We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELICIOUS!”
Review of Ajua Maya - CLOSED

Ajua Maya
Price range: US$7 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fine dining in a casual sophisticated atmosphere with live Latin jazz and salsa every night. Specializing in Flambes at your table, Lobster, Steaks, authentic Mayan and Mexican cuisines, Mestizo recipes and, of course, our fabulous staff and excellent service. Perfect for a romantic dinner or a group event, wedding receptions or rehearsal dinners.
Menlo Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This is an excellent restaurant offering a different cuisine. Beautiful restaurant, delicious food and excellent service. The servers are amazing the way they carry the drinks - which are also delicious. A must visit!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JosieK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajua B, Owner at Ajua Maya, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Thank you for enjoying our Mayan, Mexican and Mestizo cuisines served by Wild Fresh Mayans and Live Latin Jazz and Salsa. We look forward to your return and will promise to continue to have the best service, chefs and flavors for you to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    9
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton Bays, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Playa”
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Our fav restaurant in Playa. Great food and service. Beautiful new location! We go every year!! The flambes are a show in themselves. Order the Mayan coffee for another entertaining experience!
Great for a romantic dinner out or with a group of friends. Planning to bring a group of friends there next week!

Helpful?
2 Thank mariak0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajua B, Owner at Ajua Maya, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Jorge and I wish to thank you personally for enjoying our restaurant. We know how much our fabulous staff appreciates that you took some of your valuble time to sing their praises. We will share this with them, as we do all review. As Jorge loves to say, "We will keep the lights on until your return." Brenda Alfaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and a great time”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This was the best evening of a one week trip. The food was great, as was the wine and cocktails. Service was perfect.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vtlinck2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajua B, Owner at Ajua Maya, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you so much for enjoying our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.
Ajua Brenda!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta,canada
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner 2012”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We reserved well in advance for this special day, and so glad we did! The service was very professional (and humorous). Was never at the previous location, but the new location is very nice. My husband wanted to stick with the traditional turkey dinner, which he enjoyed very much.
I started with the ceasar salad prepared fresh at our table, it was very good. For the main entree I had the chicken breast with mushroom, brandy and red wine sauce, flambeed at the table. WOW!! It was delicious! Then, ( yes, I made the poor gentleman come back again), I had the famous Mayan coffee that I read about. It takes two men to pour it. It was amazing!! Both in taste, and presentation! We would definitely go back. As a matter of fact, we did have reservations on jan 2nd. However, thanks to those whom travel with the flu, I along with half of Playa, became ill and therefore was unable to go back. But next time we go to Playa, we will go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank laurie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajua B, Owner at Ajua Maya, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
We are so happy you loved our Traditional Virginian Christmas Dinner. My grandmothers would love to hear this!

Thank you so much for enjoying our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.
Ajua Brenda!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Food! Best we had in Playa”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We were in Playa for 6 nights in late Dec 2012 and had a family meal for approx 50 people at the Ajua. The service was excellent! Food was hot, fresh and very tasty! Would highly recommend this place! They were very accommodating and fun!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnB_4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajua B, Owner at Ajua Maya, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
We love happy clients. Thank you so much for enjoying our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.
Ajua Brenda!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ajua Maya also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing