We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in unit #7”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Palms Condominiums
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Me, my partner and our four grown daughters (ages 20-29) stayed in unit #7 and it worked out perfectly. With it's three bedrooms and three baths, it was the ideal size. We enjoyed barbecuing on the roof top deck and the close proximity to the beach. The location on fifth avenue worked well for the girls, for shopping and clubbing.The unit itself was clean and furnished very tastefully and the building and staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Unit 7 is across the street from a bar, so if you're sensitive to noise it may not be ideal for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

We rented #7,8 and 9 for a group and had a wonderful stay. The location is one of the best in Playa being right off 5th in the newer North end and just 2 blocks from Mamitas Beach. Very upscale & well maintained condo's complete down to beach towels & coolers! Numbers 7 & 8 have rooftop decks with both 5th ave. & beach views, grills and hot tubs! Havent stayed at an all inclusive since we found this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DallasBchbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Based on Trip Advisor reviews, we booked an eight-night stay at Royal Palms, a visit that bridged Halloween. The facility is very well managed by Dave, Claudette and Juan. It is very clean and our unit was exactly as advertised. It was a great value.

The only issue we had was that Unit 11's bedrooms are adjacent to 5th Avenue and there is a bar across the street that is incredibly noisy until 2 a.m. in the morning. The noise permeates the bedroom windows and doors of Unit 11 making it virtually impossible to go to sleep until the bar closes.

We ended our stay two days early because of the situation. Management was sympathetic to the situation and even offered to move us to a smaller condo away from the noise, but we had already re-scheduled our flights. They are also working to get the owners to upgrade the glass in bedrooms so it is not so noisy.

If noise is not an issue and you stay up late, I would highly recommend this condominium. Internet access is good, wired or wireless. The condos are located at the north end of 5th Avenue and walking distance to many excellent restaurants. Our favorite restaurant was Como Como – not to be missed, but make sure you get reservations.

Our older sons stayed in Unit 9. It has no noise issues and was a great value – one bedroom with a foldout couch. They arrived just as Hurricane Rina was about to hit Playa, and Dave and Claudette made a special trip to the grocery stores to stock them up on food and drinks before they arrived because the stores were closing for two days. That is what I would call ‘incredible’ service.

If the owners of the penthouse units address the noise problems by improving the glass in the bedrooms, we will return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Flatuator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalpalmscondos, Manager at Royal Palms Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

Thank you for your very honest review of the Royal Palms condos. We are really pleased to advise that we have just completed the installation of double paned hurricane glass in the master bedroom. This made an incredible improvement on the noise coming from 5th Ave. What a difference!

We would like to extend an invitation to you and your family to stay with us on your next visit to Playa del Carmen. We are confident that you will sleep soundly during siesta as well as bed time.

Regards,
Claudette Johnston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We've stay here on ayearly basis! It is a great location. Condos are large and clean. The staff is very helpful. We don't stay anywhere else when visiting Playa! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I can't say enough good things about this place, but I will try! As a point of reference I should start by telling you that I have been coming to Playa since 2003 and have stayed at many of the more prominent hotels including the Royal Porto Real, the Royal Hideaway, Mosquito Blue and the Riu Palace and those hotels were all excellent choices. However, several years ago I discovered Royal Palms Condominiums and I have stayed there every visit since --- sometimes even twice in the same year. Let's start with location ---- right on the corner of the 5th Avenida and in the newer, more upscale stretch of the avenue to boot! Wonderful restaurants to choose from and very easy walking distance to the beach [a couple of blocks] and a mega supermarket! The finish out of the condos [I have stayed in at least 4 different ones and have seen 2 others] is top notch and at least as nice [in my opinion nicer] than that of the rooms/suites of any of the top flight hotels I mentioned above. The condos are all well appointed with TVs, internet access and all the cooking utensils/place settings you might want. The maid service they provide is flawless. I have never had a single security issue and have always felt safe as it is a gated access condominium and they always have a very pleasant security attendant on duty in the evening. You also get complementary access to a state of the art gym [beats the heck out of my Gold's Gym in the U.S.!] which is located a mere block from the condo. They can coordinate a car service to pick you up from Cancun airport at a very competitive rate. Last and certainly not least ---- the staff at Royal Palms is top of the line from the time you start booking your stay and throughout. Claudette and Juan in particular have been extremely helpful and will do everything to make your stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PingusDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This is an extremely well located small condominimum on the corner of 5th Ave (the main street) and Calle 26. It's at the newer, more up-market end of Playa del Carmen, very close to the Mamitas Beach club, which has far and away the nicest beach.

The condo (number 8) is spacious, well furnished, carefully and creatively decorated, and very comfy. Cable tv in the living room and master bedroom (with flat-screens with HDMI inputs - at least in the bedroom - so you can watch movies from your PC). Great roof terrace with seating and a jacuzzi, second jacuzzi in the master bathroom.

Everything required for a comfortable stay is here - plenty of sheets, towels, beach towels, beach umbrellas, extremely well stocked kitchen. They also provide plenty of soap, bath products, loo roll etc, and a proper water dispenser thingy - you don't need to buy any of that stuff yourself, which is nice.

Staff are great - invisible other than when you need them, when they're super helpful and attentive. 24 hour security - absolutely no issue with bringing guests into the building.

One small downside - there are several quite noisy bars nearby, which tend to be busy on different nights. My bedroom happens to face one of them, which makes for a noisy night on Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays. A glass of wine and some earplugs and the problem evaporates, however!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Warriorlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

After years of staying in hotels we finally decided to try a condo vacation. We were fortunate to spend a week at the Royal Palms Condos in suite 3, February 20 - 27, 2011. Upon arrival we were very pleased to see that the condo - building, pool area, and suite - were exactly as shown in photos on their website and Tripadvisor.

We booked directly through the Royal Palms website. Our thanks to Juan who responded to our emails and was very helpful answering our questions, taking care of our needs during our stay, and arranging our transportation to the airport. We appreciated meeting Dave and Claudette, who checked us into our suite and made sure we were comfortable. Great people, great staff!

Suite 3 was fully equipped with everything we required; a/c; safe; washer and dryer; full size fridge and stove; plenty of hot water; full bathroom upstairs off the large loft bedroom, and a bathroom on the main floor. The kitchen in this unit is small, which was fine for us as we only used it for breakfast or light cooking. Everything was in good working order and the housekeeping staff (very nice ladies) came through the unit twice during our stay.

The condo location is ideal - 5 minutes to the beach and only steps away from the always entertaining 5th Ave. It’s less than a kilometer to the Mega store for all your grocery and bakery needs - for us it was a novelty to grocery shop while on vacation. My husband fell in love with Mega’s bakery department and had to make frequent trips there.

This was a scuba diving vacation and this condo is only a four minute walk to Mexico Blue Dream’s dive shop located on Calle 28 on the way to the beach. We snorkeled with them last year and returned as divers this year. Excellent service!

This was our fourth trip to Playa del Carmen, we always fly in and out of terminal 2 at the Cancun airport, and for the first time we discovered there is a very nice park area just across the street from the main doors into the terminal. It was a very restful place to relax while waiting until we were ready to go through the security screening.

Everyone we met at the Royal Palms added to the enjoyment of our vacation; the staff, and the guests - many of whom we met were repeat customers to this condo and we can understand why they keep coming back. This is truly a beautiful building, very well maintained, and cared for.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.2 mi away
Newport House Playa del Carmen
Newport House Playa del Carmen
#30 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#101 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#117 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#47 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Condominio Fabiola
Condominio Fabiola
#2 of 221 in Playa del Carmen
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Condominiums

Address: 26th Street And 5th Avenue, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 221 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £86 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palms Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palms features our high-end, luxury collection of private homes for rent.The Royal Palms is a boutique collection of 10 private condo homes, each offering a vast and unique array of amenities and serviced by Playa del Carmen's leading vacation condo rental company, BRIC Vacation Rentals. The Royal Palms offers 1, 2 and 3 bedroom homes, available for weekly and daily rentals with the benefits of hotel like service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Palms Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Condominiums Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Palms Condominiums Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing