We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still here and already very satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Palms Condominiums
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We've been to the Royal two other years and its always been. GREAT. This summer 2013 we are in unit 3 with a mezzanine bedroom. PERFECT. No hot sater issues or pressure problems here. 9.5 on 10. Our unit 3 is on the ground floor. NO WINDOWS on 5 th or 26 th. And that new noisy bar on 26 th is lng gone in August 2013. Very quiet unit sleeps two perfectly and great price.

Room Tip: Some rooms facing 5 th avenue have been replaced with sound reduction windows. Some otherr owners ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

We have stayed at Royal Palms many times and and various units over the years. This is the first time we have rented the rooftop penthouse. Overall, the condo is beautiful and I would not hesitate to stay again. I do think it is time for the owner of this unit to do some updating. First of all, the water pressure in the unit is horrible. Worse than that, saying that the hot water is hit or miss is an absolute understatement -- mostly miss.

The location can't be beat, and the staff (maids and super are amazing) April 1st a new manaement company has taken over this property, BRIC Vacation Rentals. They definately are not working for the customer (you). Upon arrival, they want you to walk down to there office to make final payment even though there is a BRIC agent at the property. Makes no sense, especially when you have elderly people in your group.

We had a huge cockroach in the master bedroom as did our friends in unit 5. We did have 20 inches of rain while we were down there and this may have played into the problem.

The location is great, the staff is amazing. I wold not hesitate to stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Annie-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed at the Royal Palms from March 29th - April 4th. Stayed in unit #10 - rooftop 2 bedroom, 2.5 bath unit. Excellent facility - with laundry, full kitchen, rooftop patio with view of the ocean, cold jacuzzi tub on patio to cool off and relax, only complaint would be water pressure and hot water - hit and miss with the showers. The 'pool' area wasn't really what I would have called it - very pretty but not for sunning as surrounded by palm trees and folliage - no place to lie out (but didn't really need it as we had plenty of sun on our deck)- but very nice to look at. Was the perfect location at 5th and Calle 26 - close to shops, restaurants and Mamita's beach was only a few small blocks away. Mega grocery store a short cab ride or a 20 minute walk away. Maid service was excellent as was the management - new management took over as of April 1st - Bric (service was top notch). No TV's in bedrooms just the livingroom. Overall a wonderful vacation with good friends - no major complaints.

Room Tip: Unit #10 was excellent - large roof top patio - guest bedroom also had a large balcondy, master had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShazMcgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We rented the Penthouse for Christmas and New Year around 11nights in all, it was an expensive time to book and at first I was a little dissappointed at the dated bedrooms and bathrooms, which reminded me of a Tommy Bahama ad with palmtree motifs and shells stuck to the wall from the late 90's but we didn't spend time in the bedrooms and the Kitchen living area made up for it, we have rented a condo in the area before at Villa Sacbe which might have spoiled us, but this year the rate was quite higher than the $395 a night we paid so I opted for Royal Palms, the kitchen was fitted with average equipment nothing high end, we were surprised at the maid service as we hadn't expected that...(they were wonderful by the way) The outdoor area was lovely, but just too cold to sit in a very cold Jacuzzi, there was noise, quite a lot, Penthouse 11 has only one street side so maybe the noise wasn't as bad, but hey its a great location...
There is no pool which if I stayed in summer might be an issue, we enjoyed staying in Playa del Carmen and would say as a family holiday this has to be one of the most relaxing and enjoyable Christmas's we have spent!

Room Tip: Book the Penthouse...You will love sitting on the terrace at the end of the day with a glass of wine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The minute we arrived we couldn't stop smiling. We had the penthouse and the great views you get from the roof top. The place was very clean with all the amenities. It's a great location, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. And you don't need to go more than a block in any direction to find everything, great restaurants (variety and quality), shops, bars, fresh juice, wine shops, cafes, taco spots, and even the gym. There is security at the door late at night and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in what i believe was #10 a penthouse and I loved it, you get the most amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nomad007Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We were lucky to book unit 10, the 2 bedroom penthouse condo, last minute for a week long vacation. The condo comes with a spacious private outdoor deck/landing with lounge chairs, a cold-water jacuzzi, and a view of the beach. The decor throughout the condo was beautiful, unique, and obviously hand selected. The pictures on the management sites web page are true to what the condo actually looks like. The condo was also fully stocked with all the amenities you could need (toiletries, towels, kitchenware, dishwasher, laundry, TV, DVD/CD player, free Wi-Fi access). We were especially excited that there was a laundry room in the condo. A cleaning crew comes in every other day to wash and change linens, clean, etc, but its nice to be able to go home with a suitcase full of clean laundry. If you like to workout while on vacation, ask at the front office for a free gym pass to the gym a few minutes down the street.

The condo is right off 5th and 26th, near Mamitas beach and numerous restaurants and bars. Due to its central location, there is quite a bit of noise from the bars until around 2 am. We didn't mind too much as we were usually still out enjoying the night life. We also looked at it as getting to hear the concerts playing at Mamitas beach for free (David Guetta and Tiesto). You can walk to most things or a taxi ride is usually only a few dollars. Although the area is pretty safe, we did appreciate that the condo was gated and had security. The staff was also excellent and friendly, especially Dave and Juan, who went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and any possible need was taken care of.

My only complaint had to do with the water pressure/temperature. As 4 girls, we took alot of showers. However, if one shower was in use the water pressure and temperature drastically reduced in the other shower. So, even though there were two showers in the condo, we could really only use them one at a time. Everything else was so wonderful, that this was only a very minor issue though.

I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family and book this condo again the next time I return to PDC.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank November9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Beautiful place, great location, wonderful staff. But couldn't sleep if you were dead.
Brand new bar across on 26th with doors wide open pounding out the music and 30-40 kids on the street partying it up till 0230. Attempts to sleep were futile. Spoke to the owner of the bar, he doesn't get it, California kid after the high life. After 4 days moved to another room facing 5th,where some people found it appropriate to do construction work after midnight. That cleared up only to have two other bars blasting music, it one case till 0400. Police powerless to stop the. Again a word with bar owner there., who seem surprised we were disturbed.Ended up moving chairs from sitting area into bedroom and throwing mattress on floor in living room with bedroom doors shut to try and sleep. Been going to that end of Playa for 10 years. What has happened. Used to be quiet, relaxing area. Might as well book my next room inside the Blue Parrot bar. They are ruining it! Feel sorry for the owners of this great place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 mi away
Fiesta Inn Playa Del Carmen
Fiesta Inn Playa Del Carmen
#43 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
354 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachs...
#89 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#62 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Encanto Riviera Apartments
Encanto Riviera Apartments
#19 of 229 in Playa del Carmen
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Condominiums

Address: 26th Street And 5th Avenue, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £89 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palms Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palms features our high-end, luxury collection of private homes for rent.The Royal Palms is a boutique collection of 10 private condo homes, each offering a vast and unique array of amenities and serviced by Playa del Carmen's leading vacation condo rental company, BRIC Vacation Rentals. The Royal Palms offers 1, 2 and 3 bedroom homes, available for weekly and daily rentals with the benefits of hotel like service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Palms Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Condominiums Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Palms Condominiums Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing