, after sun gel, and some other cool staff are provided unlike in many other hotels. They clean the room very well. And I want to thank you Lupita for doing her job. One morning we almost overslept our trip to sian ka'an; we woke up 2 minutes before our pick up driver left our hotel. So we had exactly 2 minutes to pack up and run down the stairs. As we were partying all night right before, we didn't prepare things ahead, and started to look for things when we woke up. We left such a mess that day. On our way back at around 8pm(we spent in the park all day) we were so tired, and the thought of cleaning the room was very upsetting to me. But to our big surprise, when we came back everything was super clean. All my make up was neatly organized by the TV, fresh towels, made-up bed, even my clothes, that I threw out of my bag in search of stuff that I needed that morning, was organized. I can't say thank you enough to you, Lupita. Everyone who works there made a good impression on up. Oh, by the way. They have very good breakfast there. All in all great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thanks for the comment!

Our maids are always attentive to the needs of our guests. And strive to pamper with towel art and some details that make you feel at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have been to Playa four times over the previous 18 months. The last three we have stayed at Hotel Casa Ticul. Simply stated, the staff of Casa Ticul have always treated us like family. They are beyond accommodating and are always pleasant and eager to help with planning any part of your stay. From restaurant advice to assistance in grabbing a cab or rental car, they are always there for you. The rooms are immaculate and the location is within walking distance of the best beaches, restaurants (including locals favorites) and night life. Casa Ticul will always be our second home. See you in March!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave and Nita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
It is always a great joy to see guests returning year after year.

Thanks for being part of the family Casa Ticul, see you in March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
180 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed at Casa Ticul for two nights. The property is modest but quaint. There are some really sweet touches in this boutique style hotel though: honey infused bath products, complimentary after sun gel and insect repellant (items tourists often forget to pack), modern decorative painting on the room walls, etc.

The staff are friendly and very kind. There is no elevator so guests need to be prepared to climb a few flights of stairs to get to their rooms and breakfast bar. There's a cute little luggage pully system where a heavier bag (such as one holding your dive gear) can be hoisted up rather than toting it up the stairs. A mini fridge was present in the room also. There's a small safe where you can lock up your passport, etc. You need to have the front desk set this up the first time you use it though.

For the type of hotel, I would have liked to have rated this five stars, but I had a few small issues. First, there is no deadbolt on the door - just a light push button lock. There is also no do-not-disturb sign when you want to ensure privacy. I had a terrible migraine one evening and there was so much banging that my head was throbbing form the noise. This was likely from the surrounding neighborhood and someone building something but I could not be sure where the noise was coming from for hours. There is also a lot of street noise when there are people partying out front. The bathroom window did not have a privacy curtain so it was awkward to shower and use the restroom because there were windows in neighboring properties with full view into the room with no privacy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuburbtoSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thanks for the excellent review!
All details mentioned we will take consider to make better hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days in early Aug 2013.

This place is in the quiet part of Playa Del Carmen, just on the outskirts of the vibrant area of town. Strategically located! A convenience store next door. Gourmet coffee shops, a taxi stand, and beach area within one/two blocks.

Great service with a smile! Modern and functionally designed rooms. Rooms were spotlessly clean. Toilets/plumbing worked perfectly - no complaints at all (no toilet paper in the toilet - this is the rule in most hotelsin MX). Basic but delicious breakfast offered in their rooftop dining area, which was accompanied with a different local gourmet dish every day. Coffee/tea were available in the lobby 24/7. Swimming pool area is not too big but just right and tastefully designed. Plenty of clean towels too...just need to ask.

Wi fi avaible in each room and in all common areas. Signal varied from time to time. Rooms 8 - 10 are closest to the modem and should have best signal. Front desk staff offered good advice on tours and eataries but you may be well off doing your own research on the internet and making selections independently. We took one tour with hotel recommendation and the other independently. We preferred the organization of the other tour better than the one suggested by the hotel.

The hotel has an agreement with three local beachfront businesses for access. There is some cost to the customers to access these areas. We did not get a chance to use their designated beach area.

PLENTY of excellent restaurants within 1 km distance - we ate at a Sushi place, Thai, NY style pizza, and French on different days. Just 5 buildings away, there is also a mexican eatary - El Pirata - which is popular with the locals (open only for lunch - their big meals are around 2 - 3 pm). You will know why when you visit. Make sure you order a shrimp cocktail here..amazingly delicious food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Desifoodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks for your comment!

We will consider all suggestions it says.
As you say we are located in a strategic place where you can walk and pick your favorite restaurant.

Our reception is 24 hours, so we are always attentive to the needs of those who stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithonia, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Everything was exquisite from the first day of arrival to the last day. This was our first visit to Mexico and it was awesome. This hotel is secretly tuck away on 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen where all the happens are (shopping, eateries, beaches...). Although this hotel is a small boutique, all the staff members are very personable from the ladies and men at the front desk to the ladies who made authentic mexican breakfast on the roof top for us every morning. Our room was clean and modern overlooking the secluded pool area. The bed was soft and comfortable. Although we did a lot of outside activities, it was great to watch movies on a flat screen TV when were in our lovely room. Little things like staff going out their way in ordering and delivering our late night food cravings, or making bag lunches for our all day tour. My husband and I believe all these things sets Hotel Casa Ticul apart from other hotels and resorts. It is definitely unique and one of a kind. Thank you Casa Ticul for making our first experience in Mexico amazing and rememberable. We look forward to our next visit in the near future.
Todd and Sonia Marbury

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
The details from the moment you stay with nosotroses so special to begin your vacation memories.

The intention is to make the guest feel at home away from home.

Thanks for the comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,209 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#52 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#32 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#23 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,726 reviews
0.8 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Property: Hotel Casa Ticul
Address: Quinta Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 Lote 8 | Zazil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing