We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Service.”
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Ticul
Ranked #92 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Fantastic location and very clean with all you need. Close to everything but away from the night time noise. The staff, Leslie and Paola on reception are welcoming and excellent employees. They give you lots of their time and everyone even the maids greet you with a pleasnt smile and hello. We are regulars and will continue to be.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank elkika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks for being part of our guest home certainly always makes us happy to see our guests when they return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I needed an r&r vacation. This was the perfect place for that. It is elegant, beautiful and the staff is excellent. Both Barbara and Lesley made amazing suggestions that were not touristy. Loved the location....it is at the quieter end of the strip, which is really nice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Our reception team is always attentive to the needs of the guest making the guest feel pampered and at home.

Thanks for the comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This place was amazing. It was packed with young hipsters, gays, and Europeans. That was exactly what we were looking for. The rooms are cool, the staff is really chill and helpful. This isn't a luxurious resort, but it had everything you need and is comfortable. The roof top breakfast was great. I even tried making their peanut salsa at home :-). I would be very likely to stay here again. It's on 5th avenue, but it's far enough away that it's not noisy. If you want to be in the middle of the loud seen, it's a few blocks too north for you, but it's still an easy walk town there. Did I mention how much I love this place?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Being an adult only hotel the atmosphere is quite relaxed, the area favors us with excellent restaurants and trendy shops.

Thanks for the comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My daughter and I just returned from a 6-night stay at Casa Ticul. I must qualify this review by saying that it was our experience and others may feel differently. I booked the hotel knowing that it was located on the far end of 5th Avenue, but had forgotten how long 5th actually is. Since most of our activities took place at the other end of the avenue (Cozumel ferry, ADO station, favorite restaurant) we found ourselves walking several miles a day. My suggestion to the hotel was to provide bikes for the guests which would make these excursions much easier. Aside from the location, the hotel was adequate in every way.

Rooms and the entire property were very clean, staff is friendly and the morning breakfast is wonderful.. The shower was great and we had no problem with mosquitos.

Stay away from the corner rooms as they have little or no Wi-Fi service due to the fact that they are tucked away with no outside light. Unless you are a vampire and prefer sleeping in caves I'd request a center room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyndee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks for the comment and suggestion. Distances in playa del carmen all be walking dependent taste of the person.

We will consider the suggestion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Playa Del Carmen was is in many guidebooks as a sleepy village by comparison to Cancun. Hate to think what Cancun is like. Playa is a big town and the one mile strip of Quinta Avineda is as loud, brash and tiresome a tourist trap as you'd find anywhere. But Casa Ticul is at the quiet northern end. And if you have to stay in Playa this is a great choice. Our room (No. 2) was surprisingly dark so worth checking if there is one with more light. Also it is a good five minute stroll to the beach from the hotel. A highlight of the place is the rooftop area where breakfast is served.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astronomer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Playa del Carmen is the perfect vacation for those who like the easy life instead, walking distances, relaxed but chic atmosphere.

Thanks for the comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We booked this hotel for return to Playa and the airport following an excursion into Belize and back. We arrived too late in the day to enjoy the hotel's location amenities, but did get a good restaurant recommendation from the front desk. The bed, shower and AC were fine; the problem was mosquitos in the room. My guess is that housekeeping leaves the door open while cleaning that give them access. We killed at least 10 mosquitos in the room and left several on the walls as a demonstration!

The breakfast buffet was good and made the booking worthwhile. Fresh fruit, yogurt and eggs made to order.

The evening desk rep scheduled us with a "partner" taxi for the morning ride to the Cancun Airport at a quoted rate of $44 US. In the morning, the driver arrived on time, but upon my question, would not budge on his charge of $50 US to get us to the airport. After two weeks of constantly battered for our U.S. money, I was out of patience and ready to return State side.

Room Tip: The room quality is good, but be aware there is no elevator for upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thanks for the comment,

Our location in the Mexican Caribbean makes certain factors like mosquitoes on rainy days can not contralateral. so within our amenities we offer anti-mosquito thinking about the welfare of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Hotel Casa Ticul is a sweet inn steps away from the action in Playa del Carmen, but away from most of the noise. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean and updated. They offer a very tasty breakfast on their rooftop, and great restaurants are nearby. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank taraleeadams55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thanks for the comment!

We are a small hotel which makes the treatment is customized. This makes our guests feel at home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#54 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,411 reviews
0.8 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#48 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,548 reviews
0.3 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#53 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Reina Roja Hotel
Reina Roja Hotel
#108 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
748 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#68 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
496 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#18 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Address: Quinta Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 Lote 8 | Zazil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £48 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing