We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My partner wanted to go back home when he saw the hotel”
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Ticul
Ranked #92 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2010

To be fair, we had just spent three days at the Weston Resort in Cancun which is right on the Caribbean. I thought I understood that the Casa was on the beach. When we finally found it and pulled up in front, my partner wanted me to change the reservation. I thought I had 24 hours to change it, so I asked if we could delete the last day. They had charged my credit card as soon as we walked in the door, or possibly before that, and would not let us out of the reservation. The person the receptionist called said I had made the reservation 4 months previous. Not so. I made it two days before we left for Cancun. We got our ticket for the beach since we could not check in right away. It poured down rain as we walked to the beach. We never did find the place they told us to go to. Our room was right on the court where people smoke and socialize. There is a very small pool there. The rooftop breakfast was very nice even though the wind was blowing everything about. The three block walk to the shopping area was safe, but I would not try it late at night. I stay in hostels when I travel to Europe alone, and thought of this as an upscale hostel. My partner hated this place. The staff is very pleasant and not their fault it is not on the beach and there is not a jaquzi in the room. The only bad thing were the bites on my legs which I recognized as bedbugs dining on me as I slept. These ubiqutous creatures are a fact of life, especially in Mexico. But extra care in cleaning can rid a room of them. I read all the other reviews and agree this is a good place to stay since many ruins and theme parks are close by.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peritoluvsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2010

I have mixed feelings about the hotel... It was certainly not what I expected. The positive: Clean hotel ground and friendly staff. I agree with all other reviews that every staff working at this hotel is very helpful!I The breakfast on the rooftop was nice and the kitchen staff was very attentive. The neutral: Location -- If you are planning to use public transportation to get around, please note it will be a bit of a walk to the bus station. The shops and restaraunts are at a shorter distance but I would have prefered it to be a little closer. The negative: While the room was always left clean by the cleaning staff, it was just way too moist and muggy, even with the A/C on. The bed was a bit too soft (preference issue) and the water pressure in the shower and the toilet was inconsistent. Perhaps it was just the room we were in but I found these things a bit uncomfortable.

If I may recommend a couple things to the hotel owner...1) Consider bicycle rental for guests. It sure would be helpful in accessing the bus terminal and the main drag down 5th avenue. 2) Better in-room climate control. Maybe the A/C can be adjusted by the hotel staff before the guest arrives so the room does not feel so humid. No other reviews seemed to point this out as an issue so it may have just been our room...

I personally wouldn't recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

I stayed at Casa Ticul at the end up April and found it a great place to relax and enjoy what Playa Del Carmen had to offer. The room was very spacious and comfortable, the hotel was always spotless and has everything you need, and the staff were always incredibly helpful!

I would recommend Casa Ticul to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay and relax in Playa, with it being only a short walk to great restaurants and the beach. I wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisSydneyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We rocked up about 10pm exhausted after a long flight and day seeing the sights in Cancun. The room was spacious and had a king sized bed and most importantly air conditioning that was quieter than anywhere else we stayed in Mexico. The staff were very attentative and we had free passes to go to the beach club at Mamitos which is a very cool place to hang out for the day. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace - nice touch! Would love to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LulasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

My stay at the Hotel Casa Ticul was just over a week. I found the staff always extremely friendly, specifically Wenseslao (the hotel clerk), who was always informative, and professional with every intension to make our stay with them a memorable one. The rooms were kept meticulously clean. The breakfast was amazingly good (specifically the cheese crepes and mushroom omelette were out of this world) a great start to your day. The hotel is two minute walk to the beach and maybe five to where shopping market place on 5th street starts. All over i had great experience and stay, and would recommend this hotel to any friend or family member.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcTessier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

This is the first time my boyfriend and I have been to Mexico. The hotel staff made our stay pleasantly welcoming and we left with a very good impression of Mexico. The beach is within walking distance and the free pass to use their chairs at Mamitas beach club was awesome. If you are not a walker, there are lots of cabs available. But if you take the public transportation a lot, it is a 15-20 min. walk to the bus station. We love being away from the crowd on 5th Ave though. Thank you for your hospitality Casa Ticul!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieTMinneapolis_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Hotel Casa Ticul exceeded our expectations. Very clean, very nice rooms. We stayed in a King room which met our needs very nicely. The room was comfortable and fairly roomy. Housekeeping did a great job and the hotel is very well maintained and clean. We loved th decor. The staff were excellent - from the two young men who worked the desk to those who prepared out breakfast each morning. The guys at the desk were more than helpful and informative about the area and always welcomed you back with a smile. If you are looking for a party hotel this is not it. If you are looking to lay out by the pool then find a big resort. Hotel Casa Ticul is a small hotel with a lot of class and has a very personalized "family" type feel. The Hotel is a short walk to the beach. Although it is not in the main area of town - it took us about 15 minutes to walk from 38 street to the bus station near 2nd street. The walk was good exercise to work off those meals - and the taxi is only $5.00 if you don't want to walk. The area Casa is in is quiet and there are a few good places to eat in the immediate area.

We found that exploring out to 30th Avenue is where a lot of the more authentic food is, and often just a short walk and we found it to be safe.

If I ever come back to Play del Carmen - Hotel Casa Ticul will be the place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicagoan1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#54 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#48 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,552 reviews
0.3 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#53 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Reina Roja Hotel
Reina Roja Hotel
#108 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
748 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#67 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
496 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Address: Quinta Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 Lote 8 | Zazil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £48 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing