We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luna Encantada - Our Favorite Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luna Encantada Vacation Condos
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Luna Encantada - Our Favorite Place to Stay”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have stayed countless times at Luna Encantada in different condos & they are all unique. (C3, B3, C1, E1, E3, B2, G3) We have enjoyed many stays in E3 which is a 3 bedroom with a rooftop with loungers, hammocks and sitting area. Amazing views from there. We used the charcoal grill many nights. Our kids love the infinity pool, and going back & forth to the ocean. It's a wonderful perk to have private loungers on the beach (no chair wars) & service from Fusion next door if you want a drink however being a big group we just pack snacks (bought at Walmart) & throw them in a cooler and eat/drink on the beach. Great housekeeping, spacious condos & everything at your finger tips! Playa Beach Getaways & Tonya Sarina are #1 to work with, and have always provided us with an amazing vacation at Luna. Once you stay at Luna you'll never go back to a busy resort!! PS make sure you take a day trip to Xel Ha waterpark. Great prices, all inclusive food & drink!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WineGoddess74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    46
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
103
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have stayed at this complex 3 times and it has always been the perfect place. right on the beach in the front, and in the middle of town in the back. Our favorite place to vacation. There is also a bar and restaurant right next door that usually delivers to the beach!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were in Playa del Carmen from February 6 - 21, 2014 and stayed in two seperate units in Luna Encantada - A3 and B2. It was a great place to stay! Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Both units were very clean when we checked in. Although, the previous guests in one of the units had cooked fish and stored fish in the automatic ice cube maker - once the smell dissipated and we cleaned out the automatic ice cube maker all was well. Along with "no smoking in the units", if I was an owner, I would also not allow fish to be cooked inside - only on the BBQ. Wifi and phone service was promised in the advertisement and delivered! When we return to Playa del Carmen we will definitely look to stay here again. Just outside the hotel on the beach you can get a relaxation massage for $20.00 - well worth it! There is little bar outside the front locked gate and the bartender makes a drink called a "Miami Vice"( pinacoloda and strawberry daquiri combined) - delicious. Quiet place to stay with dancing and shopping a 2 minute walk upto 5th Avenue.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MWHMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We rented a beach front condo on the ground floor. I cannot say enough about how much we loved our stay. Steps to the pool or beach. Well stocked condo even with laundry facilities. The service staff were friendly, kind and helpful. Especially enjoyed Gabriel who looked after the beach area.
The location to all amenities was great. Very close to the restaurants and shopping of Fifth Ave. But if you want cheaper, more local options all you have to do is walk up to 30th Ave where the locals eat. Several good places up there. There is an Oxxo store just up 6th St from the condo for any last minute groceries. Walmart and Mega up on 30th Ave have everything else you need.
It is also close to the ferry over to Cozumel.
The only negatives we found were that the dishwasher did not work (it ran but I don't think the water got hot enough to actually clean anything. Even an ice cream bowl came out with ice cream still in it!). The small third "bedroom" was quite bright at night from the light outside. It is the walkway area for the upper condos.
These are pretty small issues. Would totally recommend this place if you are looking for a great alternative to an all inclusive. We felt safe and had a fantastic holiday. Definitely recommend the van pick up from the airport as well.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Luna Encantada is an "upscale" ocean-front condo complex with the best location In Playa Del Carmen. There is a beautiful pool area, plenty of beach chairs & umbrellas, and underground parking. You can walk to dozens of restaurants and Fifth Avenue is just a short block away. The management is very helpful and provide excellent security.

We stayed one week in H2 and could not have been more pleased. It is a spacious 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit on the second floor and has incredible views of the pool and beach. The furnishings are very nice, kitchen is extremely well equipped and beds are comfortable. There is a washer & dryer and plenty of towels.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanne020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The last time we were in Playa del Carmen we stayed at a resort North of town. We had to drive 20 min. and find parking in order to shop and eat along 5th Ave. This time I picked this location. So happy I did. My husband and I stayed here for 9 nights with three “kids” (21, 23, 24). It was a perfect location - beach a few feet away, 5th Ave a half a block away. The beach is “reserved” for Luna Encantada guests so you don’t have to worry about finding a lounge chair on the beach. The man they have there to take care of guests on the beach is great. He would nicely tell other people the lounge chairs were only for guests of the complex. He would also set up an umbrella if you wanted or get you food and drink from the little restaurant next door. The prices of the drinks were comparable to other places when you consider the size of the drink.

Overall, the condo F1 fit our needs – beach towels, maid service every other day, bottled water, comfortable sofa. Being on the first floor has its perks – quick trips to replenish drinks or get things forgotten. Down side - hard mattresses (from what we have experienced in Mexico that is typical), poorly lit bathrooms and kitchen, and dishwasher doesn’t wash dishes very well. I would definitely stay at Luna Encantada again but would try a different unit due to the poor lighting.

Side note: if renting a car. Turn right on Calle 6 off of 10 Ave. (10th is one way heading North). There will be signs saying no right turn on 6th. Ignore them. Just watch for pedestrians as you cross 5th Ave. The underground parking is off of 6th by the entrance of the complex.

Room Tip: if renting a car. Turn right on Calle 6 off of 10 Ave. (10th is one way heading North). There will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just returned from a lovely week in Playa del Carmen. Stayed at Luna Encantada H2 and could not have been more pleased. Spacious, well equipped and the very best location in town. As a couple traveling with a child and a mother-in-law, it was perfect: a big beautiful king suite with full bathroom, another bedroom with two big beds and a full bath as well. Plenty of privacy and space for everyone. The property grounds are spotless and the beach-side service by Adeen was very attentive - we could order food and drinks that arrived quickly and he even offered beach toys and boogie-boards for my daughter to use during our stay. The on-site manager was available for anything we needed and to give us helpful tips. This unit really leaves nothing to be desired - beautifully decorated, t.v., phone, everything we needed in the kitchen were all supplied, as well as tons of beach towels and other extras. The property location within the town of Playa del Carmen is perfect....no need to walk more than a few blocks for whatever we wanted. I travel to this part of Mexico on a regular basis and will always make Luna Encantada H2 my first choice. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: H2 is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#102 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
656 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#135 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Encantada Vacation Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Encantada Vacation Condos

Property: Luna Encantada Vacation Condos
Address: Calle 6 | Between Av 5a y ZFM, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luna Encantada Vacation Condos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 luxury condos ideally located on the beach in the charming and bustling village of Playa del Carmen. Walk to everything from your vacation home by the sea. You'll make this vacation again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Encantada Vacation Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Encantada Vacation Condos Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Luna Encantada Vacation Condos Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing