We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel: location, charm and amenity”
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Ticul
Ranked #86 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Perfect location far enough away from the hullaballoo but close enough to walk there. Great staff and very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jubelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa Ticul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

Hotel Casa Ticul was an amazing choice for our stay in PDC. I always want to find a hotel with a great location and decent rooms. Hotel Casa Ticul had a great location, just steps from the beach and just off the main strip which is an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel... AND the rooms were MUCH better than just decent. Also we were given passes to rent lounge chairs at mamitas beach everyday which was fantastic!

The staff at this hotel are beyond accommodating and are always striving to go above and beyond their normal duties.... which I LOVED! They are always making sure that you are enjoying your stay and giving you great advice on where to eat, drink, and relax! Overall I could not have asked for a better staff... seriously amazing!

The rooms were spectacular as well.... from the comfortable beds to the amazing toiletries provided by the hotel. The soap, shampoo... everything was made out of great materials and smelled amazing.

If we were to go back to PDC we would not hesitate at all to stay at Hotel Casa Ticul again. It would be the first on my list...

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bran92011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I just got back from a 3 day stay at Casa Ticul. I was very happy with my stay there. They currently have a 40% discount promotion, so we paid 88 USD a night including tax. The rooms are very comfortable. The beds are wonderful, there is reliable wireless internet, the shower has plenty of water pressure and hot water, and the bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch too. The pool area is also very nice. I thought it was great that there were bathrooms by the pool as well, plus a shower to rinse off from the beach. The hotel has a roof terrace. The breakfast is served there in the morning, and at night, it's a nice place to look at the stars. I even saw a shooting star from the terrace. However, the roof terrace is up 3 flights of stairs, so if you have a problem with stairs it might be difficult for you to get to the breakfast.
The hotel is located about a five minute walk from the beach. They provide complimentary passes to use chairs at Mamitas Beach Club and another club. We used the passes for Mamitas. The passes also include a 10% discount on the food at Mamitas, but be aware that they require that you show the pass before they bring your bill, or you won't get the discount. The hotel is about a 15 or 20 minute walk to the center of Playa nightlife on 12th Street.
One thing that keeps me from giving this hotel 5 stars is that there is very little light in the hotel rooms. I understand that they are probably trying to create a relaxing or maybe romantic mood, but I'd like to have the option of regular lighting too. It was just too dark. Fortunately, the bathroom area has enough light to get ready by. I also would have liked to see more variety with the breakfast.
Overall, I really enjoyed my experience at Casa Ticul and would definitely consider staying there again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraMc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Director of Sales at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2010

Dear sedonico:

thanks for your comments to us is very important, in fact with the intention of giving a romantic atmosphere. light, using it not high but
we are working on the lights in the rooms now.
Hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Playa del Carmen.

Paola Baquedano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

...if that we're possible. It was a last minute decision to stay in Playa for a night before heading down to Alkumal for a week. So I picked a left off hwy 307 and that happened to be 39th. On our way toward the beach, Heather said to me, "It would be great to find a hotel like The Standard in Hollywood." If you've ever been to The Standard you'll know what I mean when I say Casa Ticul is just too cool. Wonderful rooms, nice lighting and art pieces, a great little pool area to chill out at, the nicest staff. No human aquarium behind the reception, but is that really necessary? :) For what, ~80USD... shut the front door.

Speaking of cool, check out Kool Fish next door to hang with the locals. We ended up part of a birthday party for the most wonderful 50 year old woman with the best skin I've ever met.

Loved it so much we stayed another night on the way out of country.

~lil'bee

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lapetiteabeille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed here for one night and were blown away by the service and quality, especially when you consider the price. The rooms were spacious and spotless, breakfast was good and the staff were excellent. We're backpackers who decided to splurge for a night and I'm happy to say it was an amazing experience. 500 meters to the beach and a 10 minute walk to the heart of the eating district. Do yourself a favor and stay here! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed at Casa Ticul June/July of 2010. I had read about it on the internet and booked it. Our stay was a pleasure there. The rooms are always clean with fresh beach and bath towels and clean in general. The staff are very personable and very friendly any questions you may have about Playa Del Carmen in general or around the cancun area, they are always so pleased to help. The continental breakfast in the morning is superb with a variety of coffees, juices, cereals, and one hot meal. Casa Ticul's location is great, its only a couple of blocks away from the 5th Avenue (the main strip) and only a couple of blocks from the beach. I would definateley go back again.
Thank You, Gracias.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princess14Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Nice and confortable hotel. Highly recomended. Its located at the end of the 5th av. which means that it is very quiet. Hotel is very clean and cozy.

Looking forward to stay there on my next trip to Playa del Carmen!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isthefaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#54 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#49 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,481 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#14 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#47 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#31 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#97 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Address: Quinta Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 Lote 8 | Zazil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £46 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing