We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casa Ticul
Ranked #55 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
“Just ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Casa Ticul is very far from everything and the beach. Located at the very end of the main strip in Playa del Carmen, it is a far walk from a nice beach and from central restaurants. We had to take a taxi frequently to the other side of the avenue, which ran us $5 each time. The beach nearest to the hotel smells VERY strongly of open sewage. We nicknamed Playa del Carmen "Stinky beach" because of our experience on this side of the town. The hotel was nice, but it seems you could do better for the price. The rooms are VERY dark all day, with very little light filtering through because of the shaded hallways. Beds were not as comfortable as hoped and the room temperature was difficult to get right with a/c. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: The junior suites are probably a better choice, as they are on higher floors and may have more light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We are located on Fifth Avenue, with walking distance to the best restaurants but even without noise which is the center or the heart of Fifth Avenue.

You can still walk without feeling for the different shops and get to any of our beach club for the day.
That's why it makes our location ticul house is preferred by many!

Thanks for your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    205
    47
    15
    6
See reviews for
49
534
64
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed for six nights end of januari - begining to february 2014.

The pros
+ Clean hotell with good cleaning service
+ Helpfull, friendly and serviceminded staff
+ As far off the 5 th avenue you can come but still central location=minimum noice and close to the beach
+ The breakfest service is personalized, friendly and nice. They cook on demand and often offer you to try different dishes
+ Small hotell, few guests.
+ Free, good coffe in the lobby, water coolers on each floor
+ 24 h reception, free beach towels.
+ AC, ceiling fan and moist reduction in rooms.

The cons
- Dark rooms
- Rooms are accessed through a walkway and the strutcure somewhat reminds of a prisson ( panoptikon) which means lesser feeling of privacy
- The rooms don't have balcanys.

All in all a good hotell. They don't charge you extra for the small things lika safety deposite and the staff is always very helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweden-Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for that list the good points have.
We will work to be done under the disadvantages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Casa Ticul is a small hotel located near the north end of 5th Ave and very close to the beach (although this is not the best stretch of beach in PDC, sometimes you may feel a bad smell from sewage discharge there)
The rooms are very clean, the beds are comfortable and they have diferent organic toiletries (even insect repellent) At night the rooms are a bit noisy until 1 am or so.
The staff is friendly and the breakfast is OK (except coffee, instead try the coffee in Ah Cacao, just in front of the hotel) They have Wi Fi but a little slow.
PLease DO NOT use the ATMs in the streets, my wifes card was cloned in the ATM just in front of Casa Ticul

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GatKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks for the comment!

It is true that the high season is usually a bit noisy due to people walking by the fifth a little out of our hands but still remains a relaxed area.

We take the note about the coffe!

:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel is NOT what we expected! We are disappointed for the amount of money we paid! The best thing about this hotel is its staff – very friendly and helpful.

The location is not great, because it’s situated very far from everything and from the beach. The rooms are constantly moist and muggy, they smell humid, and all of our clothes became wet and smelly.
Remember! There are NO balconies in the rooms, only A/C, but it does not provide any fresh air, it only re-circulates, so you are staying in a damp and smelly kennel all the time. There is NOWHERE to dry off your wet towels and swimming suits, because there are no balconies.

The beds are comfortable, linen is changed often and the cleaners work hard. But the shower is uncomfortable and old fashioned, and fixed to the wall above head level. The pool is a joke, it’s a decoration only.
Wi-fi works ok.

The noise insulation in the hotel is poor. You can’t sleep hearing all the music from bars nearby. You can even hear people walking to their rooms in the middle of the night, sometimes at 4 am, and talking to each other. This place is REALLY NOISY at night and we could hardly sleep until 1-2 am.

The hotel overcharges. Please note! When you pay your hotel bill, they charge you at the highest exchange rate. We lost almost 70 USD on this exchange rate.

The breakfast ladies are lovely and do a great job looking after the clients, BUT it’s not their fault that the food is rationed with very limited choice. We have never seen this in all our life traveling to different countries, even to small hotels! One kind of ham (sometimes only 2 slices left at 9.30 am), one kind of cheese (few slices as well), few slices of bread and sometimes we had to ask to replenish it, NO vegetables at all, 4-5 slices of papaya, melon and watermelon on the tray, and we are in a sunny tropical Mexico!!!

And of course, we could not avoid bacterial food poisoning, but this is Mexico with a low hygiene standards and no clean tap water (sandwiches with ham and cheese in their local supermarkets are sitting on the trays without a fridge when it’s +30). We had to pay to see a private doctor and have injections, we are still recovering!

We would NOT recommend this hotel to anybody. Some good points, but too many serious problems, and it is not cheap!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thanks for your time to give us this feedback, we are a boutique hotel located on Fifth Avenue, this we make the absolute silence is impossible and out of our hands to resolve. We regret that the weather has not been favorable and you had wet and rainy days!
Thanks again for the comment all the details we will consider to be better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel is located on the north end of 5th Avenue. I had a room on the main floor near the pool. The room is average sized. the shower is large. The room had a decent sized LCD TV.

The staff is friendly and helpful. You are only a couple of blocks to the beach. The hotel partners with several of the beach bars so if you spend 150 pesos you get a free lounge chair. They also provide beach towels.

Breakfast is good. The staff learned my name and room number after the first day. There was something different for breakfast every day. I read negative reviews about the breakfast. You have to keep in mind this is not a large resort. There was always enough food available but never the glut of food that large all inclusives have available.

My only complaint was my room was a little dark. Next time I would stay on the second floor.

I also saw complaints about noise from 5th Ave at night. One thing to keep in mind is you are going to get street noise at just about any hotel in Playa. I didn't think the street noise at Casa Tucul worse than anywhere else.

Room Tip: I thought the main floor rooms were a little dark so I would stay on the upper floors but keep in mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguinpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks for your comment, it's true that our excellent location
  makes our guests can walk and choose a restaurant or go shopping without having to take a taxi.

It is a detail for those who want a break from moving the car and make simple holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

This is a nice small hotel on 5th avenue that makes you feel just like home. Room was decent size and always clean. We did have a small gecko get in our room but the staff got on it quick and removed it from the room. Bed was really comfortable. Breakfast in the terrace was not bad but could be better. Would stay here again and do recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Castro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks for the comment!

Our authentic Mexican hospitality is to make our guests feel at home.
The Mexican breakfast is always a subject which makes our guests remember us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Hotel Casa Ticul is located in the quieter part of Playa del Carmen's main strip. There are restaurants and shops very close by, and personally, I enjoyed this part of Playa a lot. There is a great wine bar and Mediterranean restaurant on the same block, and it is down the street from a great coffee shop and several other restaurants. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The room was extremely clean, well-situated with every convenience you need while traveling. The shower was amazing, hot water at all times with great water pressure. And the bed - so comfortable, best on our stay in Mexico. I would go back to this hotel and definitely recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks for the comment!

Our guests always appreciate the location to be easier to move to the beach clubs or make any walk on Fifth Avenue and shop!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#63 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#50 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Property: Hotel Casa Ticul
Address: Quinta Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 Lote 8 | Zazil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing